We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,399: English reviews
seattle, wa
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We checked in on Thanksgiving and were given an upgrade to an ocean-view room. The room was adequate, considering the age of the property- but it is on holy ground for the Hawaiian's and I appreciated experiencing the pier-front view. The next morning, the Ultra Iron Man (2X the Kona Iron Man) began in our view-- what an experience! This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna3
Rueschlikon, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Very nice hotel, super-clean, very comfortable and with all service available. The room are spacious, very nice furniture, free WiFi and a good restaurant. The breakfast was really good, although not Ikie the Courtyard in Kauai. The staff is very professional and nice. Great experience! I only thing is the parking, which is at 14$a day! Should be free for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chmax73
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Could not fault the hotel. Lovely large clean room with fridge looking inland. The position of the hotel was very central and we did not need a sea view because we spent little time in the room. Food was good, staff were very friendly and helpful. Went a couple of nights to Quinn's across the road for drinks and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Norma G
Alaska
Reviewed 6 December 2014

We stayed here for a couple days and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms was nice, with lots of closet space and a nice bathroom. It also had a little fridge. We are spoiled by staying at condos with a full kitchen and W/D but we still loved this place.The hotel is close to downtown and a lot of the restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank scubabum
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Situated in Downtown Kona, staying at this hotel was one of our best decisions for this vacation. Definitely a much better choice than staying at Hilo as Kona is more beautiful with a variety of shops & restaurants along the coast. The hotel itself was semi-luxurious, had good room service, a very helpful front desk & activities desk, many artifacts...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Neha K
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewed 4 December 2014

This hotel is well located in the heart of Kona, within easy walking distance of many restaurants and some rooms have good water views. Fishhopper is probably the best, but the atmosphere in at the Kona Inn restaurant is good. For a Courtyard, it is upscale. I like Kona better than Hilo. It rains less in Kona, but somewhere on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank owen71
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing a lovely review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that our location was a good central point for exploring the island. We hope that you will be back soon to explore even more of the Big Island. Mahalo

Penrith Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2014

what a great hotel. staff very helpful, hotel clean and a good price. well situated for shopping, strolling and relaxing. We had 5 rooms and all were great. No complaints here except our stay was not long enough. Pool and beach were fantastic and the coffee shop was the best coffee I have had in USA. We will definately be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are so pleased to learn that you had a nice stay and enjoyed your accommodations as well as our amenities and convenient location. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo

Denver, CO
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the Mauna Lani before we were scheduled to fly home from Kona. Due to maintenance issues, our flight was cancelled and United put us up at the Courtyard in Kona. Coming from the Mauna Lani, which is a luxurious property on the Kohala Coast, the Courtyard was a big step down. But it was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joelsss44
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for the cleanliness of our rooms it is disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. Large majority of our guests stay with us because of our central location in Kailua Kona and easy access to island activities including snorkel...

Mount Vernon, Washington
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Supposedly renovated but I doubt it. All the rooms we were transferred to smelled like cat urine. We decided to stay there for our 30th anniversary - what a mistake. The bed was horrible, the toilet ran all the time and the bathroom vent seemed to be stuck on high as well. Poor customer service so we ended up going...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Msagro
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha from Kona and thank you for sharing your impression of our hotel with us. Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that your experience was not one to remember. The comfort of our guests is very important to our team and we are constantly striving to provide our guests with quality accommodations...

Westminster, Colorado
Reviewed 1 December 2014

My wife and I were very pleased with this Marriott. You will sacrifice little for the affordable price. The hotel is not "fancy" but great care was taken to make it feel Hawaiian. Our room was clean and service each day excellent. The hotel staff made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. Pool is nice size, rarely crowded and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skidaddyo
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing a lovely review for the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including our convenient location, accommodations and great service. It is great to hear that our location was a good central point for exploring the island. We hope...

1,669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1448)
Viewed
View from Room (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (172)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (334)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (422)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,765 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: RM832 - RM1,475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the 2nd floor (203) good view of beach, but it also had a lot of roof of the lower unit to look over.”
davidmM5034AC, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth the extra for oceanfront.”
DBasinger, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our "partial ocean-view" had a small balcony with a pleasant view of the waterfront.”
Bets54, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Partial ocean view for slight upgrade price, west tower.”
kcgray632, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If wanting to do a luau, book it with your room as a package deal as the savings are significant.”
dtoliphant7, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5