We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motif Seattle

Show Prices
#42 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motif Seattle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,080 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,008: English reviews
Start your review of Motif Seattle
 Click to rate
Reading
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Motif is a modern, artsy hotel in a prime location only blocks from Pike Place Market and the Washington Convention Center. PROS: - very spacious room; also comfortable and functional - friendly and helpful front desk staff - thorough housekeeping - quiet; heard almost no noise from other rooms or hallway (was on 7th floor) - location, location, location; so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V5521TQcrystals
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Beautiful hotel. Staff was wonderful - I had a problem but they offered an agreeable solution upon request. Can't beat the daily complimentary wine tasting of local wines! Complimentary bottles of water and Keurig with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was a very nice amenity. I really enjoyed my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie P
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The construction going on within the building really was annoying. One elevator was out of service for the guests (construction use only) which made waiting for the elevator sometimes up to several minutes. The gym was also closed for construction. The location, however, is fabulous - right downtown and the daily, complimentary, wine-tasting is also very nice. My other complaint...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteWright_AK
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is great. Waking distance to a lot of shopping stores and restaurants. The upgrades were nice staff were nice. However the beds and pillows were hard as a rock so extremely uncomfortable and the heat never went up to the setting we put so the room was cold a little. The best thing is location for this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I won't be back, nor will I recommend your hotel to anyone. I was charged $41 for 3 flavorless scrambled eggs, 6 sausage links, and a coffee. Also the chair leg broke off sending me in a backward somersault into the next table. This was a great experience in a business suit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283trvlr
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the incident in our restaurant, our team is reviewing to see how it could have been prevented. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Mike West Assistant General Manager

Chicago
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My stay started off horribly as the hotel had been booked through a non profit organization that I volunteer for and it was not made clear that they needed an authorization form if the card would not be physically present at checkin. The attendant was rude and didn't accommodate this miscommunication or situation. It wasn't until my white male friend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X4187NPstephaniem
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback, however our credit card policies follow all Federal regulations regarding credit card safety and thus proper documentation is required. This has nothing to do with race, it is policies that are designed to keep all guest credit card data safe and to prevent any fraudulent charges. Our team attempted to explain the reasons and...

Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Because I booked my stay on a discount third party site, I did not expect this hotel to go above and beyond for us. However, I still called the day prior to check in to see if there was a chance of upgrade. I told the customer service agent that we were coming into town for my husband's birthday weekend....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda C
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your great story of your experience with us and a happy birthday to your husband as well! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Mike West Assistant General Manager

.
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Extremely satisfied with our stay and with the staff members of the hotel. Location was an A+; only downside was the parking. Other than that, would book again if I'm ever in Seattle and would highly recommend to families and friends!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 295jaclynd
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I hope that you had a great time in Seattle and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mike West Assistant General Manager

Macau, China
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked 4 nights before first stay and decided to change to 2 nights and then booked another 4 nights. The receptionist did not inform me the bill details. The room was not clean. The coffee machine were covered with dust. So were the cups! I even found cotton shedding in the mugs!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanH9493PK
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations from your recent stay, we will review your feedback with our team to see how we could have prevented these issues. Thank you for sharing. Mike West Assistant General Manager

Olympia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice downtown hotel close to Pike Place Market. Good room. Remodeling work needs to be completed to make getting around in hotel and parking better. Strength of wifi should be increased in rooms and wifi should be provided in meeting rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnbQ4956KH
Mike W, Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed our close proximity to Pike Place Market. Mike West Assistant General Manager

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Executive Suite (81)
Viewed
King Guest Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
2,043 reviews
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#38 of 100 in Seattle
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#18 of 100 in Seattle
381 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#35 of 100 in Seattle
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motif Seattle on Fifth Avenue in downtown Seattle Washington is a distinctly different and unique hotel located within the downtown neighborhood featuring the best shopping, theaters and cultural attractions on the West Coast. Whether you're in town on business or pleasure, our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Seattle.The hotel is noted for its exemplary level of service and sophisticated atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy both business and leisure travelers. Our 319 smoke-free guest rooms offer stunning views of Elliott Bay and the city and feature, Essential Elements bath products, luxurious bathrobes, Keurig coffee machines and refrigerators. On-site services include an award-winning concierge and bell staff, a business center and a fitness center. We also feature two restaurants; Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails on the fifth floor, including downtown Seattle's largest outdoor dining deck and seasonal summer entertainment on the patio, and Elephant & Castle British Restaurant & Pub. Motif Seattle is walking distance to Seattle's cultural, business and shopping attractions, including the ornate 5th Avenue Theatre and the classic Paramount Theatre, the famous Pike Place Market (with the world's first Starbucks coffee house), the Washington Convention & Trade Center and over 10 million square feet of retail shopping including Macy's Northwest and Nordstrom flagship stores. The Monorail to the Seattle Center's Space Needle and the Experience Music Project (EMP) is just step away. The Benaroya Hall and Seattle Art Museum are a few blocks away from the hotel. The hotel is also positioned for convenient Fifth Avenue access to Qwest Field, home of Seattle Seahawks football, Safeco Field, home of Seattle Mariners baseball, and Seattle Storm basketball. We are one mile from Seattle University, 6 miles from the University of Washington and its Medical Center and 6 miles from the campus of Seattle Pacific University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motif Seattle

Address: 1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-2313
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Price Range: RM917 - RM1,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motif Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motif Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Seattle
Red Lion Seattle
Seattle Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Seattle
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#29 Business Hotel in Seattle
#30 Family Hotel in Seattle
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motif Seattle staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Plattsburgh
5 months ago
over a year ago
Anchorage, Alaska
over a year ago
somers point
over a year ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Motif Seattle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get as high as possible facing the Harbour, and get away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 709andrewf, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere. Even the convention factory Westin Seattle is better.”
 of 5 bubbles 826vm, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a city view.”
 of 5 bubbles TomP89, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors on one side provides a view of Elliott Bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 358rustyg, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“high floors have great views”
 of 5 bubbles Rinemot, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5