We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motif Seattle

Show Prices
#41 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motif Seattle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,009 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motif Seattle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,938: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The hotel public areas and room were fairly standard apart from the Frolik roof terrace which was nice, but the room prices were far too high for fairly standard accommodation. Check in and check out were slow with only one or two staff available at busy times, and colleagues reported lots of noise on lower floors from the roof terrace...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank webbywayne
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hi webbywayne - Thank you for your review, you will have to come back and see us again as we are getting close to kicking off a full room and corridor renovation later this fall. I think you will be really excited about the new changes that are coming. Mike West Director of Rooms Motif Seattle

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Called for a different pillow and nobody ever came..when I called back was simply told "we only have the pillows in the rooms"...even worse is the monstrosity causing the shower not to drain....makes you wonder why they didn't notice when cleaning...if they did clean the tub? When we mentioned the hair wad when checking out we were not offered ANYTHING...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lnbrandon17
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Lnbrandon17 - Please accept my apologies for the issues you faced during your recent stay with us. We do offer a different type of pillow as an alternative and I'm sorry that you were given incorrect information. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping team to ensure these items are not overlooked. Thank you for your feedback; without...

Salt Lake City
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Very enjoyable stay, great amenities for business, relaxation and a night out on the town. Staff were helpful, pleasant and did everything to make our stay memorable. Location ideal, we had a rental car for business purposes but after work everything was with in walking distance. we walked down to the pier and took a ferry out to Bainbridge island...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank X5576NAmarkm
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello X5576NAmarkm - I am glad to hear you had such a relaxing stay with us and that you had to experience one of my favorite vantage points of the city...from the ferry coming back from Bainbridge Island! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your support of Motif Seattle. Mike West Director of Rooms...

Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 22 July 2016

This hotel was nice and service was great. The bed was not comfortable at all I didn't sleep very well cause of it. The room was very nice and had an amazing view. The breakfast was much to be desired, the service was really slow and it took to long for us to get our food and we were the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R2607GJrobertw
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello R2607GJrobertw - Thank you for taking the time to write your review, while I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed a majority of your experience, I am sorry that we did not exceed them in all areas. I hope that it will not detour you from visiting us again in the future. Mike West Director of Rooms Motif Seattle

seattle
Reviewed 22 July 2016

WE were very disappointed we were not allowed on outside patio at the Frolik. This was the main reason we booked the Bacholerette block of rooms at the Motif. SHould of been warned this was going to be denied to us. Had to leave elsewhere once our party showed up of 24. CHeck to make sure with them before you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Marie M - Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate your group of 24 on our patio. Frolik is a very popular restaurant and the patio tends to fill quickly especially when the sun is out. I hope that you were able to find an alternative location and...

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The location is great. Rates are not guaranteed. Customer service difficult to reach and unresponsive. Rates are nearly 5 star with at best 3 star service and furnishings. The hotel fails to deliver on customer service, negating the sheik, modern style of the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tr5502016
Shannon S, General Manager at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Dear tr5502016, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. We are so sorry to hear that we clearly missed the mark during your stay and that you did not have a great experience. Providing our guests with the highest level of customer service is our top priority and we are deeply sorry to...

Puyallup
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The pricing on food and beverages should be lowered. When a guest has an issue you should accommodate your guests more. When you pay for a late check-out it's in hopes that you're able to sleep in when you have other guests that interrupt your sleep that totally defeats the purpose. When we reported it to staff we were never...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank McCoy230023
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hi McCoy230023 - I am sorry to hear that your neighboring guests prevented you from taking full advantage of your late departure, but I hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your experience at Motif Seattle. Thank you for your feedback. Mike West Director of Rooms Motif Seattle

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Motif Seattle was staffed up with friendly and competent folks at every turn. We were happy to call this stylish hotel home base for several days in Seattle. The rooms - they're big, great decor, super clean. We got a low floor since we checked in late but I'm sure this could be avoided by better planning. Great rooms. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jfelicetti
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hi jfelicetti - Thank you for your very kind words and for sharing your experience. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so well. Thank you again for your support of Motif Seattle and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Mike West Director of Rooms Motif Seattle

London
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Great modern hotel. Can't complain about much. Location is super good and a close walk to space needle and pike place market. Shopping area is also close by and lots of food spots to choose from. Room was modern and clean, and staff were friendly. Price was a bit expensive, but I guess it's downtown Seattle in a very convenient...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Y116RTbenh
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello Y116RTbenh - Thank you for your kind review of Motif Seattle! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time and had a great time exploring around the city. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Mike West Director of Rooms Motif Seattle

Rohnert Park
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The beds are so uncomfortable. No support - you roll into the middle of the bed and can hardly get out. If you want to try and stay on your side of the bed, you literally need to grab the edge of the bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreabX3347WS
Mike W, Director of Rooms at Motif Seattle, responded to this review

Hello andreabX3347WS - I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will have our engineering team take a look to see if there is an issue with the bedframe itself which may cause some of the issues you referenced. Thank you for letting us know and I do hope we will see...

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Executive Suite (81)
Viewed
King Guest Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#40 of 100 in Seattle
3,572 reviews
Mayflower Park
#22 of 100 in Seattle
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
1,962 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#36 of 100 in Seattle
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motif Seattle on Fifth Avenue in downtown Seattle Washington is a distinctly different and unique hotel located within the downtown neighborhood featuring the best shopping, theaters and cultural attractions on the West Coast. Whether you're in town on business or pleasure, our impeccable service and casual northwest flair will make your stay comfortable in Seattle.The hotel is noted for its exemplary level of service and sophisticated atmosphere, with amenities to satisfy both business and leisure travelers. Our 319 smoke-free guest rooms offer stunning views of Elliott Bay and the city and feature, Essential Elements bath products, luxurious bathrobes, Keurig coffee machines and refrigerators. On-site services include an award-winning concierge and bell staff, a business center and a fitness center. We also feature two restaurants; Frolik Kitchen + Cocktails on the fifth floor, including downtown Seattle's largest outdoor dining deck and seasonal summer entertainment on the patio, and Elephant & Castle British Restaurant & Pub. Motif Seattle is walking distance to Seattle's cultural, business and shopping attractions, including the ornate 5th Avenue Theatre and the classic Paramount Theatre, the famous Pike Place Market (with the world's first Starbucks coffee house), the Washington Convention & Trade Center and over 10 million square feet of retail shopping including Macy's Northwest and Nordstrom flagship stores. The Monorail to the Seattle Center's Space Needle and the Experience Music Project (EMP) is just step away. The Benaroya Hall and Seattle Art Museum are a few blocks away from the hotel. The hotel is also positioned for convenient Fifth Avenue access to Qwest Field, home of Seattle Seahawks football, Safeco Field, home of Seattle Mariners baseball, and Seattle Storm basketball. We are one mile from Seattle University, 6 miles from the University of Washington and its Medical Center and 6 miles from the campus of Seattle Pacific University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motif Seattle

Address: 1415 Fifth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-2313
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Price Range: RM843 - RM1,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motif Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Motif Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Seattle
Red Lion Seattle
Seattle Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Seattle
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#29 Business Hotel in Seattle
#30 Family Hotel in Seattle
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motif Seattle staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Plattsburgh
4 months ago
over a year ago
Anchorage, Alaska
over a year ago
somers point
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Motif Seattle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors on one side provides a view of Elliott Bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 358rustyg, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“high floors have great views”
 of 5 bubbles Rinemot, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors get the best views”
 of 5 bubbles mvandenbuuse, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to the Westin instead.”
 of 5 bubbles DianaAugust192016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your room is well away from the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles clairel741, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5