We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Merrill Field Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Merrill Field Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merrill Field Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Needed a hotel room to stay in for 7 hours between flights, didnt want to pay much. The shuttle arrived quickly to the airport. The shuttle driver was nice and assisted loading baggage. He even told us a little about the area. We checked in quickly when we arrived at the hotel. The hotel is located further from the airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MosyOakDeerHntr
Miami
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Wanted a cheap hotel to base from for two nights before leaving on a 7 day cruise. Found it! Def a no frills motel, with grungy room. The carpet was dirty and the room floor wasn't even level in one section. HOWEVER, Anchorage hotels r crazy expensive, especially during peak season. Via Priceline, I got this place for $91/night. THE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwame1
Valdez, Alaska
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This place isnt terrible on its own merrit, but its all about the location, location, location. This place is sandwhiched between a porn warehouse and a chineese restaurant that is also sandwhiched between two one way roads. So in the space of one hundreed feet you have loud, smelly and questionable. The rooms are old and peeling, which you would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hdarce
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We stayed after flying into ANC. A very nice shuttle driver picked us up even though very late at night. Rooms were clean and were just what we needed for a quick overnight stay before getting on cruise. Breakfast was a nice surprise. Shuttle to train was very appreciated too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lhoopes
colorado
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Rude staff, rooms filthy, not close to Anchorage Ted Stevens airport, Van is old. Hotel over 25 minutes away from Anchorage Ted Stevens airport. Not in a good location for the tourist. Transportation driver ran a red light while not paying attention to the road talking to a person in the front seat. Thanks goodness no cars or people were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kentg1
Lebanon, Ohio
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Due to a delay in car rental and a major traffic jam, we chose to stay in Anchorage instead. I randomly called Merrill Field Inn from a Milepost ad and booked a room sight unseen. Upon arrival, it did look sketchy but we were so tired there was no backing out. Stayed in a ground room floor on the end....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debordfarm
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I am covered with bites as type. Our last night we got up in the middle of the night to go to the airport and I found two bedbugs in my bed. It is worth noting that the room had only been partially cleaned that day. When I reported the bedbugs at the front desk as we checked out, the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank K F
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Dirty. Scary. Do you ever get a gut feeling that what you are about to do is a mistake? Upon arrival at the hotel I had this feeling. As we passed by the strip club next door, my wife said she could not stay here. You should know that she is a very confident woman who is comfortable walking around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Dan, Thank you for your feedback! While we can do nothing about our location, we would appreciate any recommendations about how we could appear less "scary." I do think it is concerning that your wife felt the need to have a firearm while sitting in our parking lot. We take great effort to provide a safe, respectable location for our...

houtzdale
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I stayed at this motel again ..I have stayed here several times over the years..The shuttle picked us up at the Airport ,,that is always nice to avoid the stress after a long flight..The staff at this motel is more like family than business people..The rooms are very clean and safe..The lot is also clean and safe..I highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Rob, Thank you for your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated! We have taken great effort in improving our accommodations in the last few years and we appreciate you noticing. As a family run business we understand how important good customer is. Our free airport shuttle is a pretty big selling point for many guests, and while we don't advertise...

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Run! This place was horrible. The room was dirty and the sheets were not clean. The front desk was not helpful at all! There is WiFi, but is practically unusable because it is so slow. Overall the building was rundown. Not worth the price AT ALL. You are much better off finding a different place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thehew
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Thehew, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear your stay was bad. An unclean room is unacceptable and we have been taking efforts to ensure every room is double checked for cleanliness. The wi-fi does tend to get pretty slow when there is a large amount of load, however it is usable for e-mail and web browsing,...

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#46 of 72 in Anchorage
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puffin Inn
#35 of 72 in Anchorage
292 reviews
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Merrill Field Inn

Address: 420 Sitka St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2830
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: RM333 - RM696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merrill Field Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Merrill Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrill Field Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merrill Field Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends if you want to fight with bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles 774billw, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Set your expectations accordingly based on the price and you will be pleased with what is provided”
 of 5 bubbles leosv2016, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and comfortable -- great place to stay the day before your Alaskan cruise.”
 of 5 bubbles Jackson772, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Very good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles ramm924, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles Kentg1, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay