We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arctic Adventure Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$59*
View Deal
GreenLeadersGold level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arctic Adventure Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
La Mesa, California
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Stayed in this hostel my first and last night in Alaska. It was a good value as I didn't want to pay a ton of money for a room I would barely use due to later arrivals and early morning flights. Older building and a bit run down but surprisingly very clean. Kitchen and shared bathrooms were practically spotless. Small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rolledtacos
Plant City, Florida
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We are a group of 5 friends (we are all in our 60's) traveling to Homer for 10 days & stayed here one night (7/4/15) to recoup from our flight from Tampa, FL. We have stayed here twice before (just overnight) before heading out to other destinations in Alaska. It is a basic hostel, leave shoes at door, no smoking,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lois h
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed 9 nights during the off season. Owner was informative of the local area, and a Cubs fan which is always nice to see. Had a room to myself due to the slow time so that was nice. Not much else to say, just a place to sleep, eat occasionally and shower. No complaints! Great location. Near Wal-Mart, many shops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trektheusa
Opelika AL
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We needed a room very late at night as our train came in from Denali really late. We rode as fast as we could on our bikes to get to the hostel. Not a word of complaint from the mngt. as to how late it was. we had a room to ourselves and all was good. Beds are comfy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trailrunnerOpelikaAL
california
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We had two couples in two private rooms and it was clean and quiet. The proprietor met me when I arrived at midnight and was nice. Shared bathroom was clean. There was a hunting knife stuck upright in the closet shelf which was weird. Kitchen area large and clean. The owner is trying to sell the hostel so that may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notpassive
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 16 August 2015

we were there in the beginning and at the end of our three weeks trip to Alaska. It is definitively the best deal you can find for a hostel in Anchorage. It is basic, but it is clean, quite, well organised and the personnel is flexible, attentive and very helpful. We paid a bit more than 50 euro for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jose d
arcticadventure, Manager at Arctic Adventure Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! I'm really happy your stay was comfortable, even though I kicked you out to mop floors :) Hope all is well.

Tarragona, Spain
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We spend just one night in the hostel and we arrived late at night so anybody was there at the beginning. We knock the door and a woman made us the chek-in ( she is the one that runs the hostel and clean everything!). The service was correct. We slept in a private room and everything was super clean! The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SMontyG
arcticadventure, Manager at Arctic Adventure Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. It really is appreciated! I hope you enjoyed your trip here in Alaska. Maybe we will see you again!

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

An unfriendly place when I walked in. no greetings, no smile, not helpful from the guy who works and lives there. He has a NOT bothered attitude impatient and rude. I was not comfortable with him. I work in a hostel myself so I know how to treat guests nicely n fairly. Hanged up my calls several times when I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joyce l
arcticadventure, Manager at Arctic Adventure Hostel, responded to this review

We apologize that your first impression was less than desirable and sincerely wish that you had a more comfortable return stay. We're hoping your lovely feedback while you were here for the second time reflects that we rose to the occasion! Good luck in your future travels.

Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Reviewed 21 March 2015

At the end of my trip in Alaska I stayed in this hostel for week and a half or maybe 2. Met awesome people, just because I was in dormitory room. John, the housekeeper is in my opinion, pretty cool guy. We didn't talked much, but he was very friendly and nice to me. Definetely gonna go back there if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RavenMcArthur
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the private room at the artic adventure. Clean room, tv, cupboard space and basic for the price is very reasonable for alaska. Very accommodating owners especially information given on where to go and what to see not only in anchorage but alaska wide. Very big communal kitchen in which we had our breakfast and made lunches to save...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lindsay255100

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
303 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Free Internet, Cable TV, well stocked 500 square foot kitchen, free storage, large chest freezer to store your fish, linens and towels provided. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arctic Adventure Hostel

Address: 337 W 33rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4706
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Price Range: RM152 - RM287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arctic Adventure Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arctic Adventure Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Arctic Adventure Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the top floor is better. You won't hear the noise from the kitchen and common area. And you won't hear people walking upstairs.”
ChiaChien61, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms at back struggle to get the free wifi”
davidhughtaylor, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“female dorm was nice”
JasminaSara, 18 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We had two stays there, both on the top floor. Both rooms were quiet and right across the hall from the bathroom/shower. However, being on the top floor also meant the rooms got a bit warm in the evening! About the only downside I can think of to the Midnight Sun!”
dreymatthew, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“You will need to get a taxi from Anchorage airport, approximately $15. Check out the huge Barnes and Noble bookstore nearby. Outback Steakhouse is a couple of minutes walk and worth a meal.”
517mattc, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates