We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Rippon-Kinsella House

    1317 N 3rd St, Springfield, IL 62702-3837
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    Are these the right dates for your stay?
    Select your travel dates to find the lowest prices.
    08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in SpringfieldSee available hotels in Springfield
    Overview
    • Excellent54%
    • Very good25%
    • Average3%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible16%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (26 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    Deals
    8 Oct9 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Springfield hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (77)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 77 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The owners of the Rippon-Kinsella house seem to be a nice couple. However, the website photographs do not represent the property. I understand it is going under renovations and it is an old home with many antiques, but there is an undefinable odor about the...More

    Thank cationista
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded 3 days ago

    I'm sorry. I always said we tried to do our best. My friend and innkeeper, Roger Schmitz has recently been diagnosed with early stages of Dementia, and I am in contact with Lincolnland Community College in Springfield to find a graduate of their Hospitality Management...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Photos of the property must have been taken many, many years ago. The outside needs a lot of work...broken fence, weeds instead of grass, power cords, ladders, tarp on roof....and that is just the beginning. Going inside, the first thing you get is an odor....More

    1  Thank nicole b
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

    Some people just can't be pleased. It is an 1871 Victorian and we are working on it! We'll try to do better on bathroom maintenance, but we don't reuse paper cups. Give me a break. Dave Ridenour Proprietor

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Trash all over the yard, can't even get to backyard, fences broken, rooms very junky and place has odor that bother ladies when we walked in. Could not stay there but they charge your credit card anyway. Watch their 48 hr policy to cancel as...More

    1  Thank geraldl366
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

    This is getting ridiculous. Who are these people? There is NOT "trash all over the yard." We are building a brick patio in the backyard and it does look like a construction site. We are putting a new rubber roof on the the flat roof...More

    Reviewed 6 August 2017

    This property should no longer be offered as a Bed & Breakfast. First, the property looks nothing like what is pictured on the website. We thought we had arrived at the wrong address. The parking in the rear of the property is piled with trash,...More

    1  Thank LBW314
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded 5 weeks ago

    I'm sorry that we didn't meet this guest's expectations, but some of the claims are simply not true. We had just cleaned out the garage to take some things to a friend's yard sale, and there was a broken chair in front of the garage....More

    Reviewed 1 August 2017

    This is the place that gives bed and breakfasts a bad reputation. Beware! Do not make a reservation to stay at the Rippon-Kinsella House in Springfield, IL. Upon arrival, there were red flags everywhere. We were told to park on the street even though "lighted...More

    3  Thank lovetotraveloften
    Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded 5 weeks ago

    I really don't know where to begin. We always tell guests they can park on the street or in the area at the rear of the house. As for mold, this is just not true. We always ask guests if the room is comfortable or...More

    Hampton Inn Decatur Mt Zion
    63 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Decatur
     
    Sunset Inn & Suites
    96 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Clinton
     
    Homewood Suites Decatur-Forsyth
    473 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Forsyth
     
    Macon Motel
    1 review
    #1 of 1 hotels in Macon
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Illinois >
    • Springfield
    Nearby
    Homewood Suites Decatur-Forsyth
    473 reviews
    60.20 km away
     
    Sunset Inn & Suites
    96 reviews
    67.90 km away
     
    Macon Motel
    1 review
    57.52 km away
     
    Hampton Inn Decatur Mt Zion
    63 reviews
    66.13 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Cook's Spice Rack & Chili Co
    47 reviews
    1.29 km away
    Sportsman's Lounge
    17 reviews
    1.47 km away
    Sam's Italian Pizza
    24 reviews
    .65 km away
    Jungle Jim's Cafe
    33 reviews
    1.41 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lincoln Tomb & War Memorials
    1,424 reviews
    .64 km away
    Edwards Place Historic Home
    65 reviews
    .93 km away
    Illinois State Military Museum
    63 reviews
    1.47 km away
    Union Station - Lincoln from History to Hollywood
    47 reviews
    1.58 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The Rippon-Kinsella House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "This was not a hotel, but a Victorian home."
    Read review
    "This entire property should not be rented to the public."
    Read review
    "Book before Fall, 2016 as the hosts will be closing the door to guest forever."
    Read review
    "The Captain's Quarters is best suited for early risers since the unique Italianate windows do not lend..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing