We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Moreno 2, 18016 San Bartolomeo al Mare Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$137
View deal
Hotels.com
US$137
View deal
Agoda.com
US$127
View deal
TravelocityUS$137
PricelineUS$149
eDreamsUS$141
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (56)

About

#12 of 13 hotels in San Bartolomeo al Mare
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At only 70 metres from the beach of San Bartolomeo al Mare, the recently restructured La Marina Hotel is the ideal choice for an unforgettable holiday at the seaside. All 43 rooms have a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer. Some rooms also have a private balcony with a sea view, ideal for making the most of our breakfast in the room facility. Many rooms also have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. For all our guests, there is a common room with a TV, a stupendous terrace with a sea view and a bicycle renting service. The restaurant has a wide range of traditional Ligurian dishes and a sophisticated selection of international cuisine. And your four-legged friends are also welcome, free of charge! Contact Us Name(required) Email(required) Phone Message I AceptThe Privacy Policy
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
178Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 52
  • 30
  • 32
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laura R wrote a review Jan 2018
Vilnius County, Lithuania33 contributions13 helpful votes
We've stayed in January for 4 nights there. The room with the sea side view, had a balcony. Hotel is clean and nice. The receprionists were very helpful and friendly. Location is very good, the beach is near, bus stop is also near. Food was good, only the breakfast could be better, but it was ok. Thanks for all stuff, they made our stay more easy. We wanted to rent a car, but it was very difficult, because it was January, and the closest car rental office was in Imperia, about 20min by bus, but the price to rent a car for one night was 90euro! So we used public transport to get to San Remo, Imperia.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: we stayed on second froor and could see the sea from our balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ermintrude73 wrote a review Oct 2016
North East England, United Kingdom806 contributions111 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a group. This was not the hotel I was expecting to stay in and, despite having the same advertised 3 star rating, this was only of basic contractor standard. The hotel’s website and own literature describes the hotel as having been recently restructured/ completed renovated, however there was little evidence of this in either the public areas or bedrooms. My bedroom appeared to be the most basic on offer and was without air conditioning, soundproofing or wifi connection. At approx. 13ft6 by 8ft (including an impractical bathroom of 6ft by 3ft raised some 6 inches from the bedroom floor level) this equated to approximately 108 sq ft providing minimal space to negotiate around the double bed to access the balcony. The location of the sole plug socket dictated the location of fan or bedside lamp and the main light could only be controlled by a switch next to the main door. The four flights of stairs were mostly uncarpeted, surrounded by crumbling plaster work and the night-time lighting was inadequate due to an ineffective timer arrangement and defective bulbs. The chaos of check-in enabled a thief posing as a hotel porter to operate in reception and to rob one of our group on arrival. Security is a big issue with this hotel as the reception desk was frequently unmanned (staff serving at the bar or in the dining room or eating lunch as a staff group). On the morning after our arrival, a number of our passports surrendered at check-in were left unsecured behind the unattended desk which was located close to two open doors giving direct access from the street. Guests were often helping themselves to keys in the absence of a receptionist and on two consecutive nights street hawkers were waved through by staff to ply their trade in the dining room whilst guests ate. I also returned to my room one morning to find the cleaner had propped the door open to dry the mopped floor having moved on to another room along the corridor meaning anybody could access my room which was most concerning given the lack of safety deposit facilities. The food was very basic and many of the evening meals inedible due to their saltiness. The initial nightly vegetarian option for our group was plain omelette which was only changed after much negotiations to simple pasta options – certainly not the “…wide range of traditional Ligurian dishes and a sophisticated selection of international cuisine” referenced on the hotel’s own website. We also had the unwelcome addition of a karaoke man on full volume for the full duration of one evening meal combined with the owners encouraging guests to dance which did not make for a pleasant meal and prevented conversations with others at the table. Such was the volume that it could still be heard on the fourth floor. This hotel is likely to appeal more as a transit or contractor hotel or for those looking for no-frills accommodation on a tight budget.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check what facilities rooms have before booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike B wrote a review Oct 2016
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel was a substitute hotel made by Diamond Rail Holidays, who had allegedly forgotten to book the hotel advertised in the brochure. The hotel is on a main road and close to the railway, as a result it was noisy, the rooms were some of the most poorly furnished and grubby we have had to endure in recent years. The bathroom was not clean and the shower was so small that you could not move around properly and the shower curtain was about 300mm to long so it draped inside the tray, most unsatisfactory. The toilet seat was worn and marked, most unsavoury, and the floor around the toilet was all stained. The Bar was a joke just like "Faulty Towers" if you ordered a draft beer they had to go to the Kitchen for it and if you ordered more than 2 they had to go back (only 2 hands!!) never heard of a tray!!. The siting area in the bar comprised of some cafeteria tables and plastic chairs, no sofas. The staff were not there before meals to serve drinks and when they did arrive they were overwhelmed with customers. Food was ok but the restaurant very basic. Security was poor people were helping themselves to their keys as there was nobody manning the reception desk. Very poor very disappointing spoiled the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Closer to the sea furthest from the road/railway
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fausto F, Owner at Hotel La Marina
Responded 22 Oct 2016
Madam Ermintrude, or do you want to be call Lady Emma? It 's too easy to criticize behind anonymity. We answer in person, instead. We read and reread your criticism. They are in many parts unfounded. But we can begin ... .You Lady Emma had a single room. You are a single and so you had a room of this kind. Our single rooms are for one person, with double bed and not single bed, with one lamp (are you not one single person ?? So we had reserved this kind of the room). It is real fact that your room without air conditioning. Did you have required before arriving the air conditioned? However into the rooms without air conditioning we put the fans. We make note that you stayed here during an autumn season and not during the summer. The temperatures of the night that were around 15-18°. If you want to inform…. Maybe too hot for you? We have in our hotel a free WIFI on all floors and in all the rooms ... maybe you were not to able to activate this ... why didn’t you ask them an help? Why do you wait now to write these complaints? It is not beauty to wait so long and after your departure. The room's main light is near the door, but near the bed, but perhaps did not see it. We remember correctly that you wear glasses ... didn’t you have them? You removed them? The night-time lighting in the corridors is programmed for 2 minutes, the necessary time to enter the rooms, but since you loved to phone in the hallway, it is clear that 2 minutes are not sufficient. Maybe you do not know that you have disturbed some of our customers with your phone calls while walking in the hallways, during the day and during the night. In our hotel we have never been any thefts, and it is not true that you say a customer was robbed of cash at check-in. We know that you have traveled by train. Your guide told us that on that train were several non-EU. But are we sure that there was that money? No one has seen it. Anyone can testify that the money was really? Maybe you do not know how many people lie to obtain compensation with a false theft and you can believe us, it is not at all easy. It takes the evidence! Dear Mrs. Emma J … do you mind if we continue to call you so? Our staff serving both the bar and in the dining room and thanks to democracy that it is in Italy they can eat with the boss for the lunch. The lunch, and you know very well is in a room with a large window with views of the hotel entrance and reception. You know this thing because you was always sitting in the hall. Perhaps in his country the staff should not eat with the boss and must eat in the cellars? On the morning after your arrival the passports were returned to the owners and while you give us the keys. Do you want deney it? The reception is always occupied by one person except when this person must accompany new guests in the rooms. It is not beautiful to sit in the hall and take photos of the empty reception when one of our employees accompany clients. How you can see at the reception desk there are no keys and passports. The guests never take their keys because they are hidden. In fact in our hotel keys they are not hung on the wall as instead of in most other hotels in the world. We go on to explain the facts. We think that you are, dear lady Emma J. a little racist. Our hotel offers a restaurant service and it is a public place for this fact a seller of flowers can enter and he is not a seller of cigarettes, clothes, necklaces, food or non-EU, etc. Many husbands and boyfriends offer flowers to their wives and girlfriends during our dinners. Is it never happened to you? Now we would like to ask you a question. She has a waitress at home? Or maybe do you live alone? How do you dry a wet floor if you don’t open the windows and doors? You say that you find a dirty floor of your room. Why did not you inform us? All the other guests have never said anything about ... maybe your room was visited by a nocturnal ghost that dirtied the floor? Dear Mrs. Emma J. ...., Do you want to call you with your surname? If you had any complaints because you don’t inform us during your stay? One fact is right, your bathroom was small, but we want to repeat to you….it is a room for one person, or rather for a single. The food was salty? No one has complained about this fact! Our chef uses little salt for a matter of health of customers ... there could be diabetic! You are a vegetarian and we well know. There is a buffet of cooked and raw vegetables, rice and grilled vegetables. Did you not see the buffet? Ah….We forget that you wear glasses. The Ligurian cuisine is unfortunately not suitable for vegetarians. How it would be nice if you can eat everything. We always offer to our clients a musical evening ... and our singer sings live and he does not karaoke ...he is professional .. Don’t you like the music, dancing and a bit of joy? Do you hear the music up on the 4th floor? It is impossible because the doors of the restaurant were closed... You cannot talk ... .we have a nice lounge bar ... it was a pity that you are gone away too soon ... almost all the people had to hear music until h. 23.00. Did not like our hotel? ... Maybe next time you are going to pay more and to go in a 5 stars hotel maybe you will be happy. Goodbye Mrs. Emma J ... ..and please don’t you use the anonymity and the next time you should show how much money you have so there will be some witnesses! Sorry for our English Language but we are not English.
Read more
GregoryBear wrote a review Sep 2016
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom2 contributions
We also stayed as part of a group. Hotel states it is 3 star but it is a 2 star at best. Took ages to get a drink at the bar as they had to get everything from elsewhere (ice, tonic, wine). Bathroom incredibly small - even 1 person in there was a struggle & there was mould on the ceiling & walls around the shower. Dangerous step from the bathroom down to the bedroom. Probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Food was poor & very salty, & they found it difficult to cater for the vegetarians in our group which shouldn't really have been a problem. No security & street sellers were allowed in to the dining room. As another reviewer has said, one of our party had her money stolen when we were checking in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Fausto F, Proprietario at Hotel La Marina
Responded 5 Oct 2016
gentile Signora, ci dispiace che non si sia trovata bene, anche se vorrei fare alcune precisazioni: la camera se pur di piccole dimensioni dispone di un letto matrimoniale in grado di soddisfare il riposo di un ospite. per le persone vegetariane abbiamo proposto ravioli di borraggine, gnocchi con ragout di verdure, omelette, verdure grigliate, macedonia di verdure, che per i partecipanti ad un gruppo è un buon trattamento. Inoltre vi era anche un buffet molto ampio con antipasti e verdure. La nostra cucina normalmente viene giudicata molto buona dai nostri ospiti, ci dispiace che a lei non sia piaciuta, ma non ci pare giusto che Lei la giudichi male. per quanto riguarda la signora a cui sembra mancassero dei soldi bisogna dire che : ha perso la sua borsa sull'ascensore, nessuno ha mai visto il contenuto della borsa stessa e non vi è certezza che ci fossero dei soldi dentro. se c'erano soldi avrebbero potuto rubarli dovunque. al momento del ricevimento c'erano due persone al check in dietro il desk mentre tutti i partecipanti al gruppo erano dall'altro lato, nell'impossibilità di fare alcunché. il nostro personale è assolutamente di fiducia e non mette certo a rischio il posto di lavoro per € 200,00. in ogni caso appena è stata ritrovata la borsa è stata messa in vista al ricevimento per trovare il proprietario e consegnata subito. ci auguriamo che le nostre precisazioni Le possano trasmetterLe la nostra volontà di farvi felici, ci spiace non esserci riusciti con Lei, gli altri partecipanti nella maggioranza mi sono sembrati soddisfatti. cordiali saluti Fausto F.
Read more
vesta56 wrote a review Sep 2016
Peterborough, United Kingdom2 contributions
Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a group. Not the hotel we were expecting to be in. Bathroom ridiculously small, damp patch on the ceiling above the shower. View over main rd which was very noisy. Walls very thin could hear someone's television and conversations. Food poor and over salted. Lacks security, not always on reception desk and one of our group was robbed of her money on arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Darvkop wrote a review Jun 2016
65 contributions35 helpful votes
We have booked a 4 bed room for four of us for just one night. We weren't expecting much for the price, but the result was well bellow expectations. The room we've got was tiny, facing the main street, next to the rail roads. The AC was not working. If we closed the only window, the heath was unbearable. If we opened it, the noise was unbearable. The bed I slept on was the worst experience in a hotel I have ever had. The bathroom could only be called clean if you are very polite, and it was even tinier than the room itself. There were no wifi in the room (only in the lobby) and we also had to pay for parking (10€/night). The day manager was okay (not really kind but informative), but the night manager, who let us in during the night was completely wasted (although he was trying to be really kind:). On the plus side, the breakfast was quite nice for the value.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure which room you book - the rooms facing the street are unbearably noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Saif A wrote a review Jun 2016
Markham, Canada50 contributions12 helpful votes
This is a nice hotel for the price, next to the beach with balconies that have views to the sea. Breakfast was included, parking was not. Comfortable beds, AC not turned on until later in the summer. Overall good experience for the price. Closeness to the beach and nice balcony a definite plus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel San Giacomo
LOCATION
ItalyLiguriaProvince of ImperiaSan Bartolomeo al Mare
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Marina?
Nearby attractions include Santuario Nostra Signora della Rovere (0.4 km), Porto Turistico (0.4 km), and Resti della Mansione Romana del Lucus Bormani (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel La Marina?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante L'ancora, Focacceria Dai NiNiN, and Everest.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel La Marina?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel La Marina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel La Marina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel La Marina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre di Prarola (7.9 km).
Does Hotel La Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.