We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Richmond South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Richmond South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 365: English reviews
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 July 2016

If you are looking for a stopover close to I-95 without too much fanfare than the Hampton Inn should work out fine. It is very close to I-95. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was pretty good also - good coffee, fresh waffles, eggs, bacon, potatoes, bagels, fruit, etc. The one negative was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WHowells
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The location is a bit industrial but easy to get to from anywhere. The staff is friendly and the rooms were comfortable and as expected - typical Hampton Inn. No surprises which is always good. Not much good food around the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cabot J
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The room was clean and the beds were comfy. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy. The staff was good. It was nice to have complimentary breakfast available, but the quality was not up to the standards of other Hampton Inns at which I've stayed. The pool was the low point of our visit. The water was 82+ degrees and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 369kathyl
Illinois
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We drove all night from Chicago to get to the hotel and arrived early, tired and weary. Showed up to the hotel around noon, hoping to get an early check-in. Chantelle (sp?), at the front desk, went above and beyond and honored our request, which basically made our whole trip. Chantelle is an honorary and exemplary employee, who puts the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Nice, clean hotel in an easy location, about 5 miles south of downtown Richmond. Location is a bit remote and industrial, but there's a nice little restaurant/pub in a hotel across the street, a subwy and a McDonald's right there. Otherwise, plan to drive or UBER anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We were in town for an important swim meet. The area was crowded due to many events being planned for that weekend. We were fortunate to get the room we did before all prices for rooms went out of sight! We had stayed at Hampton Inns before and knew what to expect. We were pleased to see the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
Jackson, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2016

The fire alarm went off and the staff were not helpful at all. Besides that, the hotel is nice. The staff were nice at check-in. The digital check-in is easy to manipulate and use. I hope to get a chance to go back to the hotel and have a better stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 June 2016

I was weary from traveling and found this hotel to be quite comfortable, relaxing and clean. The check in staff were professional and helpful. The room was clean, well supplied and met my needs for a quiet restful sleep. The breakfast area was well supplied and provided a generous seating area. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethsX5556ST
Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Older hotel with no view and only two luggage carts although 5 stories. Bath Tub in our room would not drain and air conditioner leaked water all over the floor. Front Desk sent us to a terrible restaurant in the area with poor food and service. We could not wait to get out of Richmond and my wife threatens divorce...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear Alan M, Thank you for sharing your feedback on trip advisor. We are extremely sorry we did not provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered and we are working with our team to ensure the situation does not happen again. If you return to...

Boston, United States
Reviewed 15 June 2016

At checkin got the feeling we were bothering the staff and they were doing us a favor. Not helpful at all about where to go to get something eat. It felt like we were not at a Hampton Inn. The night before our stay at another Hampton Inn was just what we have come to expect from Hampton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am extremely sorry that you received a poor level of service This is not the Hampton norm as our goal is to satisfy our guests 100% and I apologize that we did not achieve the level of satisfaction. I have addressed these issues with our staff as your...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
17.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
13.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: RM587 - RM698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Richmond South staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on the west side of the hotel facing Commerce Street - East side is practically on top of I95”
 of 5 bubbles mikehT3164LJ, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the other side of the hotel not facing I-95”
 of 5 bubbles whytegroup, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Try not to get room facing highway. Lots of truck noise”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC548, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“A little noisy with highway on 1 side and busy street on the other.”
 of 5 bubbles 584angelap, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the front of the hotel, opposite the interstate.”
 of 5 bubbles stbass, 11 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay