We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Show Prices
#12 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 523: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I made a reservation 3 weeks ago for a seven day stay. After dragging in all my luggage, I was told they were sold out for the basketball game and they had to move me to their "other" building. No elevator...have to go to main building to get breakfast. I thought about trying another hotel, I don't usually use best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myrufus
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am sorry to hear about your frustrations with your reservations. If you can provide me with a confirmation number, I can research as to what happened with your reservation. I am so sorry to hear of all your disappointments and...

charlottesville, va
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Arriving late at night, the small, unimpressive sign on the highway was all that I could see as the hotel sits a distance back from the highway. The motel complex looks like a Bavarian castle, to me anyway, as there are turrets and brick arches everywhere. It certainly doesn't look like your average Best Western and we were delighted by...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank j p
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am so sorry to hear that you had a hard time finding our location and our sign not being very visible for you. Unfortunately, we have been fighting the County for several years regarding allowing our sign to be bigger...

Knoxville, TN
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice, clean, quiet, good location, friendly staff, and a great breakfast! What more can you ask for? We stayed in the 2nd building and other than having to cross the parking lot to go to breakfast (which was worth it!), it was really quaint and interesting. With all the exposed brick and stone, this is not your usual hotel room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TNGal3781
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you had to be accommodated in the other building and had to walk across the parking lot to come to breakfast. Whenever you...

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

When a hotel books an entire soccer tournament they should put the group together. We begged to be moved and the staff was unresponsive and said they were sold out. The kids were running amok, bouncing balls at all hours and racing up and down the hall. We got no sleep. We complained and were told nothing could be done....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMBirk
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review for our hotel Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay. When we have groups, we do make every attempt to block all the group rooms together however, when there is larger groups, it makes it harder to put everyone together in one building...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good location, clean, quiet, and staff was very friendly. Breakfast was also good and they started early 6AM (instead of the usual 7AM) due to the event that was going on. They were very accommodating. A few of us left home without winter coats and they were very helpful in directing us to where we should look to purchase...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving your review for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am so happy to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works really hard to provide 100% Superior Customer Care. I am glad that you liked the fact that we open our Breakfast earlier on the weekends...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When I found this hotel at a ridiculously low rate I thought it's just for one night. Now that I've stayed here I wish every hotel on my ten day trip was identical to this one. The rooms are very large and clean. The location is quiet. The staff is excellent. Thank you Governors Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A.j. M
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving your review for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works really hard to provide 100% Superior Customer Care to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Again, thank...

Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great friendly staff, all areas were clean and well kept rooms were clean and there were quiet nights, no loud guests or interruptions, internet was good, continental breakfast was very good w a helpful and friendly staff

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 188treyc
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving your response on Trip Advisor for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team believes in providing 100% Superior Customer Care to all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Price: Cdn$107 Cleanliness: excellent Quietness: good Comfort: very good Location: reasonable access to the main bits via a $1 toll road Transport: car needed, great parking Friendliness: excellent Breakfast: lovely hot and cold buffet Classiness: good Room Size: very large Room included: tv, coffee making, sink, shower, bath, fridge, microwave Wifi: free Facilities included: swimming pool (closed at the time)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfkk
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review for our hotel, Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. It is always a pleasure to read our guest reviews. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware that we need a bigger sign at the road however the County will not allow for us to have...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a follow up to my dissatisfaction review of The Best Western Governor's Inn in Richmond, VA I am now very satisfied with the manager's contacting me and resolving my complaints. She was very prompt and professional in making an adjustment to my bill and I will reconsider my opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGeorge443
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your updated review for our Hotel Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. Again, I am very sorry for the situation you experienced but I am glad that I could help rectify this for you. Please by all means return to us again so that we can demonstrate a more positive experience for you. Contact me...

Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Best Western was something we've never seen. It was like a midieval castle with brick in the rooms and coffered ceilings. There's 2 separate buildings so you may not be in the same building as lobby which we didnt like. We did not like the decor. It was very weird. We had 2 queens reserved and got 1 king....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MALISAT0117
Lori_Gantz-Shelton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving your review for our hotel Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, Richmond, Va. I am so sorry to learn of your frustrations with your stay and what happened to you. I have since spoken to you regarding this and I hope I have helped rectify your situation the best I could, even though it was...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
12.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
17.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
0.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
974 reviews
14.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
17.3 km away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: RM408 - RM820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Rainelle, West Virginia
Battle Creek, Michigan
7 months ago
Rainelle, West Virginia
over a year ago
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bedford, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor has elevator or rear parking access. very quiet and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles cindyj0m, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the second building and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 77jp, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room "away" from the night club”
 of 5 bubbles Razzierb, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I like the top floor as being quieter”
 of 5 bubbles kingfather, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main building if you can not manage stairs. There is no elevator in the other building.”
 of 5 bubbles junee691, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5