We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunflower Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunflower Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

639 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunflower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

the hotel is in a housing estate , however at night it is very quiet ...for eating this place hits the mark ..small but very interment , food fantastic from english to Maltese ...rooms are simple but be honest you not here for the room..roof top pool can get crowded with locals so head for the beach/ , sandy beaches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andy s
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, We are glad that we have managed to make your stay with us a most enjoyable one. All the positive things you have listed in your review on TripAdvisor will definitely encourage all the team to strive even more to ensure that our guests are provided with the best possible hospitality and service. Such reviews only serve to...

Reviewed 11 September 2016

Arrived at the hotel around 9.30pm in the evening, check in was swift and we was quickly in our rooms, a family of 5 adults using 3 rooms. The rooms where a reasonable size, very comfy beds, small balcony with table and 2 chairs. Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room, however found out before leaving I could have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison F
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your very positive and extensive review of our property. We are glad that we have met your expectations to the extent that you have given the Sunflower Hotel maximum score. We strive daily to offer our esteemed guests the best possible service and hence, reviews such as yours leave a very positive impact and self...

Nottingham
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had a lovely week at the Sunflower Hotel. The location is a little out of town on its own but in a very quiet neighbourhood and only a 15 minute walk down Tourists Street to the seafront and less to the main bus station. We arrived after 10pm and received a warm welcome. All the reception staff were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maruba
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, Thank you so much for your kind comments on your very extensive TripAdvisor review. We really do appreciate your compliments directed to our staff and services. We are sure that once your review is relayed to all the team, they will be overjoyed. We are so glad that we have offered you the kind of service and...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Would recommend this hotel, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The facilities were good, although the swimming pool was disappointingly small, it was a relaxing area and provided treatments. Good value for money and nice room. Decent location, it was a nice walk into the centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, Thank you so much for your kind comments on your TripAdvisor review. We really do appreciate your compliments directed to our staff and services. We are so glad that you have found our hotel to offer good value for money and sincerely thank you for your recommendation. Kind regards, Ray Grech Operations Manager Sunflower Hotel - Malta

Andover
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived early hrs due to flight delay,reception staff where in bar,room very hot,no water in sink taps and shower head fixing fell of wall,gave up asking for it to be repaired,food was awful no variety and beans bacon one day beans sausage next day etc ,paid full board and ended up eating out for 5 days,staff where un helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roy W
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, We thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor. We sincerely value and have taken note of your opinion and on behalf of all the team, we sincerely apologize if we have fallen short of your expectations. Following your departure and your comments left on our questionnaire, we have tried...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We were attending a family wedding and stayed here. It was ok but I wouldn't rush back. The best bit was the rooftop pool and bar. Rooms were basic and beds not very comfortable. Also, no tea and coffee facilities, we would have had to pay by the day for them. Breakfast was ok, everything you could need. Staff friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fee C
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property on TripAdvisor. We sincerely value and have taken note of your opinion Bedding expectations differ according to one's choices and for this reason, different mattresses are available. Our duty Manager is only a call away to accommodate one's specific needs. Kind Regards, Ray Grech Operations Manager...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Lovely room, excellent daily house keeping and very good services. The only issue we had was with the dinner food which was diversified but not so tasty because of the way it was cooked (boiled meat or baked steak instead of grilled steak which tastes better). Very good dessert.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anemary_S
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, Thank you for your very positive comments about the property, our personnel and the service we offer. We continually strive to offer the best possible stay for our guests and such comments are very much appreciated. To follow on your comment about dinner, we do our utmost to deliver as much value as possible within the applicable...

Glencarse, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

So checked in and the room we had although a little on the small side with the extra beds for the boys. Breakfast advertised as free (nothing is free in this world) is pretty basic tinned fruit and and cheap sausages and the worst coffee machine on the island. Ok my moan is over !!! The room was spotless and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian C
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your review of our property which notwithstanding the fact that you did not like the breakfast, you still chose to praise the rest of our services that you made use of. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and would return back in the future. In the meantime, we have...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We recently spent 10 days in Malta at the delightful Sunflower hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. We particularly liked Chris on reception who was a real gentleman. Our room was very clean and fresh, with excellent daily housekeeping. The beds were very comfortable and it was quiet at night, we slept well. The hotel is well situated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 25harry
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, First and foremost we must say that it was our pleasure and privilege to have you staying at the Sunflower Hotel. We thank you for your wonderful and thorough review which we will be forwarding to all concerned in order to strengthen our efforts in ensuring that our guests experience the best possible service. We very much...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Dear Sunflower, Thanks for all! We love you so much, I can't tell you how much... Just 1 thing... The breakfast... the breakfest is a little bit poor. Specially thanks to Szabina from the bar pool, she is really friendly, I love her. Thanks to Chris, to my namesake, he was so cute too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tudijk
Sunroute Hotels M, Operations Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Client, We thank you for your comments which reflect that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly understand that food is a very subjective matter but nevertheless, you had very positive comments about your stay and the hotel in general. We shall gladly relay your compliments to our staff members who we are sure, will appreciate...

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.5 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,317 reviews
0.7 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.8 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
825 reviews
5.1 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
1,968 reviews
0.9 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bugibba
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Price Range: RM89 - RM422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Qawra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunflower Hotel staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Sunflower Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms ending in numbers 16 to 22.”
 of 5 bubbles 320sasm, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Would say the higher floors are probably better.”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldavie2016, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are good, the pools are close.”
 of 5 bubbles flower42, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay off the main road side and stay higher up the block”
 of 5 bubbles RobR821, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in room 108 no noise at all ,is at the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 392dawny, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay