We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Wynnstay Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of The Wynnstay Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

9 of us went here for Sunday lunch and we had a fantastic dinner. Staff incredibly friendly, food lovely, amazing amount of vegetables and scrummy homemade gravy. Well priced, served quickly and more importantly I didn't have to do any washing up. Cannot fault it and highly recommend! The hotel is having some works carried out but this is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikkiroberts2017
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has recently been taken over, and the new owners are working very hard to renovate. I have eaten here many times and always found the service and food great and good value for money. Improvements to the building will of course like anything take time, but I am sure the villagers of Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant are very much behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped for lunch at the weekend, what a terrible experience, below par food, just dreadfully slow, cleanliness a worry, toilets not cleaned. A very very poor choice we made, passed comment to the young man working on the bar, who was indifferent bordering on rude. Definitely had our fingers burnt here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sarariache86
Management response:

You clearly did not enjoy your meal and had you told me this, you would have received a full refund an an apology. We have learned from bitter experience that we cannot please everybody and always accept this fact. Unfortunatley, people like you prefer to hide behind websites and trash every aspect of people's effort to please someone who will...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was filthy, tatty carpets, an electric fire that kept falling over, cracked tiles around the look (dirty as well) under the table had electric wires hanging down. Door doesn't close, curtains hanging off and a distinct damp smell.....if only the rooms were as good as its food....Sorry guys you get a 'Terrible' rating...up our game.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MarkHinge
Management response:

Let's take these comments one at a time. The room was not filthy. They are thoroughly cleaned every day. None of our carpets are worn. Please send me photos of the imagined wear. Not sure where you think the cracked tiles are as you are clearly incapable of completing a sentence in English but I couldn't find any. The electric...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stumbled across this place by accident....it was deserted when we went in on a cold Friday February lunchtime. The menu is quite extensive with all the Pub classics, plus a specials board. I opted for scampi, as I hadn't had that for years. The plate arrived stacked with fat-cut crispy chips and plenty of fish and peas. Very tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank machinmad
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

First visit having been to see Pistyll Rhaeadr earlier on in the day. Staff friendly. Given choice of sitting in restaurant area or bar where fire had just been lit. Wood burner was very smokey. Ordered lunch which took a long time to arrive. Beef burger was grisly and chips had strange flavour. Baggetts were ones you buy half cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cerys B
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Arrived at the Wynnstay after a visit to the nearby waterfall. Needed something to eat as we had children and were not disappointed. The staff were happy to provide a child portion from the main menu without a worry... even happy for the dog to be either in the 'front longe' area or the bar which we moved to as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I've visited here on many occasions, and have had many a great meal. The price is excellent. Food is plentiful. ( too much) Give it a try you won't be disappointed. All this, beef and lamb. Large white wine, and a pint of Stella. £21.00. Not far from here you have the water fall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 May 2016

A very nice welcome and stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff, who personally arranged our breakfast at an earlier time than usual. All is really simple but we got what we needed. Dinner and several beers at the pub were good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumblebox
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The staff were lovely, so polite. We asked if we could have our food in our room upstairs and they even brought it to us. You would expect alot of noise being above a pub but not at all. The breakfast was yummy and there are two shops across the road. Pistyll raeadr, the point of our visit, was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade D

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
7.5 km away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
381 reviews
6.8 km away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
123 reviews
7.5 km away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
88 reviews
12.1 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,422 reviews
12.6 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the centre of one of Mid-Wales prettiest villages - nestled in the stunning Tanat Valley. Within easy reach of the Pistyll Rhaeadr Waterfall (one of the Wonders of Wales), the craggy mountains and dramatic contrasting landscape of Snowdonia, Lake Vyrnwy, Powis Castle and Gardens in Welshpool, and the historic towns of Chester and Shrewsbury. Llangollen with its world famous festival is easily accessible as is the Clwyd Theatre Cymru in Mold and the wonders of the village of Portmeirion. Several golf courses are nearby (20 mins) and horse riding, fishing and sailing are available, together with some of the finest walking country in the UK. In this most beautiful part of Mid-Wales you can savour the atmosphere of traditional market towns (Llanfyllin 6 miles), go walking along ancient pathways, enjoy the pleasures of touring peaceful roads and at the end of the day return to the comfort of the Wynnstay Arms Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wynnstay Arms Hotel

Address: Market Square, Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant SY10 0JL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wynnstay Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot comment as only had lunch there”
266cerysb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is not alot around, just peace and quiet. That is what we wanted.”
jaded491, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 & 2 are certainly recommended.”
petertO3240HA, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for Room 2 !”
petertO3240HA, 24 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ask for room 2”
kated908, 13 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5