We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Manor House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Manor House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 135: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked through Bookings.com we arrived at 13:10 on Sunday. We met Pietro the proprietor who knew of our bookings and showed us to our rooms straight away even though the hotel was busy serving Sunday Lunch. We were in the Chalet rooms which were built behind the hotel. The rooms were excellent and spacious with underfloor heating. We had... More 

Thank Razor2020
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable, quiet room. Nice breakfast and evening meals. Attentive service at all times by hotel staff. Hotel is set in pleasant grounds on the edge of Penarth. Taxi from Penarth station cost about £6.00

1 Thank Bryan406
Sandra C, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sir, Thank you very much. I am so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and hope you pay us another visit one day. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We booked one night here through Booking.com .On arrival the hotel looked empty, we wandered around until a man appeared to advise that due to a number of wedding functions the hotel was closed that night but our booking would be honoured . We were shown to one of their chalets which he said was the best they had, if... More 

Thank wilson015
Sandiliz, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Very Suspicious review ! First of all if we did have wedding functions then how would the hotel be empty and not full of wedding guests ? I could and will also mention that the only day we scale operations down here is on a Sunday and we ALWAYS close Sundays off on booking.com and let guests book directly where... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This has to be the worst place we have ever had the misfortune of experiencing,,,,,, ran by total ignorant imbeciles with no customer Manners whatsoever,,,,,, the place looked like a run down place of squalor,,,,, carpet looked putrid and well past it,,,,,,, NO WAY would I endure staying at that place, let alone a romantic stay with my wife!?,,,,,,,, it... More 

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sandiliz, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

I think your wife's horror was in your state of putrefaction as our carpets are clearly in a healthier state than yourself. You not so much turned and left as it was more of a zombie like shuffle out of the door ! Maybe romance is dead in your case but each to their own. Have you considered a role... More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel purely due to it being close to a venue in which I was attending an engagement. Prior to arriving I had booked a twin room. I was so impressed on arrival that we had been given a chalet that was so spacious and full of all amenities that we required. The staff were brilliant attended to... More 

Thank pakchoi111
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I chose The Manor House Hotel after viewing and exhausting all other venues in Cardiff, which for various reasons just didn't suit our particular and exacting needs. From the outset at our first visit to assess their wedding packages the owner Pietro put us both at ease and talked us through their product, which I have to... More 

Thank LancashireBoyo
Sandra C, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Well what can I reply to such a lovely and thoughtful review? Just reading it makes me excited to be getting on with our next wedding! It's such appreciation that keeps us all going here at the Manor House as we enter our 26th year! All the very best of everything to you and your bride for your future together... More 

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of a wedding party celebration with my partner. Check in was very easy and the room felt spacious and clean. Shower was a nice surprise with just how powerful it was, there are many hotels I've stayed at that have horrible showers and this certainly wasn't one of them. Great evening for the... More 

Thank SpursAsh
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Only stayed for 1 night but room was great (chalet) with good shower and comfy bed. Man on reception was very helpful with directions and info. Breakfast was A1 couldn't have asked for better in the very nice conservatory. My only gripe was that I had to wait until 8am on the dot to get into the reception as it... More 

Thank keithkilvo1
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We travelled down from Lancashire at 6 am for my brother's wedding, as we were unable to stay the night before. A previous review mentioning our experience is not entirely accurate. I rang the day before, as I'd been instructed to do so when I originally booked, to ask for a 12 o'clock check in so we could get changed,... More 

Thank Chushpie
Lugo, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Awful rude "owner". Actually shouted at me on the phone (when i had to call as front desk shut at 9pm. I had to ask for sky light to be shut. No way to do this yourself) and also the next day while holding my baby. Breakfast was cheap and small. Room ok, needed better cleaning. Owners son was apologectic... More 

Thank nannonj86

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (6)
Bathroom (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.8 km away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
52 reviews
1.8 km away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
84 reviews
3.9 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 75 in Cardiff
3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 75 in Cardiff
491 reviews
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
5.0 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Sully Road, Penarth CF64 2TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Penarth
Price Range: RM275 - RM477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Manor House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Penarth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Manor House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Manor House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Bryan406, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard lodges are ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles WilfSurrey, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try a chalet- large bedroom/ sitting area, tv, bathroom with bath and shower, patio doors to rear with private area to sit outside.”
 of 5 bubbles christophers686, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The chalets are great but you can hear the showers/toilets in the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles moosmommy, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Chalet rooms are spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles lindyhop1, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay