We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ASURE Sierra Motel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
ASURE Sierra Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of ASURE Sierra Motel
 Click to rate
Warwick, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay the night while doing the Alps to Ocean ride Colin and Sue where great hosts the rooms are well appointed and very clean wished we could have stayed longer, would recommend to any travellers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy G
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sierra Motel It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us and do hope you enjoyed the rest of your cycle Journey. Kind Regards Sue & Colin

Sequim, Washington
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stayed one night with my honey in a one bedroom unit #3. There are not lots of options in Omarama and Assure Sierra is clean, well run, and an excellent choice. We stay at lots of 5 star properties and expect them to be good and therefore many receive a five from us on our TA ratings. In comparison to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronvoyage
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sierra Motel Omarama, It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us,and do hope the rest of your Holiday is enjoyable. Regards Sue.

Macduff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was our first ever stay in a Motel and wow did it excel any of our expectations. We stayed 1 night as we toured round South Island and we would recommend this motel to everyone touring about. The staff were so friendly and the space in the rooms were brilliant. We stayed in a few motels after this one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Macleod1076908
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Thank you both so much for our wonderful review it was our pleasure to have you choose Sierra as your accommodation provider and our pleasure to have had you stay with us. It certainly makes all our hard work worth while when we get to receive a review like this. Kind Regards Sue & Colin

Singapore
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Cozy studio with beautiful views. Quiet place to relax and enjoy the surrounding areas. Owner was so friendly and kind, gave us good tips about places to visit that day. Close to Clay Cliff and Twizel. Definitely would recommend this place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria T
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Maria, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope in the future you may have the oppotunity to come back and revisit us. Kind Regards Sue & Colin

Beijing, China
Reviewed 9 February 2017

My wife and I spent one night at this lovely motel. The room was excellent and quiet with high speed internet. The staff was friendly and helpful, but they just took over as operators and messed up our payment. We had to wait about 90 mins while they figured out how to do a refund. I would recommend this motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies once again We now have the pin number required that was needed for your refund so I can assure you this wont happen again. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sierra. Regards Sue.

Twello, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 February 2017

During our travels through this part of New Zealand, we booked a room at this Sierra Motel. After entering the gate, we recognised that we had been here as well three years agol! The stay was as nice as it was in the past!.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Egbert1947
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Egbert1974, It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Our first impressions of the two bedroom unit were very favorable with a large lounge area and comfortable seating and a large main bedroom. However the room with the single beds was small and cramped in comparison. While the double bed was apparently comfortable the single beds were far from it. After attending our all day function we returned late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patmac16
New Zealand
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

My partner Claire and I used this motel as a base whilst touring the area The room was welcoming, warm and comfortable The kitchenette provided basic and practical facilities for preparation and cooking of food . . It is situated on the main highway just north of Omarama and almost opposite the hot tubs and is an easy two minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theoriginalbubster
New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Had a fabulous nights sleep, the beds are so comfy!! The staff are really friendly and the location is good. It was really pristine clean and there was freshly ground coffee for us in the morning to use with the plunger. Price wise, it's one of the better ones in the Lake Tekapo, Twizel area that we could find! There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela L
Balclutha, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Not that we used it but void kitchen. Very friendly welcome. Walking distance to main centre, and hot tubs. Not far to the river for fishing or further up the road the canals. Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantandSheryl D

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.2 km away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
175 reviews
1.1 km away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
98 reviews
27.4 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
27.5 km away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
27.6 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at Omarama, on State Highway 8 (Mt Cook - Queenstown Highway), ASURE Sierra Motel offers you accommodation with the peace of a quiet high country setting, with the convenience of village shops and restaurants within walking distance. Fishing tackle shop on site. Cycle friendly for cyclists on new Alps to Ocean cycle trail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ASURE Sierra Motel

Address: Omarama Avenue, State Highway 8, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Price Range: RM357 - RM503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ASURE Sierra Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ASURE Sierra Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a very nice view on the nearest mountains. Clayrocks are near (7 kms)”
Egbert1947, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask how old the beds are.”
patmac16, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The superior 2 bedroom units are huge and not much more expensive than the standard 2 bedrooms”
sandyharper2, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room right at the back of the property away from highway and other cars.”
CazK232, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“if you have a family or 2 couples ask for room 12 as it is 2 bedroom”
janisagannet, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates