We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ASURE Sierra Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ASURE Sierra Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of ASURE Sierra Motel
 Click to rate
Beijing, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent one night at this lovely motel. The room was excellent and quiet with high speed internet. The staff was friendly and helpful, but they just took over as operators and messed up our payment. We had to wait about 90 mins while they figured out how to do a refund. I would recommend this motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies once again We now have the pin number required that was needed for your refund so I can assure you this wont happen again. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sierra. Regards Sue.

Twello, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our travels through this part of New Zealand, we booked a room at this Sierra Motel. After entering the gate, we recognised that we had been here as well three years agol! The stay was as nice as it was in the past!.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Egbert1947
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Egbert1974, It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our first impressions of the two bedroom unit were very favorable with a large lounge area and comfortable seating and a large main bedroom. However the room with the single beds was small and cramped in comparison. While the double bed was apparently comfortable the single beds were far from it. After attending our all day function we returned late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patmac16
New Zealand
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

My partner Claire and I used this motel as a base whilst touring the area The room was welcoming, warm and comfortable The kitchenette provided basic and practical facilities for preparation and cooking of food . . It is situated on the main highway just north of Omarama and almost opposite the hot tubs and is an easy two minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theoriginalbubster
New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Had a fabulous nights sleep, the beds are so comfy!! The staff are really friendly and the location is good. It was really pristine clean and there was freshly ground coffee for us in the morning to use with the plunger. Price wise, it's one of the better ones in the Lake Tekapo, Twizel area that we could find! There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela L
Balclutha, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Not that we used it but void kitchen. Very friendly welcome. Walking distance to main centre, and hot tubs. Not far to the river for fishing or further up the road the canals. Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantandSheryl D
Sydney
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This motel is located relatively close to Lake Twizel, Lake Tekapo and Mount Cook national park. I stayed here for one night only, however, I strongly suggest booking more nights as there is much to explore. The 2 bedroom self contained motel is a great stay for anyone traveling with kids. The accomodation actually looks better than it is on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SydneyAngela
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We were warmly greeted when we arrived so felt very welcomed. We were also offered dinner recommendations. The one bedroom room was clean and comfortable with a good shower. Would happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GCShadbolt
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Hi GCShadbolt Thanks for taking the tiime to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have found the one bedroom units to be popular with our guests and it's always good to hear that you felt welcomed. We look forward to you returning again. Regards Ken & Jo

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2016

A small group of us stayed here for 1 night while on the Alps to Ocean bike trail. We booked 2x2 bedroom units to give us plenty of space & kitchen facilities. The units were great (the superior 2 bdrm was huge). Everything was fine and we had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandyharper2
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sandy Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased to hear that you and your group had a great stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Alps to Ocean bike trip. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Regards Ken & Jo

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Australian travelers. Just an overnighter on our trip to Christchurch but glad we chose here! Very modern. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. Were advised of things to see on our upcoming day. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mr_Happy_Chappy
SierraMotelOmarama, Manager at ASURE Sierra Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mr Happy Chappy, Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we may be a small town, there are still many things to do here in Omarama or on your way out of town. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday. Regards Ken & Jo.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
27.8 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 km away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
90 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
27.5 km away
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
27.6 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at Omarama, on State Highway 8 (Mt Cook - Queenstown Highway), ASURE Sierra Motel offers you accommodation with the peace of a quiet high country setting, with the convenience of village shops and restaurants within walking distance. Fishing tackle shop on site. Cycle friendly for cyclists on new Alps to Ocean cycle trail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ASURE Sierra Motel

Address: Omarama Avenue, State Highway 8, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Price Range: RM473 - RM629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ASURE Sierra Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your ASURE Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ASURE Sierra Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a very nice view on the nearest mountains. Clayrocks are near (7 kms)”
 of 5 bubbles Egbert1947, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask how old the beds are.”
 of 5 bubbles patmac16, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The superior 2 bedroom units are huge and not much more expensive than the standard 2 bedrooms”
 of 5 bubbles sandyharper2, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room right at the back of the property away from highway and other cars.”
 of 5 bubbles CazK232, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“if you have a family or 2 couples ask for room 12 as it is 2 bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles janisagannet, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5