We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Unfortunately accommodation is limited and, therefore expensive, in Fox Glacier and we left our booking too late and Heartland Hotel was our only option. The hotel is old and, although our room was renovated it was still disappointing. We had an end room and had workmen walking around on the fire escape outside our window smoking. There was a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sallyjanep
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Sallyjanep, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. It is a shame to hear you were unable to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep due to the noise coming from the neighbouring room. We have taken your comments into consideration to ensure this does not occur in the future. I hope you...

London
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is a lodge style establishment set in a back woods location similar to many in the USA. But whilst the American motels/hotels can be a little rustic and run down, this place is not back woods in any way. The rooms are clean and well laid out. The beds comfortable and the bathrooms modern. The free wifi is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AddickMark
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning AddickMark, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay in Fox Glacier. Our town certainly has a unique charm to it - I am pleased to hear this was well received on your trip. Don't be a stranger - we would love to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Melissa...

Reviewed 2 December 2016

I personally found this property to be conveniently located at a distance of about 5Km from the popular tourist attraction of Lake Matheson, and also did not have any bad experience with hotel rooms or staff. The breakfast offered a good variety, and the rooms offered more than what I expected to get when I choose to stay in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noobellar
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Noobellar, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Fox Glacier, it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to have a number of walks and attractions very close to the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I would have assessed the Hotel as GOOD if there is this option. I didn't realize the photos are on the web are those old ones. The refurbished rooms are fantastic, very clean, resort style. We stayed at the ground floor which is very easily accessible to hotel reception and restaurant. It was raining all the time in Fox Glacier,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripKnowFun
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning TripKnowFun, We hope you had a excellent time on your trip in New Zealand - it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished hotel rooms. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Nice old hotel with beautiful scenery. We arrived after our glacier helicopter ride, and checked-in for a night. We had our dinner at the hotel and departed the next morning. Actually, there are other activities we would like to do. Anyway, there’s always a next time. About the hotel – Room – regular size, clean & comfortable. Dinner – good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phils00n
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Phils00n, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us - it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fox Glacier in the future so you can work on completing your list of activities. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Good old Kiwi charm and character with a touch of the modern world added, staff really great and friendly, the meals were great, a great place to stay when wanting a break from the hustle and bustle of city life, plenty to do and see around the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urly58model
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning urly58model, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your time in our little paradise of a town - we certainly are fortunate to live in such a beautiful part of New Zealand. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Victoria
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

What a great place to stay! This Hotel is full of character and very comfortable. Rooms were good size, everything you need in amenities and very clean. Meals were tasty & a good size, breakfast was a plentiful selection. The bar was awesome! If you are looking for a relaxed bar, pool table and open fire, this is it, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duzzy
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Duzzy, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. How amazing is our open fire place in the bar? There's nothing better on a chilly evening then to relaxing with nice beverage and while soaking up the heat. I hope to see you back again one...

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

expectations are reasonable for a 3 star hotel. It's rather old but has been refurbished so it's clean and comfortable with working radiators. There seem to be many rooms with different sizes though. There isnt any elevators so you would have to carry your luggage up yourself however the staff will be nice to help with the bags. Wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good evening Grace T, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We have 51 accommodation rooms at our property, 20 are located upstairs in our main building, the remaining 31 are located on the ground...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2016

The hotel is very much outdated. Looked like there has been a number of add on rooms about 40 years ago. Staff were pleasant, but not much they can do. Breakfast was ordinary, and again outdated. We had to sit outside the dining room as they book out the room for buses of tourists. Room's were more backpackers style than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urbantourist2015
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good evening urbantourist2015, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is a shame to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us, as we are extremely proud of the diverse range of accommodation options we have available here at our hotel. If you would...

Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I had a single king room in the Sullivan wing, which is a newer building out back from the main hotel. The room had new, modern furnishing which was a pleasant surprise. Bathroom was good and it's a nice touch that the mirror was anti-fog. Room also included a large golf umbrella which is helpful considering the west coast of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good afternoon Amy O, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished Sullivan rooms, and that dinner in our café was to your liking. I hope you had a great time on the West Coast. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
336 reviews
0.2 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
16.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
0.3 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: RM495 - RM1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles M5791MIbobr, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check your TV is working.”
 of 5 bubbles AddickMark, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid main floor rooms. Ask for a room with a king bed.”
 of 5 bubbles l0vet0travelCalgary, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“not sure there is a "good" room”
 of 5 bubbles carmenwtx, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that opens on to the balcony. They seemed to be more spacious & had baths; and the balcony area adds to the appeal.”
 of 5 bubbles tlm999, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5