We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 349: English reviews
Start your review of Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
 Click to rate
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Motel is situated in town so handy for restaurants. The room was a bit on the small side but spotlessly clean with a comfortable king size bed. The wifi is slow but useable. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Definitely a good place to stay if you are visiting Fox Glacier.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LenGilchrist
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in a great location in Fox Glacier and as you stated handy to all the restaurants. We are aware that at certain times the "wifi" gets slow, and can be frustrating, but unfortunately we don't have any control over the supply into Fox Glacier and the fact that it is on satellite. Hopefully...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this is the best room during our vacation in NZ. the location is good has a good mountain view and also close to a small path walk. the room is clean and delight. the decoration is light and tidy, so we feel really relax and comfortable. the reception is also very welcome. So overall, we really like this place.

Review collected in partnership with DeNATravelOverseasSite
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaxie0820
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the great comments about our motel. We like to ensure that a high standard of cleanliness is maintained at all times and the rooms are kept up to date with modern decor. Also we make sure the guest has a great experience from the time they check in until they depart and this including...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our compact studio had the basic dinnerware, cutlery and toaster + fridge but no microwave or kitchenette. There was free wifi but when lots of people are using it, it is slow. The water appears to be yellow,we aren't sure why. Overall, it was still a nice stay. We were happy there was paid laundry available on site ($3 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila514
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have other options available which have has a microwave, but the room type you booked didn't. If you read the compendium in your room there is information regarding the discolored water because of the rain fall. It is still safe to drink. It can be frustrating when the wifi is slow, but unfortunately...

Deloraine, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, the room was very neat, clean and comfortable. It's nice to find somewhere that has awesome showers and great water pressure, staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLE-94
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We like to ensure that all guests have a great experience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zlealand.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable. Free parking. Wifi signal was not good in our room, but would be fine if we went outside the room. There was a movie channel on the TV that played some great films!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan176
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Yes we are aware of the problem with wifi and have the best system available for Fox Glacier, but unfortunately we have no control over the capacity coming into town and the fact that it is via satellite and not fiber. We have over 500 movies available so there is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only here for two nights but we found our room to be clean and comfortable with everything we needed. We actually had a spa bath although we only used the shower, which was very good. The friendly manager did check with us on our arrival that we had booked to be taken to the glacier the following day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan708
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a very high standard when it comes to cleanliness and ensure all our staff keep up the standard we have set. Hopefully we will see you back here in Fox Glacier in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Bella Vista Fox Glacier for 2 nights recently whilst we explored the surrounding rivers as we all are keen fishermen. The room we had was spotlessly clean and was a perfect size to relax in after a busy day out and about. It was a perfect location for us as we literally had a one minute walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi5000
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were happy to host you while visiting New Zealand for your fishing trip. There are some great fishing spots on the West Coast. Please look us up when you come back through Fox Glacier we would love to host your group again.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Highly recommended. Price is reasonable, rooms are clean, modern and reasonably priced. Situated on the edge of a rain forested packed with glow worms, we walked through it every night. We would definitely stay at Bella Vista Fox again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigTea33
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and managed to see the Glow Worms. We look forward to seeing you again.

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Helpful staff, neat rooms well laid out with a sofa and chairs plus a small kitchen area. The location is perfect on the main road so easily found. Perfect for the glacier or the town and mirror view on Mathessons lake was to stunning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartinJLaws
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Martin. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was great that you managed to see the reflection of Mt Cook down at Lake Matheson. It certainly is an amazing sight. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand and hopefully we'll see you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you decide to spend a night at this hotel it is not 18 miles to Mount Cook! It is 18 miles as the crow flies but a long way by road. When we booked this hotel we were under the assumption it was only 18 miles to Mount Cook. Didn't realize it was around two hours drive because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

It was disappointing to receive your review which was so negative. When you made the booking you agreed to our terms & conditions which includes the Cancellation Policy, which is stated quite clearly on the reservation. Nowhere on any of our official websites do we advertise that we are close to Mt Cook. Our address is given as SH6 Fox...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
342 reviews
0.1 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,086 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
365 reviews
1.0 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: RM278 - RM1,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
4 months ago
Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the glow worm walk in the forest next door, the hosts will tell you about it.”
 of 5 bubbles BigTea33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles Z1196DTthomasl, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing road and car park would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 21DaysAway, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room no.24”
 of 5 bubbles Bhaskarbvr, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you don't want to carry your luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles CKWJ30, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5