We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Start your review of Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was better than expected. The quad rooms are very small and the beds are the only places to sit. There is mould on the windows however the beds seem clean. The bathrooms are also clean but the floor gets extremely wet. The staff are helpful at the bar and the drinks are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tayla A
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at room 5, next to toilet and laundry room. Sound proof are so bad that we could basically hear all the noise from toilet, laundry room and people who stay up stair of our room. Whenever they are people walking by (either in front of our room or on the upstairs) we sound the sounds very loudly. Feels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 137annyl
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where to start, the welcome by the owners is far from welcome and rude!The room was tiny and the curtains were moldy. Bathrooms dirty and only one shower with warm water at the ladies. In short, don't go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee V
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear User, How do you know the person who checked you in was the owner? its really hilarious to read such comments where reviewers like you write such senseless thing. Our owners do not work in our property so not sure whom are you referring to. By reading your review I assume you have stayed in a dorm. If you...

Te Anau, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am happy to read that I am not the only person who got treated badly by these people. It's a long story about a hostel without a conscious. I made a booking through booking.com with this hostel and in the afternoon of my arrival they send me a rude email, asking me to find something else because of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fieka
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor user, After a through investigation I would like to conclude that this was an issue of overbooking due to failure in the server of booking.com. We had sent you a mail prior to your arrival that we would not able to accommodate you, so your allegations about us not being concerned about you does not arise. Moreover, your...

Skane, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The "rooms" and pods were nice. Good location, facilities and service. The one downside was a somewhat poorly organized kitchen. Too few utensils and working stoves. Come back? Yes, probably. Due to a mishap we were forced to change rooms, the staff handled that perfectly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Majodang
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the appreciation for our facilities. Since, its a busy season one of the issue we are facing is all the guests coming to the Kitchen at the same time. We are trying our best to curb this by putting a time slot for different floors so that everyone can use the kitchen comfortable. Looking forward...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very rude and unpleasant management/owners. They treat the backpackers who work for them like slaves. Rooms and facilities are covered in mold, really grose bathrooms. No hot water in women showers. Owner talks bad about guests at the phone in public.....don't ever stay here!!!! Just keep driving to Franz Josef

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bart p
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor guest, At the onset I would like to comment that its none of your business to comment on how our owners treat the staff or how they behave. We respect you as a guest, beyond that I do not feel that you should raise your option regarding our internal matters. Just to give you a heads up that...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was part of our Topdeck tour. Very basic accommodation. Quite dated bathroom which was awkward to maneuver around. Restaurant and bar were excellent with great food. Expect to leave the heaters on overnight if it's cold. Thanks for the stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sa_countryfolk
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip advisor. My team and I are delighted to have such great feedback from you. It is feedback from our prestigious guests which encourages the team to strive for excellence in our services and in urging always to do better. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You have to have low expectations to want to stay here. Curtains hanging off, room smelled of mould, the staff's response was to offer room freshener spray ! It resembled a very poor quality, damp youth hostel, I'd avoid it at all costs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22LBB
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and I am disappointed to hear of your negative experience at the resort. With regard to your comment on our room smelling of mould, I must highlight the fact that all our rooms are well ventilated and very seldomly we get complaints like these. I have had the opportunity to check...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was more than comfortable for me after a number for nights camping - It was a bit confusing checking in via the Bar where the Staff were stretched by severing patrons and checking people into accom but among a little chaos it got sorted (normal check in for the Hostel/ Inn must close before 6pm) The facilities for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip advisor. My team and I are delighted to have such great feedback from you. It is feedback from our prestigious guests which encourages the team to strive for excellence in our services and in urging always to do better. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Wow where do you start here!? Key points of our stay - dirty, dated and poor facilities - Unfriendly abrupt and at times abusive staff - disgusting bathrooms - oh and bedbugs My advice is to avoid this place at ALL COSTS its not worth your own self respect to stay here. READ ON if you want an entertaining story...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip C
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor user, KINDLY DONOT POST THE SAME COMMENTS FROM DIFFERENT IDs. Kindly read the answer to your fake allegations that I have given in the previous review. And we will be sending you the bill shortly for destroying our hostel by getting bed bugs.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
342 reviews
16.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
374 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: RM165 - RM382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Fieka, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that faces the car park - it may be less mouldy”
 of 5 bubbles 22LBB, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early in the high season”
 of 5 bubbles normanh414, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“superb location, multiple activities like skydiving nearby, a serene place”
 of 5 bubbles muzzammilb2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 33 which is a private room with ensuite as it was in the end we only had one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles 186lisam186, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5