We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at the Motel on New Year's Eve and never heard a sound Fantastic We love peace and quiet The Motel is modern and the staff are friendly and helpful We booked the two bedroom unit as we were travelling with my aged mother The unit was clean and had plenty of room for us all Will definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stegeb
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were in a two bedroom unit here and we found it very comfortable. Our unit was small but lovely, very clean and excellent wifi. The views from our room were outstanding and we had no issues whatsoever with our stay, everything went very smoothly from check in to check out. We will be back in Fox Glacier in future...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GwagFunk
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best motel I've ever experienced: clean, comfortable, modern decor. Floor to ceiling windows allow plenty of natural lighting and a serene scenery of green lawn and trees in the backyard, set against the backdrop of glacial mountains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quyen L
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here. - kitchenette available so you can do some cooking (there is a book in the room that has rules stated regarding cooking and washing up after so do read that or risk facing cleaning charges) - room/bathroom is dated - great views when the skies are clear - had encounters with moths at night and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snll88
Bolton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two nights in a clean, comfortable room with very helpful owners. Lots of advice as as to where to eat and visit. Walking distance to restaurants and bars too. I'd have no problem in recommending this place to you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjmbilly
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Spent two nights here. Nice, clean, comfortable room. Decent sized bathroom. Quiet location. Nice, small in-room kitchenette. Friendly owners. Nice small patios facing the mountains. Great place to stay, close to town. Go into town, get a to-go pizza, and sit outside with a bottle of wine and enjoy the sunset on the mountains. Only gripe would be the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We spent 2 nights here; the room was adequate, with small kitchenette. Bathroom small but adequate. This is a Motel and is not pretending to be anything else. The position is fine - it is a short drive into the small township, so is quiet, which is an advantage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureen056
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Nice comfy bed, complete with electric blanket. Well set up kitchenette, including coffee percolator. Good heater in room, plus in bathroom. Fabulous views. Just outside township so lovely and peaceful. Most enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We booked this Motel only to be charged 20% after cancellation because they have 'fine print' that says 20% will be charged and kept even though the website we used said free cancellation. As I explained to the owner, the change was done immedietly as we had to change plans after the terrible earthquake. I also explained that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olcayozcelik
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

So as threatened by you here is the "shi*iest" review ever that you told us you would write. So let's get to the real story.... You had booked 3 rooms under Booking.com where the cancellation policy is clearly written and also on your confirmation that there is a 20% non-refundable deposit. This was also emailed to you shortly after your...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Just a one night stay - room was clean. Nothing special but likewise nothing bad. We booked room at the last minute so price was higher than I would have expected for this level of motel. So other than price all was fine

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vern D

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.8 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
155 reviews
1.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
329 reviews
0.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,002 reviews
1.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: RM344 - RM906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a mountain view”
  • View from patio
 of 5 bubbles paulmE7674AM, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The east-facing rooms probably have a nicer outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles maureen056, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
 of 5 bubbles n6ta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view but get up early anyway and catch the sunrise as well as the sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles Liney1966, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please do not stay as they charge your card after stay for cleaning etc”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay