We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Terrace Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Terrace Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed as a couple with a friend. The bigger bedroom was small so had to leave our luggage in the living room. Our friends room had two singles so it was ok. The staff where very friendly and welcoming, they even dropped fresh scones around to every room. The town is small and it's located at the heart of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aideen B
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Aideen Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have a variety of 2 bedroom options and I think the one you stayed in the the one with the smallest bedroom - although it does have a built in wardrobe. If you are coming back via our website...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which we found to be very clean and comfortable. We could see that the family-run property was well cared for. Staff, including cleaning staff were very helpful and friendly. They are happy to book tours for customers. The apartment had modern touches including new carpets and a new couch that had a funny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeybee191
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Honeybee191 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us in the future (for our best prices please book on our website). We hope the rest of your holiday went well. Regards Logan

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were extremely pleased with The Terrace Motel. The friendly staff and comfortable rooms were a delight. The bed was awesome and the bathroom and small kitchenette were ample for our short stay. The motel is a short walk from the small town center and made getting around easy. The restaurant adjacent has fantastic, generous meals in a warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danae L
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Danae Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The team and I try very hard to make guests stays enjoyable to it is great to get this feedback. We hope you are able to stay with us again (book direct on our site for the best price) and had a great holiday. Regards Logan

Bristol
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No major issues here. Clean, comfortable and central with friendly staff. Our only complaint here, and it's not entirely their fault...be very careful following their recommendations for places to eat in town. One particular place they recommended, we would not return to (see separate review).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank japitts
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Japitts Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed our location. I am sorry you did not enjoy one of the many local restaurants, we normally get very good feedback from the places we suggest to guests. I am sorry you did not...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Idyllic surroundings, wonderful view. Clean rooms, toilets and lenin. Very helpful staff. Cooking arrangement in the room as well as grill arrangement outside. Small market and restaurants available nearby. Stayed two nights 28th, 29th Dec16 rooms 17 and 14. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raj1322
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Raj Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us. We hope the rest of your holiday went well and you are able to come back one day (for our best rates book on our website). Regards Logan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy walk to restaurants and shops. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had a kitchen, bathroom two bedrooms and a sofa bed in the living area. Everything was clean and neat. Management came around one wet cold evening with a basket of freshly baked scones and jam. Lovely touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your holiday went well and you are able to stay with us again in the future. Regards Logan

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Franz Josef is a very small town and the motel is perfectly placed with excellent restaurants in walking distance. We stayed for 2 nights in a king studio. We were given loads of info plus discount vouchers on check in which was all really useful, and I really liked the suggestions for where to go after Franz Josef as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LM82
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi LM82 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team and I are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The room you stayed is our smallest room although as you say it is still large compared to many rooms - all our other even larger rooms have 2 hotplates and microwave in them for cooking....

Cessnock, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location. Literally 5 min walk to everything including glow worm caves ,hot springs and all the bars and restaurants. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which had a well equipped kitchen- only negative was the sofa bed was uncomfortable ( but that's not unusual . Good price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nursenancy2013
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The team and I are happy to hear you generally enjoyed your stay and found the price competitive. I am not sure which date you stayed but during December we have replaced all our sofa beds with brand new sofa beds - although I agree these will never be as...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice little motel! Good reception service! Rooms good size, clean, comfy bed, very functional. Walk 5 mins to centre of town for shops, pubs, restaurants etc. Franz Joseph is only a small place so not a lot to see and do other than the Glacier! 5 mins drive up to the Glacier car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parkdale-Beach
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The team and I are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Generally guests find they don't have enough time to do all that is on offer here which is why we offer a discount for people staying two or more nights on our website. (If anyone else is...

Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, a little dark because there is no window in the living room. Kitchenette well equipped. Bathroom with shower. Parking in front of apartment. Wifi does not support larger downloads.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebcio
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have two of the fastest wifi connections in the town although at peak times the entire towns wifi slows significantly as everyone is uploading photos of their days activities. I hope the rest of your holiday went well. Regards Logan

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
993 reviews
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
291 reviews
0.1 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
581 reviews
0.2 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM339 - RM1,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Terrace Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with views of mount cook spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles nursenancy2013, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not a big place so all rooms OK!”
 of 5 bubbles Parkdale-Beach, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room will be ok”
 of 5 bubbles Ferdy1944, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 17, Mountain View Studio room, really great view and very large room.”
 of 5 bubbles NelsonSunlovers, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“End unit had the mountain views.”
 of 5 bubbles 876mandyl, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay