We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Franz Alpine Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Franz Alpine Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Franz Alpine Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Personal contact from management excellent, very friendly and helpful. Amenities first class. Clean, comfortable and fresh. Would thoroughly recommend this Motel if staying in the beautiful Franz Joseph area. Just a short drive to the Glaciers and Lake Mathieson.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ossie551
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we welcome you back as our guest at any time in the future. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday.

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Nice big comfortable Chalets close to town but far enough away to be quiet. Host, Mel and Nigel are great, very friendly and helpful with heaps of local and overall knowledge. Chalets are very well appointed and most have a great view.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rfforbes
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we welcome you back as our guest at any time in the future. The views and peacefulness of our retreat are truly worth the 4 min drive out of the township. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. Regards

Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night here and would recommend. Although a couple of minutes out of town this presented no issue for us as we had our car but also many of the restaurants in town offer a courtesy service. The rooms were clean, comfy bed, decent size kitchen and excellent wifi. The hosts were also spot on with their recommendation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingBrissyGirl
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we welcome you back as our guest at any time in the future. We are delighted to hear you got to enjoy the Hot Pools as they are very relaxing and the best time to go is when its raining. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. Regards

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The apartment was good, it rained the whole time we visited so it was nice to be able to relax and cook there. My only little irks where that there needs to be more heaters and in general they could do with a little spruce up.... But overall, it was a great little place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngieRussell
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As we took over 1 year ago, this has been our main priority and We are currently in the process of upgrading the heaters in the rooms and refurbishing in the new year. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We had the end chalet. I think this was a bonus because the view out the window was uninterrupted. It had two bedrooms with a large loungeroom, full kitchen, verandah out the front and very comfy bed. It was very clean, modern with everything you could want to spend a day or two in the area. We only had one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flossygirl
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed the Room we choose for you. It does have a lovely view of the snow capped mountains and makes you feel very relaxed. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday in NZ Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We expected very simple and was very surprised. The 2 bedroom chalet was perfect for what we wanted (a base) the owners were great. We were jumping late due to weather and this wasn't a problem. It is just out of town but they can sort a pick up for u to go to town at night and the bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth190381
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take the Electric Blankets off during summer to protect them but make sure they are on for the guests over Winter. Glad that you enjoyed your meals out and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We were recommended this place by family who had stayed there before. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely two bedroom villa for two nights which was warm enough despite the cold temperatures outside. They had great recommendations for dinner and were able to give us a voucher for a discount on a helicopter trip up the glacier! unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna M
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is just as beautiful in the Winter as well as the Summer. Sorry you didnt get to enjoy the Helicopter, just means you will have to come back and see us again. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

What a great place- from the moment we arrived we knew we had found the perfect spot for what we were looking for.... Quiet, peacefull, clean, lovely chalets and all of this only 4 mins drive from town. The chalets were nice and warm on a cold wintery evening. We were also brought an amazing cooked breakfast the next morning-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanja C
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have just started offering Full Cooked Breakfast so glad that you liked them. We hope you enjoy your holiday and look forward to accommodating you in the future Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

We found this place through a booking website and thought that we were getting a really good deal at the discounted price, to be fair it was what it was worth, certainly not full tariffs. The cottages are clean and well presented but pretty bland, just a little touch would make such a difference and being slightly out of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lathy
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and find that the majority of our guests like being out of the township, and a 4 min drive is just still close enough to be able to enjoy the area without the noise and hussle of town. We hope you enjoy your remainder of time...

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

Very well equiped cottages, real cozy with very good services. The owners are very nice persons and really caring. I recommend to stay here. We've enjoyed our stay here. The place is well maintained, seems relatively new. It is not far from franz josef city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a lovely spot to unwind and relax after travelling. Enjoy your remainder time in our beautiful country. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.8 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,090 reviews
3.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,302 reviews
0.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
3.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
645 reviews
3.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM509 - RM1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Franz Alpine Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Franz Alpine Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins were built so that you could see the view. All accessible with car parked at side.”
  • Thius was the view from the lounge window
 of 5 bubbles HazelH36, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We showed up unannounced and got a good deal so; do you chance it or not to book or wing it???? LOl.”
 of 5 bubbles maxannie, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early and enjoy the peace and quiet and the views”
 of 5 bubbles C7824UVjohnn, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This was a hotel but motel units.”
 of 5 bubbles BeverleyW186, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 has great views from the living room.”
 of 5 bubbles 638beccag, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5