We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Hotels.comUS$123*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
Start your review of Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
 Click to rate
Mumbai
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travel more than 120 days a year and have stayed at various properties in more than 250 cities across the globe but i have never felt the urge of rating a hotel so low. I assure that this is one of the worst experience i have had with any hotel. FIRST AND FOREMOST - PLEASE AVOID STAYING HERE. I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hamzapatel
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hamzapatel, Being accused of racism and unprofessional behaviour towards our guests is something I do not take lightly. Especially if there is no real reason for making such unqualified accusations. 3 of the 4 hotel duty managers you have interacted with during your stay are from India as well so I doubt that you can call them racists towards...

Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had 1 night here. Although the bed was very soft the room was very clean and well appointed. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The food in the restaurant was amazing. We would recommend the Scenic Hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbz2016
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear debbz2016, Thank you for your kind review of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. It is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in the Glacier Country region. A special thank you for especially pointing out your good dining experience you had while with us. Yours sincerely, Alexander

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

When we arrived we was met by Suresh to a nice warm smiling welcome with a free room Upgrade on our two day stay Wi Fi was very good, as was Breakfast and room service. The room was spacious and adequate. Many Thanks Craig

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJTM45
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CJTM45, Thank you for your review and for pointing out one of specially pointing out one of our guest service superstars. Suresh will be really pleased to hear that he left a long-lasting positive impression on you and made your stay even more enjoyable. Once again, thank you and please stay in touch. Best regards, Alexander

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Grand Pacific tour. The rooms are average with room safety box and free wifi. The dinner and breakfast were satisfactory and adequate. Fraz Josef is a very small town and everything is within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1globetrotter16
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1globetrotter16, Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us as part of the Grand Pacific tour group. Pleasing to hear that you have found your stay at the hotel comfortable and satisfactory. I wish you all the very best for your further travels through beautiful New Zealand. Yours sincerely, Alexander

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely view - very average room service dinner and breakfast. Room was supposed to be a 'superior' room in the Douglas Wing but unsure as to what made this better than other rooms as I was situated right next to the walkway (thus noisy). Good location. Nice welcome (thanks Suresh) and a couple of extremely helpful staff members who assisted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kallia63
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kallia63, Thank you for sending us your feedback of the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. it is pleasing to hear that you would recommend us to users due to the hotels location and the helpfulness of our staff. Something we are extremely proud of. However, sorry that your overall stay was overshadowed by noise from other guests. Something we...

Guangzhou, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a very comfortable hotel with good service, friendly staff. The township of franz josef is tiny but beautiful, the hotel is just located in the center of the town, we are very happy about the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank selenasong123
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear selenasong123, It is very pleasing to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would not hesitate to recommend us to others. Your feedback is apprechiated! Thank you. Alexander

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Franz Josef is a small town and apart from the mountains and forest walks there's not a lot else there, which for many will be a very good thing. The hotel is right in the centre with great views of the mountains. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The bar and restaurant prices were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey T
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey T, Many thanks for posting a review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor.com page. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the remoteness of the Franz Josef Glacier village. Thank you also for especially pointing out the helpfulness of our staff. Your kind review is apprechiated. Best regards, Alexander

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent service by Mick and Cindy. lovely ambience in the restaurant and amazing food. well done team :) Blazing fire by the bar is an awesome spot for a pinot noir while waiting for dinner reservations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Filo B
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Filo B, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. It is pleasing to see that you have truly enjoyed your time with us. Please stay in touch and visit again. Best wishes for the future. Regards, Alexander

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were scheduled to stay at the Te Waonui Forest Retreat, but our ATT Kings Tour Director said it had just recently closed it business. Maybe it's just closed for this time of year (low season)?, as the website is still up and running when I checked today. It was listed as a 5-star hotel. This substitute is a 4-star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 339gregoryh
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 339gregoryh, Thank you for putting pen to paper and sharing your review with the wider TripAdvisor.com community. I appreciate the positive comments on your recent stay with us. Please stay in touch any visit again. Best regards, Alexander

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at franz joseph , incredible views of the glazier, lovely room , very clean , nice breakfast , friendly staff , great service . Close to everything. Wonderful place to stay , highly recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank indicatboss
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this review

Dear indicatboss, Thank you for putting pen to paper and sending us your review. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Alexander

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,147 reviews
0.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
344 reviews
0.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
39.2 km away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM364 - RM1,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the food is not that great”
selenasong123, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view”
geoffreyt510, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“choose rooms on the 100 or 200 level for beautiful views of the glacier”
filob951, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms may provide a bit more privacy, but no elevator service.”
  • Love the built-in bench area. Great place for our luggage!
  • Very comfortable beds. Wish I had more nights here!
339gregoryh, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra few dollars for the incredible view , well worth it .”
indicatboss, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$126
Hotwire.comUS$122
Expedia.comUS$122
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates