We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Start your review of Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
 Click to rate
Mangonui, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived here after a long days driving. The man in reception was very friendly and welcoming. Check in was quick and easy and when we were shown our villa we were blown away by the view. The living room had sliding glass doors which looked straight up into the mountains and there was a small patio area with table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, thanks for the great comments, we try hard to keep the villa at a good standard

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the second destination of our honeymoon right after Christchurch. It's a wonderful six hour drive from Christchurch to Franz Josef via Arthur Pass. The route is filled up with scenery and natural beauty and it's a real retreat to the eyes. Just before 3 kilometres before reaching Franz Josef, on the left hand side, you will find these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srikanthbharadwaj
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, on a fine day the scenery around here is pretty fantastic

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived mid afternoon a greeted by a charming gentleman. Having booked in he showed us to our villa which was just across the road from the Reception Office. On entry we were met by a vast living area with two settees & occasional table together with a table a four chairs. An off shoot of the living area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 585Rodney585
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Rodney, thanks for posting your comments on here. I hope your extra trip back to Haast yesterday wasn't to tiring, and so far we haven't found anything left behind.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for 1 night only as it was pouring and our scenic flights got cancelled so we surrendered the second night due to very average accommodations. No place to eat in there and nearest eating joints are 2-3 kms away . check in closes early so no help in getting any info too. Broken sofas and smelly carpets in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puzzy28
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Puzzy28, I think that you have posted this on the wrong Motel. 1. We dont have portable heaters in our villas, they are all heated by way of heat pump. 2. All of our sofas have recently been recovered and definitely are not broken. 3. If you arrived after 8.00pm and the reception was closed all you had to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit which had a lovely feel with high ceilings and plenty of room in the main living areas. The weather was extremely cold and wet while we were there but the unit was comfy, warm and dry. The shower was hot and powerful. The car port enabled us to move from car to unit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, thanks for the safety tip, we do have anther option that we offer families with small people to secure the window.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked two nights just in case of bad weather at Glenfern in a semi detached villa as we were going on the helicopter ride to the glacier. We were lucky with the weather for our ride but easily managed to fill the whole day with a walk to the glacier face (about one hour from the car park). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland_Pauline
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Roland, thanks for taking the time to post your comments on here.

Brighton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having been in hotels for weeks it was lovely to have a neat fully functional kitchen and do our own thing. The one bed villa was a good size and had a great view of snowy mountain tops around the glacier (clouds permitting). Nice lounge with opening glass wall to patio with small table and two chairs (Gas BBQ can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E8887TZmartinp
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for posting on here, we try hard to maintain a good standard.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great concept, individual villas, we only had 1 night there but wished it could have been more. The large lounge and kitchenette were excellently furnished to a high standard. It was so nice to have a couple of sofas and a DVD a home from home. Lots of restaurants 5 minutes drive down the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Dianne, Thanks for your review. We try hard to think of most things a person on holiday might need. Kevin

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very well thought out new hotel. Large living room with nice kitchen. The bathroom was quite big but lacked counter space as seems to be quite common in New Zealand. Staff were helpful, if not outgoing. Distance from town and lack of sidewalks made walking into town an non-option for us. The front desk arranged for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DubsterThe
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Dubster, Unfortunately everyone wants a view of the mountains, but only having 6 facing the hills it makes it hard to accommodate everyone's wishes.

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a beautiful 2 bedroom villa that looked out over the mountains. It was quite spacious. There are farm animals on the property that you can feed and add to the feel of a very cozy spot. The hosts Kevin and Fern are fantastic! Kevin went way out of his way to help us when one of our tours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank indiana1231
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Gidday Indiana1231, thanks for those great comments, we try to do this sort of thing for everyone. Im glad you enjoyed your stay.

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,039 reviews
1.1 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
308 reviews
2.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.3 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,268 reviews
2.7 km away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM559 - RM964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenfern Villas Franz Josef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a cottage with a view of the glacier. But if it's bad weather, you may not get to see much.”
 of 5 bubbles bullman99, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Carry some food as it is about 2 kms away from nearest grocery or town.”
 of 5 bubbles GandhiFamily, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check that they have resolved their water issues before booking”
 of 5 bubbles 354fionam, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesB218, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the back facing the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaMadness9909, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5