We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 439: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Accomodation was decent though the pic on the website makes it look a lot nicer than reality. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment and had the view that overlooked the glacier which was nice. However, our experience was soured tremendously as all the units were affected by a lack of water supply from the first morning onwards. The owners did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Santhou
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Im sorry that your stay with us was not up to our usual standard. Our water supply as I explained to you at the time comes from a fresh spring in the hills behind Glenfern Villas and the fact that the pumps weren't playing the game was out of our hands. As you said i did my best to get...

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We had a comfortable apartment no complaints at all. Best feature was the 'wildlife'. Very friendly alpacas and sheep to feed! The two people we saw in their office were both really helpful too. And after dark the stars were amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ieb1
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, our housekeeping staff do their best to keep the villas in great condition, and yes the stars here at night are fantastic.

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay at this villa!! Nice bedroom, kitchen, and living room! We had very nice views just from our villa and also enjoyed feeding the sheep and alpaca there as well. Staff was helpful in recommending restaurants and other activities to do in Franz Josef!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, those sheep and Alpaca are getting very fat with all the feed they are given.

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in a villa at this location. The owner was extremely helpful with information about local attractions and dining options. The villa was very large and comfortable, with a full kitchen and sitting area, and a separate bedroom. It was great to have room to spread out after a long drive. We would definitely return to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foreranger
South Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked easily online.Well priced nice rural location about 3km north of Franz township. Very tidy location rooms well fitted out with nice amenities very comfortable bed. Friendly and knowledgeable manager.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greetch
Tokyo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tranquil location just off the main drag of Franz Josef. No restaurants nearby which means you have to drive or eat at one of the restaurants that has a pick-up service (Blue Ice, Tiger King and The Landing). Two rooms in a single villa so lots of privacy. Rooms very spacious and adequately equipped. Best part are the three alpacas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurosaki_Ichigo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Mesmerising location (also, well out of the town centre - though small but having constant helicopters flying above and tourists buzzing) with fantastic views of the range and glacier, makes you want to not leave the cleverly positioned sofa. Large windows in the Scandinavian style cottages are helping a lot with that. Very well made, rooms are stylish, modern and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaandBen
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Glenfern Villas is just outside of town, which gives it the incredible mix of being near dining and other amenities plus far enough away to feel secluded. We stayed in No. 8, which was beautifully decorated. The thoughtful staff, including Santana, made us feel at home. Star-gazing is excellent, and the proximity to many outdoor activities is excellent. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACR_Chicago
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Reviewed 2 November 2016

My car was impounded by the police at hotikiki because I did not followed the traffic rules so we had to take a taxi and we ended up paying 200 USD for the taxi. Finally we reached glen fern vilas and the old couple was amazing where she organised our next day bus to Wanaka and she organised a our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akshay P
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Glenfern for one night and it was pleasant, with good heating (essential as the weather was miserable), comfy beds and excellent water pressure in the shower. The service was very helpful upon check in with lots of recommendations on where to eat and activities during the wet weather. Overall good option if in Franz Josef and don't mind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teri B

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
945 reviews
1.1 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
282 reviews
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
554 reviews
2.3 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
2.5 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#5 of 14 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM716 - RM941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenfern Villas Franz Josef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesB218, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room in the back facing the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles MargaritaMadness9909, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All villas have good location”
 of 5 bubbles elizabeths530, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the complex to get the best views of the glacier.”
 of 5 bubbles 414lesleec, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin away from the main road, with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Linoliv, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay