We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glacier View Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glacier View Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of Glacier View Motel
 Click to rate
texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You never know when you book online whether you made the right decision on where to stay. No worries booking Glacier View. We drove our car right up to the room and settled in. Our room had a mini kitchen with all the things we needed to make a snack and pack a lunch for the next day. Glacier View...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wwjd1947
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although this could be considered a 'budget' motel, I could find no fault with the room or the location of the motel. Check-in took about 4 minutes. The room (15) was large and clean. When we arrived it was raining heavily. I was able to reverse the car almost to the door and under cover to unload bags. The motel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Arrived to a friendly welcome. The room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The bed was comfortable and the lounge area lacked nothing. A really enjoyable stay. Would recommend both short or longer stay for exploring the area. Car needed for getting to nearest shops

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann m
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

This is a very basic travel motel with decent clean rooms but no ambience as it sits alongside the main highway going into town. It is a 15-20 min walk to town. They advertise free wifi which is really false advertising as connectivity is very poor. They give you a bunch of access codes to keep trying as one might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

It was a motel I was so glad to come across, it had the comforts of home,clean,fully self contained. The wee fault I found was no curtains in the bathroom for security and privacy other than that tops my list will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterDavidMana11
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for commenting on your stay here with us. Glad we were able to provide all you required and look forward to your return. Hope you had a safe journey after leaving us.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I have mixed feelings about Glacier View Motel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and quiet despite conjoint structure of the motel. Even though the motel is on outskirts of Franz Josef (about 15 min walk from there), some bars/restaurants in town offer a pick up/drop off service. Yet, the room felt a bit damp and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fea319
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We have been experiencing the wettest summer on record so all our efforts re the moist atmosphere in the rooms is quickly undone with the next downpour. Sandflies enjoy this type of weather however and do like to share your company . While we do not have Sky our Freeview system does offer...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

My wife and I stayed here for a night as a mid-point after a long drive from Nelson on the way to Queenstown. The location is great considering you're only a few minutes from the Franz Josef town and glacier walk. The room was fine, clean, and tidy. My complaints are that the WiFi was very unstable and didn't work...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark H
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay at Glacier View and glad you had a comfortable stay.To reply to the issues you encountered: Wifi can be challenging in this area due to our location, provider and usage at the time. We endeavour to maintain the system at all times but obviously fell short of your expectations. The TV system is Free View...

Leeuwarden
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed just 1 night in this motel. Room is more apartment style. Bathroom is small. Only a shower which is fine to us. No bath & bodyproducts are provided. Kitchen provides coffee and tea facilities.We did not make any food. The room was simple but clean and nothing special. It was o.k for 1 night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dian W
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. Unsure of your room type but all rooms, bar 1,have kitchen facilities including microwave, fridge, toaster, jug, hotplates and cooking gear. Room 4 is more limited with no hotplate but certainly has enough equipment to prepare a simple meal. All bathroom cupboards contain towels, face cloths, extra toilet roll, soap sachets,shampoo sachets, air...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Travelled by road from Christchurch to Franz Josef. Lots of scenery along the way to stop and photograph. Arrived late afternoon in Franz Josef. This accommodation is on the outskirts of the town which is lovely if you are looking for quiet, as the town hums with activity around the restaurants, etc. The rooms are self-catering with fridge, microwave, kettle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
glacierviewmotel, Manager at Glacier View Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here with us. Glad to read you found everything you required for a comfortable stay, hope you managed to see the Glacier and had a safe journey for the rest of your road trip.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with friends whilst visiting the Franz Jozef glacier. We had a two bedroom lodge with shared bathroom. Clean and comfortable accommodation, helpful and friendly staff. Well equipped kitchen, laundry facilities on site. Free wifi but restricted to 500 mb. Restaurants in Franz Jozef, about a 10 minute drive. Nothing luxurious but clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izy60

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,295 reviews
1.9 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,089 reviews
2.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.2 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
233 reviews
1.6 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Glacier View Motel

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM300 - RM668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glacier View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier View Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glacier View Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Glacier View Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 15 was designated wheelchair friendly and was quite large.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianC374, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are of good quality”
 of 5 bubbles annmI6853RY, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“One of the rooms furthest from the road is best”
 of 5 bubbles sarah14387, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid number 16”
 of 5 bubbles Jenniw430, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want good WiFi ask for a room closer to reception”
 of 5 bubbles EricC42, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5