We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 282: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms are very spacious, with kitchenette - sink, fridge, microwave, hot plate, crockery and cutlery. It has sitting space and a table to eat at. The bathroom has a room heater which was perfect after a rainy day. The beds are comfortable and the room clean. The location is very central and the staff were friendly and helpful. Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked into this motel after a six hour drive from Christchurch so we're looking for somewhere comfortable to have a good nights rest, we were not disappointed. We had a very cosy comfortable room with all the amenities. The location was great just a short stroll from restaurants and bars. Value was also second to none.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek P
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Thanks for your really positive feedback. It really makes our day! I hope you enjoyed your travels south. Kindly Adam, Tonia and Christine.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here when my original hotel had been double booked. Tonya at the front desk was efficient and very helpful at making suggestions for eating and shopping. The room was perfectly adequate. Clean. Large comfortable bed. Hot shower. Basic kitchen facilities. I ordered continental breakfast the night before and everything was in my fridge when I returned from dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimS48
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, a very comfortable stay. The room is a little small, but we weren't in it very much, so that didn't matter. Very helpful front desk staff. Easy walking distance to the Glacier Pools and King Tiger restaurant, plus the main drag of town. Also easy walking distance to the Callery Gorge Trail. Our only real complaint is that our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jel172
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bella Vista Motel offers a first class budget accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful and check in was painless. The room only was clean , spacious and provided a large king size bed , heating with self catering facilities. Recommend it to all those with a limited budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Adam H, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks for staying with us while in Franz. I'm pleased you felt that we had all the important things covered for your stay. Cheers Adam

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Room was quite good and very clean. Service was also great. The woman at the front desk gave us very good locations and places to visit during our stay and it is quite convenient. There is a few restaurants next door and a supermarket down the road. Overall, it was quite a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheKoolKid
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Great location and helpful staff are the best things about this motel. Staff were great. For the price ($300 2nts) we expected just a bit more. As other have mentioned, the noise from the plumbing is terrible. We were in room 7, which is obscured by stairs, very pokey in all areas i.e. The room itself and bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GregWA
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was great. The motel is very central and walking distance from everything you need. The reception staff were lovely, upon arrival they gave us a map and a quick run down of everything in franz josef as well as let us know of some events that were happening. The room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kali F
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Kali, Thanks for the time you took to send us your feedback following your stay with us at Franz Josef Glacier The town map sure is a handy tool. Everyone gets one! We have reviewed the way we have our new heaters set up prior to arrivial so all going well they will be easy to switch on for...

New Zealand
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A very good ground floor room. Very clean, comfortable bed. Location is excellent just off the main street and therefore quieter. Very pleasant reception . Good advice given for dining out. Plenty of parking available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominie27
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for stopping with us while at Franz. I'm pleased you found the bed comfortabel! Although our mattresses are all pretty new I invested in a set of very comfy padded mattress toppers which complement the firm mattress very well. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindly Adam

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This place was well priced, clean and friendly. It's well located, but the town is small so you're really good almost anywhere. They offer free DVDs. The laundry room has detergent and a cup of coins available to use.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegRose11213
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Meg, Yes our central village location does make for a easy stay in the village. Glad you enjoyed the night in with a DVD. The loca movie theatre in Franz has recentally re opened (Alpine Cenema) and they have soem recent release movies palying on their gigantic screen. Cheers Adam

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
947 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
3.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
554 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: RM405 - RM927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have any heavy cases ask for ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles JimS48, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 13 lets in a lot of light throughout the night because of ineffective blinds”
 of 5 bubbles jel172, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did have to use the steps but they are nice wide easy steps so not really a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 931aileenr, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have some good views of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles Holidays1023, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Second floor offers the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles DebraM791, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay