We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sanbis Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gizo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sanbis Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sanbis Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

I took a short break at the Sanbis Resort and was not disappointed! I flew in from Honiara and was met at the airport by the hotel staff and set off a short distance by boat to the resort. The staff made me feel very welcome and I was met with a drink on arrival. I had only intended to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank visitorfromAus
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We would never go there again. The owner doesnt seem to do much. The staff seem to run the resort without him. We had no greeting on arrival. The SB bar was full of chain smokers including the owner, the floors were dirty and covered in dog hair as two dogs are allowed to roam the resort and you always...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Angel94traveler
HansGizo, Owner at Sanbis Resort, responded to this review

Dear Angel Your story reminds me of the Episode with Basil Fawlty, Manuel and Basil the Rat. Obviously, you haven’t had a good time with us and I am truly sorry for that! We seem to please almost all guests but can’t win them all and… regardless, I totally respect your opinion about us, except, may I say, the two...

sydney australia
Reviewed 26 June 2015

This is our first ever holiday in the Solomon Islands. We were looking for a well run resort and the brief was "a luxury place where you could wake up and snorkel off the pier in pristine water". Thanks to Hans and his team, we were made to feel right at home and nothing was too much trouble. Our family...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sydneysider789
Australia
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I spent the day here after catching the early staff boat out to the resort. Great staff, thank you Samantha. Timmie makes the best woodfired pizzas in Solomon Islands. It was a wonderful relaxing day for me just lounging around. A definite must do for someone seeking a quiet child-free retreat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBAustralia
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Quite similar to Fatboys Resort, which is five minutes away by boat, Sanbis is a little newer and of the two the key differences are 1. Sanbis has awesome pizzas on the menus and food is slightly cheaper and 2. Sanbis also offers diving from the resort instead of needing an outside supplier. The bungalow I stayed in was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TravBugTV
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

We visited Sanbis twice for dinner during an 8 day trip to Gizo diving with a group from Sydney. Arriving at the island resort and stepping off the boat onto the pontoon bar and restaurant is like stepping into heaven. They coped with our group of 16 with ease by limiting the menu to the best pizza ever. The lobster,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HellieD_12
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Hans was a great host. We didn't stay at the resort but visited there 3 times during our dive trip. The generous hospitality is only surpassed by the taste of the great pizzas😁. After a tour if the resort and one of the waterfront rooms it's clear in my mind we would stay there on our next travels to Solomon's....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lawrence S
Canton of Valais, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 November 2014

The service was excellent. We were picked up from Gizo airport by the staff in a comfortable boat. We didn't have to wait around for them. They were there when we got off the plane. They carried our bags and made sure our elderly got on the boat safely. The welcome was low key but very genuine. We were given...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank NaolaNaola
Reviewed 16 October 2014

My husband and my 22 year old daughter and myself just spent 2weeks at Sanbis resort a true paradise in every way. Not once were we stuck for anything to do. If you love adventure stunning water and have time to get to know the local islanders you will love all that Sanbis has to offer. I will never forget...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kim T
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Wife & I just loved this place. We agree with all comments from Fiona J, SharonJB, and Topleaf. Snorkelling right off the bar boat landing was FANTASTIC. Hans (Owner) has grown/placed some huge clams around there as well as sunk a tuna trawler 7 years ago for your exploration (video links may be on Sanbis website). Eel, cowery shell, seahorse,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim R

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gizo
0.0 km away
Imagination Island
Imagination Island
#2 of 3 in Gizo
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
77 reviews
0.0 km away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
#1 of 7 in Honiara
264 reviews
0.0 km away
Agnes Lodge
Agnes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Munda
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Total Exclusivity! Located on a secluded island approximately 7 minutes from Gizo by boat, Sanbis Resort offers premier accommodation with each bungalow having its own private beach; ensuite with hot water and a stunning view across the lagoon. The number of bungalows has been limited to six to ensure privacy and luxury for guests. You will be spoilt in every way possible. The resort boasts a gourmet kitchen with a fully stocked bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanbis Resort

Address: Mbabanga Island | Western Province, Gizo, Ghizo Island 1100, Solomon Islands
Region: Solomon Islands > Ghizo Island > Gizo
Price Range: RM885 - RM3,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sanbis Hotel Gizo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanbis Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sanbis Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All eco huts are alike & all are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles scoota09boota481, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“The bungalows needed some TLC”
 of 5 bubbles 348gails, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were on the water and spaced for privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles cindyvs2016, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Just go. They are a all great.”
 of 5 bubbles twoshirts, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Bungalows 2-5 or the Lodge are best bets”
 of 5 bubbles Christina092470, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5