We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Metropolitan Inn

Hotels.comUS$76*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$89*
US$76*
US$89*
US$89*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Metropolitan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Start your review of Metropolitan Inn
 Click to rate
San Francisco
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was standard and clean enough. And they allowed our dog for a reasonable fee. Comfy beds too. But it was dated and it showed its age. Worst problem was location. Homeless in parking lot and next door at the gas station. We really didn't feel that safe. Not gonna return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travels-From-SF
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located about 10 minutes walk from downtown. Clean, comfortable room and bed, though rooms a bit dated .Chilled water available from cooler in reception. Continental breakfast with fruit. and reception staff helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinty_7
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jinty_7, Thank you for your review and feedback. We do hope to see you again soon!. Best Regards, Chet Culmer

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

The room was spacious, cleaned, the bed was very comfortable, and the motel attendant was super nice. The location was great for sure seeing. Unfortunately, the Wi-Fi did not work and their breakfasts was very limited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carroll W
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Carroll W, Thank you for your feedback. I am working with the owner to make the needed improvements to make our guest experience better. We do hope to see you again. Best Regards, Chet Culmer GM

Boston, Mass
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

The location is convenient and the bed was great however the rooms need a refresh badly. After a long day of traveling I checked in and asked about the internet access and was told it worked throughout the property. I unpacked everything and turned on my computer and could not get internet access. After several attempts I went to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimOBoston_Mass
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello TimOBoston_Mass, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry we fell short for some of your needs. The next time you are in the area we would love a chance to serve you again. Our entire staff will do as they always do and go the extra mile to try to make your experience better than the...

Scotts Valley CA
Reviewed 15 March 2017

After finishing the main objectives of our road trip, we started on the long road home. At this point our lodging requirements are pretty simple – clean, decent location, not too expensive. Having breakfast included is not a deal breaker as long as there is a microwave oven / refrigerator / coffee maker. I was a bit apprehensive about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKD
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello JKD, Thank you for our very thorough review and feedback. We do hope you will come through Salt Lake City again and stay with us. We intend to upgrade and remodel a little at a time to improve our guest experience. Best Regards, Chet Culmer GM

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Not so great. The Temperpedic beds were not very comfortable with some kind of cardboard stiff mattress pad under a thin sheet. No blankets whatsoever. Just a sheet and thin bedspread. The bathroom was dirty with dirt in most cracks and crevices in the tile. The heater was not on a normal thermostat so it was super hard to adjust...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLS
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello SuzanneLS, Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate you were unable to sleep in health and comfort on our Cloud 9 tempur-pedic beds. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future and communicate to the front desk any issues you may have. Should you need extra blankets or have us show you how to...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 February 2017

this hotel is reasonably priced, very clean and quiet and close to downtown I would book here again, I saved almost 500.00 by staying here as opposed to marriot where the convention is, a ten minute walk

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q1575NOpatrickc
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Q1575NOpatrickc, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy we were able to help you budget wisely for your convention. We hope to see you again! Best Regards, Chet Culmer GM

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

The room and bed were spacious and clean and I should have slept wonderfully if that's really all that mattered. Unfortunately, anytime anyone used the toilet in a neighboring room, I could hear the pipes really loud and would wake me up at times. It didn't help that a lot of snow was coming down either because in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello David N, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience with us was not as comfortable as it should have been. We do hope you will consider staying with us again. If you like we can put you on the top floor in the corner of the hotel, it is nice and quiet...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Management is key! The GM & staff will make sure your accommodations will exceed an adequate stay. In addition, the rooms w/ Temper beds far exceed any other places. Great place and am recommending this place to anyone whom visits Salt Lake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhandleyslc
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello mhandleyslc, Thank you so much for your positive feedback! The entire staff really enjoyed serving you. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Chet Culmer GM

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I had my assistant look up pricing for rooms and he misunderstood and booked it. I called with in a few hours and they said it was with in 48 hours, so to call in the morning to have the manager fix it with out fees. The next morning, they said the manager said the room is on refundable. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
Chet C, General Manager at Metropolitan Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kelly L, Thank you for your feedback. When you book with what you called a "third party" service such as expedia/orbitz/travelocity etc... they give you the option to purchase a refundable or non-refundable similar to when you purchase something like an airline ticket. I personally direct the front desk staff to not refund as it must got through me...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
228 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
767 reviews
0.4 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
455 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
47 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#42 of 75 in Salt Lake City
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful little Gem of a hotel among the many giants of big box hotels is perfectly nestled in downtown Salt Lake City just 12 minutes walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center, add another minute to that and you are at Temple Square, City Creek Center Shopping Mall, one block away from a "trax" free zone Utah's public transportation (UTA). Dozens of of restaurants, cafes, and bars walking distance availability. If you dont want to walk, cycle cabs are a phone call away, and make regular passes by our front entrance for convenience. 5.7 Miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (7-10 minute drive). A 4 minute drive or 15 minute walk to The Venue (1.2 Miles). Free daily Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, Cable t.v. in every room. Metropolitan Inn is the ONLY hotel in Utah with America's Most Recommended Mattress, Tempur-Pedic Mattresses! Sleep in Health and Luxury at the Metropolitan Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2318
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: RM368 - RM635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Metropolitan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet rooms are upper floors in back.”
travelingvermonters, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only a block and a half from the UTA Trax Courthouse station.”
timmeeks1966, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try the Murphy Suite for extra roominess.”
bajabo, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Upper floors quieter than ground floor...as per usual.”
The_Illuminati, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“We were on the second floor and our room faced south so it did not face the main street. I think it was quieter possibly than the rooms that faced the street - but even those are not right on the street they are across the parking lot from the street.”
  • If you need a large work space, the table is quite small.
  • Bathroom counter was small but totally servicable and very clean.
  • Not sure what the free items were as the basket was empty. :)  There were some maps and brochure
cybertraveler, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$89
PricelineUS$89
TripAdvisorUS$76
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates