We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 223: English reviews
Belvidere, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The bathroom wall paper is pealing and has hair in sink. The toilet is dirty. The person that checked us was training and did a good job. The luggage rack is broken and un safe. I pointed it out and all they said was that they would have maintenance look at it. The experience for the stay was below average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
Albuquerque
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I were in the airport area looking for a place to possibly check in early. Motel 6, Super 8 and Extended Stay had some very rude young ladies working for them, so it was nice to encounter Amor, Jasmine and other smiling faces at Holiday Inn. Jeanette at night staff was very nice too. Only complaint was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ghostface K
San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was nice, no complaints there, but I do want to warn travelers of my experience. I stayed at this hotel last week for 4 uneventful nights and checked out at 9am. returned the car, caught my flight and once home at 1pm, I realized I had left a $80.00 new never worn Hawaiian shirt hung in the closet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandiegomike2016
HI_ABQ, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologize for the challenges you had during your stay. I would like to express to you and to others that read this that our current housekeeping staff have worked with us for many years and the very person that is being accused of a serious offense is not understanding why this is splashed all over social media....

Bremerton, Washington
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Have not stayed in Holiday Inns for years (frequent guest of HIE). This property was exceptional. Staff was helpful and professional. Rooms were clean and roomy. I will say that the bathroom door is a problem...the management should look at installing pocket doors. The bathroom is very narrow and the standard door is too large for the space. Otherwise loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuckmics
HI_ABQ, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great comments and I will share them with our staff. We will consider your other comments and take them seriously as we do always. Thank you and see you in the future. Please feel free to call me when you are in the area again. Sincerely, Ruben General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Checking in and the hotel room were clean. Our ac was blowing out hot air but the maintenance came within 20 minute and fixed it. The next day it happened again and they fixed it right away again. I couldn't give it a full 5 stars though because the sink drain was clogged and was very slow to drain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HI_ABQ, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feed back on the sink drain. Rest assured that we want everyone to have a great stay. Please feel free to give me a call with more feed back. Thanks and see you in the near future. Sincerely, Ruben GM

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Location was great however there is only one set of elevators so if you don't park and come in the front doors you have to walk through the entire building, pool and jacuzzi were out of order which is what we were looking forward to after a 6 hr drive and the next morning when we went found to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soledad M
HI_ABQ, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Soledad M, Thank you for writing an honest review. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience with our staff. This is not the standards our employees should conduct themselves by. I have informed our Food and Beverage director of these events and he will handle the situation in the correct manner. In the meantime, please feel more...

Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I was sadly disappointed with this Holiday Inn, upon check in they charge an extra $25 per night per room. This type of information should be told to guests when reservations are made, my credit was so tied up with the extra charges that I couldn't buy gas .I've stayed at other Holiday Inn's and other Hotels in Albuquerque and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch714502
HI_ABQ, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Mitch714502, I apologize for the miscommunication you received during your stay. The front desk is required to notify our guests that there is a $25 incidental authorization during their stay. I will be going over the proper check-in procedure with my front desk agents to make sure that there is no further miscommunication between our guests and staff. As,...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

On Checkin the staff were helpful and friendly however when I asked about a shuttle to the airport early the next morning I'm told it doesn't start running till after my flight departs, I ask if they could organise a taxi for me but they couldn't do that, only give me a taxi number and suggest I call with 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
HI_ABQ, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for your honest review. It is feedback from our valued guests like you that helps us improve as a hotel. I am glad to hear that the staff was helpful and friendly. Our staff has been notified of the proper call procedures when scheduling taxis for a guest and we will be reiterating this once more...

West US
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The pros no way come close to the cons. Don't be deceived by the impressive lobby. The rooms are dirty and the maintenance person needs to be replaced (or maybe there isn't one on staff). You pay $11.50 for a breakfast buffet where the hot items are cold and the cold items are warm. Yikes. Really, if you are looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canoe42
HI_ABQ, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Canoe42, Thank you for your honest review. I do apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. Housekeeping has been notified of the room issues as well as we have spoken to our Maintenance Manager about the problems you have faced with our staff. You are completely correct when you stated that these conditions are...

wisconsin
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Staying 1 night before flying out. Excellent check in experience, front desk staff was informative and helpful. Our room 440 was comfortable. We ate dinner in the bar and had a wonderful experience with "Mary" who was a wonderful hostess and very interesting to talk to. She has been employed over 10 years and this hotel is lucky to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capnkim
HI_ABQ, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you so much for pointing out Mary as an outstanding person. I will share this with her as it will make her very happy. We hope to see you in the near future for another wonderful stay! Ruben General Manager

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunport
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take the Virtual Tour. The new addition to Albuquerque is the contemporary, stylish and comfortable Holiday Inn Select , conveniently located near Albuquerque International Airport, off I-25 at Exit 221, and the University of New Mexico. This elegant property is close to Albuquerque International Sunport, Kirtland AFB, and Sandia National Labs. We offer 121 spacious guest rooms with spectacular views including 540sf suites with whirlpool tubs. We are a non-smoking facility and offer FREE High-Speed Internet. Our amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center, and large banquet/meeting space.Look Again at the all new Holiday Inn Select Hotel Albuquerque where we offer plush pillow top mattresses and premium bedding, a refreshing shower experience & Garden Botanika shower products, & Wolfgang Puck's Coffee. Relax and enjoy an appetizing meal or your favorite drink at the Sunport Bar & Grille. Earn points and miles with Priority Club Rewards.Businesses: Kirtland AFB, Sandia National Labs, EclipseHospitals: UNM Hospital, Lovelace Sandia Health Systems, Presbyterian Hospital, VA Hospital Universities: University of New Mexico (UNM), CNM Local Attractions: Albuquerque Convention Center, Sandia Peak/Tramway, Historic Old Town, Casinos, Balloon Fiesta, Journal Pavilion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area

Address: 1501 Sunport Pl SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-1743
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Price Range: RM325 - RM512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you request a room facing the city of Albuquerque! And stay away from the noisy, heavy exit doors located near the stairwells.”
  • The clouds were amazing over the valley view from the front of the hotel.
 of 5 bubbles Scrivner, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“City side of hotel offers a nice view of city.”
 of 5 bubbles eh741, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Suggest an upper floor for a quiet evening.”
 of 5 bubbles skysail, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast on Saturday is buffet only.”
 of 5 bubbles Barry19511948, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“We were on the third floor, quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 281gailr, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay