We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historic Calumet Inn

PricelineUS$65*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$65*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Historic Calumet Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of Historic Calumet Inn
 Click to rate
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Historic Calumet Inn is an older hotel, a beautiful building with period furniture and fixtures. It propbably would not be the choice of someone who wants the newest and best, but the bed was very comfortable. The staff wasn't the most outgoing, but they were friendly and helpful once asked. All in all, a good value for what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Cambridge, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The Historic Calumet Inn is a chance for you to break out of the same old chain hotels when you are in southwestern Minnesota. Good internet, clean rooms and extremely friendly staff. Our room had a small frig and a microwave, no coffee maker but there is a continental breakfast available early in the morning until mid-morning. Parking is convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tempaussie
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This building left me in awe. I spent two nights here and was able to explore as I wished. From the basement to the upstairs, this place was amazing. I love history and this town is full of it! The building alone is enough to keep you busy for several days. I was happy to have the lounge and restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renda B
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Don't plan on going there if you have a kid under the age of 21. Minnesota Law says anyone under the age of 21 when accompanied with a parent can enter a bar, however the calumet makes is own rules and does not allow it. We were there with a 20 year old who was not even trying to drink...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Eric D
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Seriously ....! I went to this hotel a week ago . And let me tell you that, the history of this hotel alone is worth the stay . Guy at the front desk which btw was actually the owner (Chad I think) was very helpful, polite and jovial. Once in there I start looking at the cool stuff around ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jefe2016
Laramie
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This is a really funky old hotel that we loved! The stone wall and stairs are spectacular. The room was very funky with a slanted floor, hot and cold water that barely mixed a 60's kitchen unit (no pots, pans or dishes supplied) We immediately felt like family and throughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea B
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I enjoyed a stay at the Calumet Inn on a mother/daughter trip to visit Pipestone. We stayed in one of the historic rooms on the second floor with two queen beds. It was bigger than many rooms I have stayed in at chain hotels and was very clean. I was told that the rooms on the upper floors are later...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Valerie W
Historic_Calumet_Inn, Manager at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to enjoy our establishment once again. We are striving to return the hotel to it's past beauty and hope everyone has the chance to experience it first hand and follow our progress.

Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Liked the idea of a historic old hotel, rather than a chain. Unfortunately, this one is a little too historic and old. We had one of the 'historic' rooms - a street-facing room on the 2nd floor (other rooms are more modern, supposedly). The room WAS 'historic' - high ceilings, antique furniture (not in very good condition) and old-fashioned bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff A
Historic_Calumet_Inn, Manager at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the noise of the trains, our rooms towards the opposite side of the building do not have the problem that a few of the limited rooms on the front do. We are currently updating our rooms to create a better experience for our guests. We have recently...

California
Reviewed 24 August 2016

If you're looking for a "Holiday Inn Express" type experience keep on trucking. If you are looking for something a bit out of the ordinary you will find the Calumet Inn a wonderfully unique stop over. We stayed in the "Belleweather Plantation" room on the third floor - each floor of the hotel having its own theme. As other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gow2014
Orange City, Iowa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Went to Pipestone. MN to see the Pipestone National Monument, which everyone should see (beautiful and serene; an educational and historic experience). We saw the Calumet Inn online and thought an old, updated hotel would be perfect for our visit. We have stayed in several restored, historic hotels in the past and were impressed with the care and vision others...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Goofballhusband

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the jewel of the MN prairie land! Once the grandest hotel in SW Minnesota, the Historic Calumet Inn is a splendid place to dine, relax and have a restful night. Come see why we are a favorite for vacationers, business professionals, tour groups, honeymooners and retreats! 36 Guest rooms, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 great experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Calumet Inn

Address: 104 W Main St, Pipestone, MN 56164
Region: United States > Minnesota > Pipestone
Price Range: RM303 - RM368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Calumet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Calumet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Calumet Hotel Pipestone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Calumet Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Calumet Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have clawfoot tubs. If you have mobility or balance issues you may want to reserve a room with an more easy access shower.”
332valeriew, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check room carefully before accepting it. "Historic' rooms MAY be worth the slight extra price.”
jeffaF1418HA, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a street view, so you do not have the rooftops of other businesses.”
KELittle, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“we should have asked to look at rooms. Ours was very very old, not updated at all.”
kkwboulder, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Again drive the extra miles to find something else on SD or MN”
Dendoo, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$65* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$65
TripAdvisorUS$65
Booking.comUS$65
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates