We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My partner and I reserved a cottage in March. When we showed up we were refused service. We were forced to find other lodging in the middle of summer in Estes Park. Never have I been treated so poorly. Unfortunately our children were with us and witnessed how horribly we were treated. I would NEVER recommend staying at this property....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Emily- I apologize for not responding to your review sooner. To give our side of the story, you booked a room on-line that clearly states that the maximum number of people in that unit is 3. Your on-line booking showed 2 adults, no children. When you showed up with two adults and 4 children, we offered you the room for...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit to Swiftcurrent and we will surely be back again. The owners are lovely and so friendly and helpful. We have stayed in room 201 both times, and it is always very clean and quaint. The best part is the seating and hot tub right on the river. It is just lovely. You are also right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanea E
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Alanea & Jeff- Your review is appreciated. We are happy to have guests return. Your first trip was for you honeymoon as we remember. Thanks for the kind review. Sorry about the bed. Warm wishes until next time. Gary & Coni

San Antonio, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We first stayed at the Lodge in 2009, then 2013 and now in 2016. There is a reason for returning to this gem nestled next to the RMNP. It has excellent service and you feel at home. My wife and I are always sad to leave and long for the day to be back at the Swift Current Lodge. What...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Daniel & Rebekah, Was so good to see you again. We truly appreciate your kind review. Now that there are three of you, we'll look forward to watching your new addition grow. Thanks again Gary & Coni

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We stayed for six nights. Swiftcurrent Lodge had everything that our family needed: hot tub, grill, Wi-Fi, and a walking path into RMNP. It is beautiful and relaxing to be alongside the Big Thompson River.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue203como
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Sue & Tom- We appreciate your kind words. We always enjoy having new guests stay with us. Hopefully, we will see you again. Gary & Coni

Custer, South Dakota
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We've been coming to the Swiftcurrent for many years, and continue to be impressed with the wonderful "home away from home" that Gary and Coni have established. From the hot tub overlooking the Thompson River, to the outdoor patios for grilling and relaxing, to the cozy cabins complete with kitchens, to the feeders where we can enjoy watching hummingbirds, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bradmckinney
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Brad & Connie- It was a pleasure seeing you again. We always look forward to your visit. Thank you for all the kind words. See you next year. Gary & Coni

Keller TX
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed here eight years ago and didn't hesitate for a second in coming back this year! To our great surprise, the improvements done on the property following the flood of a couple years ago have raised the bar even more in terms of comfort, convenience and sheer delight in overnight accommodations. We kept our patio door open during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadMonk44
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi JJ & Debbie- It was fun to see you two again. Your looking good! Thank you for the review. We did do a lot of work after the flood in Sept 2013. Peaches on the grill sounds yummy. Nice talking to you and catching up. See you soon, we hope. Gary & Coni

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I stayed here from July1st to July 4th. The room was all set before I arrived. It was clean and cozy. The river behind the lodge is amazing. There are benches to sit and swings facing the river. You can hike to RMNP from behind the lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nerajasr
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Nereja- Thank you for your review. We consider ourselves so very fortunate to be so close to hiking trails and Rocky Mountain National Park. We look forward to seeing you again. Gary & Coni

Reviewed 8 July 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swiftcurrent Lodge. We took long hikes into the park right from the lodge and then returned to relax next to the Big Thompson River in the afternoon. Swiftcurrent is close to Estes Park and yet tucked away so that you feel as though you are away from the hustle and bustle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

It makes us happy when we get feedback like yours. Hiking into the Park from here is one of the big bonuses for us. We love talking with our guests and hopefully answering their questions and sharing our 20 years of living here experiences. Just saw our first bear yesterday!! Gratefully- Gary & Coni

Seward, Nebraska
Reviewed 21 June 2016

My son and I had the best three days here doing exactly what we wanted. The owners, Gary and Connie, are very accommodating. We wanted to hike so Gary asked me some questions then gave us plenty of options and suggestions to make it more enjoyable. Easy access to Rocky Mountain National Park. Sitting 10 feet from the Big Thompson...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatherof04
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Kirk & Cohl- We are so pleased you had a good time visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. After living here for over 20 years we hope we can give good advise. It was a pleasure to listen to your adventures. We look forward to Your return visits. Gary & Coni

nebraska
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The owners are fabulous. The location is quiet, but there is plenty to do. I do not believe I have been this relaxed in a long time. The sound of the Thompson river flowing outside the deck was soothing. A welcome packet in the room to guide you through your stay. The owners take pride in their cabins and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nd2knit
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Jahnee & Dave- It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks for the review. Gary & Coni

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.7 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
721 reviews
4.3 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
289 reviews
4.4 km away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#32 of 77 in Estes Park
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
216 reviews
2.5 km away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
1,062 reviews
4.5 km away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Price Range: RM323 - RM767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a river view - it's beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles melindan204, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Riverside would be choice”
 of 5 bubbles StephenW843, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a riverside room. Even though we did not, we were still able to thoroughly enjoy the scenery and river!”
 of 5 bubbles rosanneg307, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The cabins along the river are the best!!”
 of 5 bubbles MadMonk44, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Every room is good.”
 of 5 bubbles nd2knit, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5