We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Providence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Providence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Providence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 913: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have just finished spending a wonderful four nights at Hotel Providence. Staff were always friendly, helpful and very professional. The room I stayed in was well appointed and tastefully decorated. I would stay here again if I ever have an opportunity to visit Providence again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lianne W
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our loyal guests and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe Travels, Tricia Carter Marketing Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Providence since my daughter was a freshman at one of the local universities every time I visit her. I visit several times a year due to various activities. I strayed once to stay at a different hotel that was only a few blocks closer to the University. After that mistake, I've been back at Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UniMom18
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind remarks! We wouldn't be here without loyal guests like you and your family. We truly enjoy our "university families" and look forward to seeing your names on the list of arrivals. I will pass along your comments to our wonderful desk agents, Dan and Roy. I know they shine a little brighter...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Although I feel lucky that the Hotel Providence was able to take our reservation at the last minute on a busy Waterfire weekend, I was disappointed in the overall experience. For the money, I've certainly had better stays elsewhere. First, the room was cold. We turned on the heat and left for our evening out only to return and find...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank j t
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear J.T., Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your comments have not been addressed sooner. I am disappointed that you had a less than stellar experience with us. Their is no excuse for that. I would like to offer you a very special rate, an upgrade and V.I.P. amenities upon...

Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I were in Providence for one night and chose this hotel because it wasn't a chain. Our interactions with the staff were limited, but they were quite friendly. Our room was quite small (New York small), but it was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom was also clean and the amenities were top-notch. I love a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Pamela C. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, but concerned that you were disturbed by the sound of the church bells. When making your next reservation, please let our staff know that you would prefer a room away from the church....

Smithtown, NY
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Fabulous, fabulous location (couldn't be better), and the hotel has SO much charm from the lobby to the rooms to the bathrooms. Some things could definitely use a little updating, but it didn't affect our stay at all! The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and nice linens. The bathrooms were very spacious with huge walk-in showers. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Dear Megan C. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will certainly pass on your gracious comments to the front desk and valet staff. We look forward to your returning to visit with us again. KInd regards,...

Appleton, WI
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is definitely a boutique hotel. Its not your traditional cookie cutter hotel that you find so often. Nice bed. Nice size bathroom. Valet parking is a nice option at a cost. Overall the room is a little small. Very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hammon44
Wayland, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Many folks have never heard of this hotel...it's really a boutique gem. Beautiful and clean rooms..large baths. Lobby nothing special..doormen very attentive....fast valet in and out. Front desk...pleasant...upon calling they had trouble getting me directions....not good. Upon check in, realized though a courtyard view, the room was directly over output vent for restaurant so we moved to the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VacayStay
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was large, king bed, nice bathroom, very nicely done. There is a church close by that has chimes ringing at certain times. I am not a light sleeper, so I don't know if they rang at night. I liked them, but if you think it might bother you, you might want to consider another location. Pet friendly, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redheaddr
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Attending a conference in Providence at the convention center, I just didn't want to stay in one of the big chain convention center hotels. Even though I wasn't picking up the tab, they were expensive and I'd be trapped in hallways and never get outside the confines of the conference. I picked Hotel Providence with some apprehension--was it too far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ArkansasTraveller13
NY, NY
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'm glad I was able to stay the The Hotel Providence on two separate occasions within a week of the other because I was able to see how nice a place it can be. The place as a very lovely low key luxury feel about it. The rooms are spiffy and well organized-no doors bumping into desks. The restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FromNYto?

945 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (749)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Deluxe King (90)
Viewed
Executive Junior Suite One King Bed (89)
Viewed
Dining (110)
Viewed
Superior King (67)
Viewed
Superior Two Bed (80)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)
Viewed
The Premier Suite One King Bed with Whirlpool Tub (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
2,202 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
1,072 reviews
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Price Range: RM605 - RM1,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#2 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#7 Family Hotel in Providence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Providence staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Providence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th floor was nice!”
 of 5 bubbles F9713OQwalterc, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room without neighbors”
 of 5 bubbles fredk355, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor better”
 of 5 bubbles 110lilys, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“7th floor, room 720 is on the corner with two windows and views of Providence! ”
 of 5 bubbles davidhJ2548FG, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor!”
 of 5 bubbles sarahx8296, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay