We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,235: English reviews
Start your review of Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
 Click to rate
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We decided to try this hotel as we frequent Providence monthly The location is right off Rte 95 and adjacent to the city capitol buildings. The staff is courteous and professional. Be aware that the parking is valet and the front entrance is shared with a public auditorium venue so traffic getting in and out of the hotel lot is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janbK6058QR
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janbK6058QR, Thank you for taking the time to review our property.I am glad to hear you enjoyed the size and cleanliness of the room. Your feedback regarding your poor parking experience and noise from a neighbor has caught my attention. We do share a driveway with the historic Vets Memorial Auditorium which is a great entertainment option for all...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was classy with a modern twist . The room was spacious the bed was super comfortable . One of the best hotel beds by marriott brands . Bathroom was large with lots of marble also a large soaking tub ! Staff was very welcoming , the location is great its right near everything in downtown ! Valet parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jared M
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Our decor and ambiance are a great reason to stay or even simply stop by the Renaissance Providence. Our service is the added cherry on top which makes the experience top notch. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future....

Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a show at PPAC and were staying for a couple of nights, so we chose the Renaissance because of the great reviews and the really nice pictures that everyone shared. When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by the valets who informed me that they were going to park my car for $28 per day. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshRobbins
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoshRobbins, Thank you for writing this detailed review. I am extremely sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience at the hotel. I am disappointed with the cleanliness of your guestroom and the condition issues that you encountered during this stay. As you can see from previous reviews, situations like this are not frequent at this hotel. Please accept my...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was very accommodating and great service. I came in very late after several meetings. Check -in was a breeze. My room had an excellent view of the capital it was spacious, clean and modern. Everyone was very professional from the valet to maid service. Room service was punctual and trays were removed quickly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julissa F
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julissa F, Thank you for your review. I am extremely pleased to see that our service and product met your expectations. Our Capitol View rooms truly have one of the best views that a downtown Providence hotel has to offer. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon! Regards, Michael Canini General Manager

Edina, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Renaissance Providence lived up to the reputation as Marriott's up and coming premier hotel line. Staff was ready and willing to provide the best service possible. Will stay at this location when back in the Providence area. Only issue I had was room temperature. The room was too warm at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtdman37
Boston
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came down from Boston for an overnight to see a show at the Vet, which is about forty feet away from the hotel front entrance. The hotel seemed newly renovated - our room was spotless. Friendly and helpful staff on check-in. Mattress felt new, bathroom looked new. We really enjoyed our stay. And, the Public Kitchen restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Homespunner
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Homespunner, Thank you for your 5 Star review! We certainly appreciate you feedback. Our rooms are newly renovated and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Vets is a great partner of the hotel and I hope you enjoyed the show over there as well. We hope to see you again soon! Regards,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok. So, we had a few little snafus. As I see a few other reviewer commented, our heater didn't work consistently. We did finally get it figured out. Then, we had a bit of a maintenance issue ... they cleaned something we asked them not to clean. It was very unfortunate, however, the management (Ryan) really stepped up and did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this beautiful hotel on a number of occasions for extended trips on business. I keep going back because of the helpful & friendly staff, the fine rooms and the location (it is a very short walk up a hill to get there, in case if that bothers you). The bar is a lively place that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hill2008
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hill2008. Thank you for your Five Star Review! I am always thrilled to hear the feedback of a repeat customer. We take great pride that our restaurant Public Kitchen & Bar has a true neighborhood feel. While we want each guest to discover something new during each stay, we always want you to enjoy all that the hotel has...

New York
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Beautiful hotel facing the state capitol building. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. We had difficulty finding a restaurant with an open table for dinner and the concierge called several restaurants to secure us a table -- and his recommendation was outstanding. Given it's location at the top of a hill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RunrDave
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 19 February 2017

the first room I had the heater was broken I finally called the front desk at 3am and switched rooms the second room: then the phone didn't work the shower was broken the door was sticking I called the front desk and the sent someone to fix the shower and they left black foot prints in the bath - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajust202
Michael C, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rajust202, Thank you for your feedback. I would like to personally apologize for the several shortfalls that occurred during your visit to Providence. The troubles that occurred are inexcusable and I assure you that each of these occurrences will be addressed promptly. I was happy to hear that our Manager on Duty did provide compensation for both of your...

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (386)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
0:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
2,286 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
955 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Price Range: RM735 - RM1,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the "-18" series are great. For example 418, 518, etc...”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chose odd number rooms for a view the state house building across the park, which is an impressive sight that you will not get tired of.”
 of 5 bubbles hill2008, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“this is a nice hotel I would stay again...the comments are in hopes that the manage addresses poor maintenance.”
 of 5 bubbles rajust202, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a view of the state capitol!”
 of 5 bubbles samsmith053, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our view was just ok...high enough up but facing the hightway”
 of 5 bubbles rma722017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5