We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
#2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,566: English reviews
Williamsburg,
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved staying here for a short visit on our way to New England; walking distance to a great restaurant for dinner, short walk the next morning (after a great breakfast in the hotel) to Peabody Museum, Salem Witch Memorial, Salem Witch Museum and other sights. Highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a really nice solid hotel for only 3 and a half stars, great bang for your buck! The room was extremely clean. The lobby is quite gorgeous and the staff is nice and helpful. My only complaint is that the walls are PAPER thin, I was there with a wedding party (nothing wild literally just the bride, maid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Antoinette B
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Salem can be very crowded especially in October, so we picked the Waterfront Hotel because we had no other choice when we tried to book a night in town. Still, choice couldn't have been better although the overall price was above our budget. It's definitely not a cheap hotel, but you get what you pay for and the price is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baconator76
Salem-Waterfront-MGR, Front Office Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear baconator76, Thank you for your earnest review of our property. While it sounds as though you booked us for convenience, I couldn't be happier that you were pleasantly surprised by our large rooms, attention to detail and of course the service provided by our caring staff. I can see from your other reviews that you have travelled the world-...

Hopkinton, MA
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an offsite meeting with a colleague and decided to visit this quaint and lovely hotel steps away from Pickering Wharf in Salem, MA. When you first enter the hotel, there's a lovely scent of flowers. The fireplace in the lobby was on and the atmosphere was immediately inviting. We were greeted very nicely by the front desk and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buonfortuna
Salem-Waterfront-MGR, Front Office Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Buonfortuna, Thank you for stopping in! We are in fact a great place for meetings and events of all sizes and I do hope you will consider us next time you are here for business. If you would like more information on what we offer please feel free to contact our hotel and ask for our Sales office. It...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so pleased that we found this hotel as it really is in a great location. We were within walking distance of the main st/quaint shops and the bulk of the witch-themed attractions in Salem. Our room overlooked a canal which was nice, too! Our room was spacious and very clean. There was adequate room for us and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steph r
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made it on purpose to wait after Halloween to visit Salem as we are not too fan of crowds. Price at the hotel were also down more than half for the same great service. Location is awesome as you are walking distance from everything. Would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martine P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For my first visit to Salem, my girlfriend booked us into this hotel for a 2 nights stay the day after Halloween. The welcome upon arrival was both friendly and informative. The room was located on the 2nd floor, facing out towards the front of the building. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Everything you need from the walking trail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
Salem-Waterfront-MGR, Front Office Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Dale M, Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor! I'm happy you enjoyed your first trip to Salem and to our hotel, and that you were able to take advantage of our prime location to take in all that the city has to offer. I hope that you will keep us in mind if you ever plan a...

Whitman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although I was hoping for a water view (there really aren't many if any available), I have to say the room was wonderful, spacious, clean, modern classic and quiet. The staff was truly delightful and the lobby was active but not overly crowded or noisy. A very welcoming atmosphere where you felt you were in a fine hotel with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhitmanCurrans
Salem-Waterfront-MGR, Front Office Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear WhitmanCurrans, Thank you for your kind words! I will be sure to pass on your compliments to my staff for providing a genuinely enjoyable experience. We love hearing feedback from our guests and I hope that you will choose us as your home away from home again. Warmest Regards, David Cooper Front Office Manager

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Salem for 2 1/2 days and stayed at the Waterfront hotel. It is on the east end of town, but only a short drive or walkable walk for those who can handle walking all day,from everything you would want to or do. It is only a block from a bay, and about a half mile from The House...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kidsfirst1
Salem-Waterfront-MGR, Front Office Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kidsfirst1, I'm thrilled you enjoyed your time in Salem and that we were able to be a part of it. I will be sure to pass compliments out to the team for doing a great job. Next time you stay with us, I would love to recommend our Bed and Breakfast package, which includes a full breakfast for 2...

Conroe, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this hotel! The hotel is very central to walk to all the main attractions. They were very nice when we checked in and gave us a map of the town and highlighted the main points of interest. At different points in the day they have cookies and/or cider for you in the lobby. The room was a decent size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (29)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
King Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Traditional Double Room (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
1,864 reviews
5.6 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.0 km away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.5 km away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: RM569 - RM1,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
England
Hartford, Connecticut
22 days ago
Cheektowaga, New York

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room far from the elevator. Only edge of the hotel is on the water.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbL1983, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms appear to be larger & very quite”
 of 5 bubbles J5805ZPnataliew, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance if staying during holidays.”
 of 5 bubbles SofiaG139, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No view regardless of room. We were on the 3rd floor. Quite and roomy”
 of 5 bubbles Mtj66, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is in the heart of downtown Salem, but it is located in an area that is away from revelers.”
 of 5 bubbles SYRosa, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay