We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 610: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
 Click to rate
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

It may appear cheaper than other close by hotels, but it's not worth it. Service is Ok. No breakfast. Rooms are averagely maintained. Shower area is small. Wouldn't go there again. Plus point is that it close to many attractions, riverwalk, and convention center.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yatri23
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear yatri23, Thank you for your review of our hotel. While we do not offer breakfast we have vending options that you may purchase. We also have Restaurant options that are very close by. We do hope that you keep us in mind in your future travels. Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Whitewater
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed an extra day after a conference and had to find a cheaper hotel near the river walk. The Red Roof was a good value. It appeared a bit rundown as I came in but I was pleasantly surprised. It had friendly staff. The room was clean and had a nice bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt A
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Matt A, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. We look forward to serving you again when you are next in San Antonio. Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The worst customer service I've ever encountered. We booked 3 rooms for a family of 6. Requested they be near each other. We were put on separate floors. 1 member in a wheelchair that we notified of at booking. Not given wheelchair accessible room. Had to call the manager(who was not in building) to get permission to get Ada room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tbansic178
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear tbansic178, Thank you for your review of our hotel. As we do have many different room types those room types do have different amenity's in them. While we make every attempt to fulfill requests such as being close to another rooms at time such as this when we have a very high occupancy that unfortunately we can not fulfill...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I got 50% off for the room via Expedia. The room was spacious and is near to the convention center. The only problem I had with the room was the toilet floor which didn't have a shower stall. The water had a tendency to flow to certain parts of the floor and pool there because the floor wasn't even. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adele W
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Adele W, Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you indicated we are close to the convention center as well as many other attraction here in San Antonio.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team, Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to come to San Antonio a day early for a planned trip and needed a place to stay for one night. I thought the price was very high for these accommodations, but we didn't have many options for lodging on such short notice. The location was close to the Riverwalk, the front desk clerks were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mollyjack345
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear molljack345, Thank you for your review of our hotel. As it is a very busy season right now for us I am delighted that you choose us and we were able to accommodate your travel plans on very short notice. As a Downtown Destination property we are very close as you indicated to many attractions here in San Antonio....

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel that is within walking distance of downtown. Good price and well maintained rooms. We enjoyed our visit. The lobby check in person needed more help, but he was a helpful and courteous person and never lost his cool with the crowd.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kqmills
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear kqmills, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.I am sure Victor will be happy to hear your kind comments. We look forward to serving you again when you are in San Antonio in the near future....

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 17 March 2017

front desk Front desk victor very professional young man went out his way to help. Brenda if that is her name very poor attitude,rude, sarcastic. an old lady asker for a baggage cart she responded, by telling her to go look in front of the elevator,to see if theie were some, very rude and did not make the lady happy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrodriguez193
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear jrodriguez193, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team. We offer our guest luggage carts that are housed by the main elevator bank. Guests are free to use them anytime and there are time when they are all in use. We are indeed very busy this spring break...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived we had to wait outside, because the line to check in was through the lobby and out the doors. They don't serve breakfast. You have to pay $15 a night to park in the parking garage. We had no towels in the bathroom when we finally did arrive to our room. Hot water for a shower?...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HonestyIsBest94
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear HonestyIsBest94, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologize for the long line. At the time you arrived on this spring break week.While we do not have breakfast we do offer vending options that can be purchased. We do have many dining options that are a short walk from the hotel and of course there are many...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 14 March 2017

At first I was hesitant to book our stay here on March 9 & 10 because of the number of stars/low rating. But I started reading the reviews and found that most reviews were just people being extremely picky. In spite of the reviews, we booked our stay here because it was within walking distance to the Alamodome and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ezunigafamily
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear ezunigafamily, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great guest experience. I will be sure to pass on to the team your comments. We are very lucky to have Victor on our team. You are correct ! We are a short walk to the Alamodome and the river walk and many other attractions...

Buffalo, Texas
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Terrible front desk service.. beds are very small.. not very clean.. the lady that is in charge of cleaning is the nicest person.. very helpful.. will not stay here again. It's pretty close to riverwalk but quite a hike..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dpayne20
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Dpayne20, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. I am apologize that you found the river walk a hike. Majority of our guest love our location for the fact that we are a very short walk to the river walk and many other San Antonio attractions....

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
1,077 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#126 of 354 in San Antonio
689 reviews
East Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,771 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
1,748 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range: RM361 - RM784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Hamilton texas
over a year ago
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
McDonough, Georgia

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a back room.”
tbansic178, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“BETTER FRONT DESK PERSON must see rooms in person not on web site”
jrodriguez193, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Within walking distance to Alamodome & Riverwalk”
ezunigafamily, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side of the hotel look out on a quiet street - that is, if the reception desk decides to give you such a room.”
Christiaan_Leo, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask if hotel offers refrigerator and microwave before booking. Request a room on the back side of the building to avoid road noise.”
659handyr, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5