We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

San Antonio KOA Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
San Antonio KOA Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for San Antonio KOA Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We were given a nice shaded area. We had electricity and water. Other campers are quite close to us but nothing too serious. The pool was a little too hot for my taste, but the place was great. Bathrooms very clean. Unfortunately we were not able to look at their shop as people are not allowed in when they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BadiaW
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thanks you for camping with us! We are glad you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your campsite and our facilities. We do apologize for the water issue at your site during the storm! We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again sometime soon!

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

It was a super convenient location by downtown San Antonio, but it was too hot at night to sleep comfortably. We went in July, so I recommend going during the winter. There is a pool and a small store, but there wasn't much else to help guests escape the heat during the day. The staff wasn't very helpful. They didnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Our park is located in San Antonio, and summer in Texas can result in higher than normal temperatures. While we would love to be able to control these, unfortunately the best we can do is encourage our...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

So glad we picked this campground for our stay in San Antonio. Very close to The Alamo, Riverwalk, and downtown San Antonio it was an easy on/off the highway -- but far enough away so you didn't have the traffic noise. There is a train track nearby, but it didn't bother us at night. The staff is friendly and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbmurchison
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear you had such an awesome stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed our grounds and amenities and the nearby attractions in the area! Thank you so much for your kind review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Victoria, Texas
Reviewed 6 July 2016

First, let me preface this review by saying that we stayed over July 4th weekend so things may have been a little out of the ordinary. We had no problems checking, the clerk was fast effiecient and provided us with a map, clear directions, an events flyer, and city bus information. We were even able to check in early, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Autmn M
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the San Antonio area. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such detailed comments and wanted to apologize for the condition of the bathrooms as well as for the excessive noise you encountered from your neighbors. We...

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Beautiful large full service sites with lots of mature trees. Very clean, nice pool area, lots of nice dog walking areas. Probably the nicest KOA I've been to. Not hard to see why they've won some awards. Staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The old guy that runs it is kind of miserable but mostly you deal with fantastic staff....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank USPT2012
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review! We are so happy you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed our grounds, your campsite, the pool, and dog walking areas. We have an amazing team, and we're so thankful for all of their hard work. Everything we do is for our guests! We appreciate you camping with us, and look forward to...

Richwood, Texas
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We came to San Antonio for Spring Break, & we've stayed at KOAs before so that's why I chose this one. I am very glad we did, it was beautiful. Well shaded, easy to pull through sites. Our daughter rode her bike allover the place, she especially liked being able to go down to the river. The staff was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AOK2007
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, the river, the chuck wagon pancakes, and nearby attractions. Thanks for your kind review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful campground and very big. Very friendly staff. Only 30 minutes from six flags. Shuttles to downtown san antonio including the alamo and the river walk.. only negative there was no dog park for our dog to be leash free after a long drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great stay with us, Brian! We are happy you enjoyed our grounds, the shuttle to downtown, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We were headed for a different campground with our RV and soon saw KOA San Antonio. We pulled in and they had room. The place is gated. On the river with a bike trail. Gorgeous pecan and oak trees. Campers and staff were super friendly and service was beyond excellent. I am not exaggerating. We kept extending our stay that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricjoyner
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're thrilled and honored that you had such a wonderful stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed the bike trail, grounds, and amenities that we offer. Thanks for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Florida
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The grounds are nice and shady and a lot of the sites have brick patios with picnic tables. The only negative were the burrs in the grass that covered my dogs every time we walked them. As the grassy areas were mostly weeds we could not find anywhere without these aggravating burrs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikkiS
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, Vikki! We're happy you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your campsite, the grounds, and our convenient location. We do apologize for all of the burrs that got on your dogs - that certainly wouldn't have been a fun time for them! We hope to see you again soon, and safe travels.

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Pros: level sites Lots of shade Next to Greenway bike path accessible from park Clean bathrooms Large laundry room Secure Cons: small bathrooms Lots of long-term residents Grounds stay wet after rain Kids playground is old, needs to be updated

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4stakes
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at San Antonio KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, the bike path nearby, and our facilities. We hope to see you again in the future!

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
1,041 reviews
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#177 of 354 in San Antonio
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
1,014 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about San Antonio KOA Campground

Address: 602 Gembler Rd, San Antonio, TX 78219-3122
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
San Antonio Koa Campground Hotel San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Antonio KOA Campground staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
nevada
4 months ago
over a year ago
Milton, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from San Antonio KOA Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Next time we would book a cabin with a bathroom in it - but the ones with out are still really good”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireT835, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a site with some shade!”
 of 5 bubbles vkreed, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a tent spot on the back fence”
 of 5 bubbles autmnm, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the spaces were roomy & quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles O6153WTdianeb, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a campsite by the river/creek. Mature trees, green grass ... lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles BrendaM977, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5