We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Overpriced, substandard food. Slow service. Flys kept buzzing us inside dining area. The pasta sauce for my wife's meal sure tasted like Prego. View was the only thing that we enjoyed. You may want to bypass this and keep looking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimPeoria_Illinois
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Jim. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and hope we can resolve this. Please, contact us directly so that we can discuss your situation further.

Montgomery Village
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Wonderful, local restaurant located on the Kaweah River, close to Sequoia National Park. Small, cozy bar and indoor and outdoor restaurant seating. Spectacular view of the river; outdoor seating puts you next to the river. Good food, respectable menu and decent service. Family-friendly. So glad I stopped!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick3734
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Patrick, We are pleased you found your stay to be cozy and menu delightful. We appreciate you stopping by to enjoy the outdoors with us. Thank you for sharing!

charlotte, United States
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We had an excellent experience at the Gateway Lodge and Restaurant from the time of our arrival until we left. We arrived at 1230 pm and we were told the room would not be available until 3pm so we ate lunch at the lodge..which was excellent food. We were told at that time our room was ready...yay..so we finished lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Carolyn, We are happy to hear you had an excellent experience at our Lodge. Heidi, Katelyn and Trinity, are all wonderful servers and we will be sure to recognize them for providing you with great service. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you and your family have a memorable experience to last a lifetime.

Reviewed 10 June 2016

We visited the Sequoia National Forest and stayed over at the Gateway Lodge. The room is lodge quality and clean. We had a great meal outside on the deck and watched the river flow strong. The owner of the lodge made sure we were happy and comfortable. They took care of us and even shared his amazing pappy van winkle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William E
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

William, Thank you for sharing such kind words. We hope you enjoyed the Pappy Van Winkle collection and are glad to hear you found the residents here to be friendly and informative. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your stay.

Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Restaurant sits ned to the logde. You can sit outside next to the river. They have a nice menu and the good was great. There is a large selection of wines available. We stayed at the Buckeye Three Lodge. That's next door, because of that they give 10% off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanlisa81
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stephanlisa81, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We do appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed our menu and wine selection. For future reference, we do also offer competitive rates for staying with us if you're back in town. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you once again for your positive review.

Seattle area
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We were going to eat at the Wuksachi Lodge in the park but they do not open the Dinning room until 5PM. Nor the Bar. So went back and stopped here. March is a great time as the river is running high and gives a great view. It was early evening 6:30, so we had sunlight and listened to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 904star
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing us to be apart of your dining experience. We are glad you enjoyed your view and Trout was delicious. We appreciate your review and the time you took to share your experience.

portland or
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I wish I had access to wifi while staying near here so I would have learned about other experiences. We had almost the same as another reviewer with microwaved, unedible food. We arrived at 8pm, were told they serve until 9pm. Don't do it. Maybe the food is cooked fresh at 6pm, but we were given old rubbery rolls, inedible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank embr
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again, westielover123. We’d like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We’ve disciplined the waitress that was assigned to your table and continue to extend the invitation to contact us in an effort to remedy the situation.

Ohio
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We went for lunch and the next day breakfast (we were reluctant to go the next morning but wanted to not venture far since we were going into the park for a full day, and our last day). Lunch wasn't great on our first day. Our waitress (Heidi) seemed rushed and bothered-impatient when I asked questions about the menu, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westielover123
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Hello again, westielover123. We’d like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We’ve disciplined the waitress that was assigned to your table and continue to extend the invitation to contact us in an effort to remedy the situation.

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

The food is mediocre, pricey. We got a salmon burger and veggie burger which were both average. The service was extremely slow. The waitress came to us 15 mins after we were seated and our food took an additional 30-40 mins. All in all we wasted time just sitting around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faiqah
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Faiqah. We’re sorry that you did not completely enjoy your experience. Please, contact us directly to discuss your situation further.

Visalia, California
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We decided to go to Gateway for our anniversary after seeing all the advertisements for it. We arrived at check in 3:00 and was greeted by friendly staff. We were given the key for our room and a menu for later. We went to our room and it was rustic. Clean, large bed, electronic fireplace, satellite tv, coffee maker and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcvega
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you mcvega for your kind words. We are happy to know that you were pleased with your anniversary celebration at our establishment.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
16.4 km away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,168 reviews
4.9 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
282 reviews
31.1 km away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
24.1 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
589 reviews
1.5 km away
The River Inn & Cabins
The River Inn & Cabins
#10 of 11 in Three Rivers
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Price Range: RM509 - RM1,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Restaurant and Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get off the mountain before the sun goes down so you can enjoy dinner on the deck”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We got a balcony on the 2nd floor.. nice view of the river. The hotel is nice, not the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles westielover123, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“WIFI is intermittent-”
 of 5 bubbles Roxyita, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“River House is the best bet....”
 of 5 bubbles johnmV7434UL, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
“River view suite”
  • You can climb down to these rocks.
  • The scenery was beautiful
 of 5 bubbles Sheila_in_NH_13, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5