We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel @ The Lafayette

Show Prices
#14 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel @ The Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Bethany, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 December 2016

What a really cool hotel. Hotel is in pristine condition. The antique elevator floor notifiers & very long hallways give the hotel of the time period of the Twilight Zone. Has very unique room decor & hallway furniture, found no where else. Very modern amenities in the room, making it very comfortable to stay in. Great find for the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherylannsantore
Mike S, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Cherylannsantore, Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel @ Lafayette, and for sharing your feedback. We are fortunate to have this beautiful old building to operate our hotel in! While we have added modern conveniences and decor, The building has certainly not lost its time period feel that you describe in your review. We look forward to your...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This is such a tough one for me because the property is great and I love that it's in my hometown. The convenience to stay here when I don't want to leave the city is awesome and I love the building, style and convenience. However, everything was bad and it started right away. 1st - It shouldn't take anywhere near...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank anthony m
Mike S, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Dear Anthony M, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your love of the building with the readers of this site. We love this building as well, which is what makes reading reviews like this so difficult. To start with parking, I can assure you that it rarely takes that long to park. On that particular night, we experienced...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Seasoned travellers will often comment on the spectacular, interesting, et al, aspect of the arrival portal of a destination. Arriving from Toronto at the Exchange St station in downtown Buffalo can only be described by one word: depressing. The small station under a highway overpass was tatty and looked abandoned without a taxi in sight. We had to walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Mike S, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Dear Steve S. Thank you very much for staying with us and for providing us with some feedback! I am very happy to report that there is a council in Buffalo currently deciding on a new location that will serve as a more suitable and pleasing train station. We always do our best to accommodate early arrivals, however, it is...

New Buffalo, Michigan
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Truly beautiful building, great event venue, but I wouldn't recommend spending the night. Upon arrival, I noticed a long, gray hair in the sink, dust on all of the surfaces (desk, bedside table, etc), and spots on the carpet. Not great, but the bedding seemed clean enough. Then, I took a shower and wish I hadn't. The steam brought all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jei89005
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding here we weren't able to stay here, but we had a lot of interaction with the staff. We had our wedding at the court yard room which was gorgeous. But every time I had family there for things the front desk n hotel staff Weren't helping my family members on where to go within the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank asherms21
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Very cool - Kitchy place! The pool scene was awesome and the whole vibe was really great. I loved the rooms - they were vintage but in good condition and done very tastefully. I thought they were decent size. I self parked and it wasn't that difficult. Would definitely stay there again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthlia H
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Room was very big and modern, it was large enough to have a bunch of friends in between the wedding and the reception and gave us all plenty of room to relax and kill some time. The room itself was very modern and unexpected, I would recommend !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle I
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I could ignore the broken coffee maker, the partial room cleaning but getting locked out of the hotel at 5:15am after taking someone to the airport was too much. I spoke with a desk person before leaving but they were busy setting up breakfast. I Rang and rang the doorbell, kicked the door. No help. Finally I was able to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cpk123532
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Cpk123532, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your coffee maker was broken and that you felt your room was partially cleaned. We certainly wish you had said something so that we could have taken care of these concerns while you were staying with us. We...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here our wedding night and we were not disappointed. We booked a junior suite which was lovely! It was a split-level design, with the bed and bathroom on a raised section a few steps up. A see-through fireplace graced the middle of the room, surrounded by soft grays, whites, and purples in the décor. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
Olean
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for my daughters wedding, which was held here as well. I had stayed here years ago and the place was run down. They have done a marvelous job refurbishing the place, updating the venue while maintaining the original splendor of the building. A single room is a bit small, but cozy. The suites are very spacious with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave P

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
1,721 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.0 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.5 km away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#12 of 23 in Buffalo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range: RM589 - RM1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Toronto
West Palm Beach, Florida

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles A8766EWwilliamb, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor room 202.”
 of 5 bubbles karenm249, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor to get further away traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles stevesI1920IU, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cpk123532, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a junior suite”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5