We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliffside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Cliffside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,009: English reviews
Freehold, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2014

My husband and I love staying at B&B’s and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cliffside Inn. Debbie welcomed us and was very helpful in telling us about Newport and the things to see and do. We arrived just as they were putting out a beautiful assortment of cheeses and wine for guests to enjoy. Perfect timing on our part... More 

Thank SLM07728
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

The Sun Room is one of my favorites! It is just so flush with light and I adore the steam shower. We are so glad that you enjoyed the room and your time at the Cliffside Inn. Being from Freehold, I always am excited to meet other folks from that area. Seeing the 07728 in your TripAdvisor id just makes... More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Pros: - The building and decor are lovely. Truly a gem with an amazing atmosphere. - The room (Turner Suite) was huge, extremely well equipped and wonderfully furnished. - Breakfasts were among the best I have ever had. The owner / chef is creative, skilful, makes the absolute best of the local produce, and is passionate about it. - It’s... More 

Thank edtealdi
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your thorough review of the Cliffside Inn. It is always a struggle for us when it comes to the furnishings. We try to balance keeping to tradition with modern conveniences. Unfortunately, the Victorian style was not build with a lot of drawer space. We do have some rooms with more drawers space and we'd be happy to discuss... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2014

I cannot say enough great things about the Cliffside Inn. From the lovely room (Beatrice) to the tasty breakfast -- everything was superb. My husband and I stayed two very relaxing nights there and loved every minute of it. The location is wonderful, right next to the Cliff Walk. And the owners are so friendly and helpful with any and... More 

Thank Dru49
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Cliffside Inn and for all of your kind words about your experience here. We love the Beatrice Room too! That bath tub in the bay window is just decadent. Being such world travelers, you high praise really means a lot to us. All the best, Nancy and Bill More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The Cliffside Inn provided us a perfect 4 day vacation over Labor Day. From the moment we walked in we were treated to first class accommodations. From the French Press Coffee at breakfast to the bath products this was by far the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The Inn Keepers have thought of everything to make... More 

1 Thank HobokenJohn
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in the Tower Suite. It was a great holiday weekend and we enjoyed getting to know you both. Next time you need a break from city life in Hoboken, we hope you'll come visit us again. Best, Nancy and Bill More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our first time in Newport, we checked into the Marriott and were so disappointed by the accommodations that we immediately hopped on the web to find an alternate place to stay. We stumbled upon the Cliffside Inn and it couldn't have been a more perfect and pleasant place to stay. It's located just steps away from the start of the... More 

1 Thank KLS58
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for that great review. We were thrilled when we got your "distress" call that we had space available. It was such a pleasure to see you and your mom enjoying Newport, the Cliffside and the Seaview Suite. Maybe next time your dad will be able to join in the fun. I hope the rest of your trip went... More 

Middleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stumbled across this inn looking for a place I could take my dog. What a find! Warm & friendly folks - great breakfasts & afternoon wine - beautiful suite - amenities galore. My doggie, Polly, and I had a wonderful time walking the Cliff Walk - I will be going back - love to go in the winter to... More 

Thank Sheila M
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

So glad that you and Polly had a wonderful stay at the Cliffside Inn. It is so nice to be able to take our four legged friends on holiday. I was glad you were able to relax a bit and enjoy Newport too. We hope you'll both be back with us soon. Best, Nancy and Bill (and hopefully next time... More 

Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We frequent Bed and Breakfast Inns and we have to say its one of the inns that are the top of our list. The staff was courteous and professional. The inn and it's rooms were immaculate. The owners and inn keeper were very accomodating. Beautiful fire pit and a stones throw away to the cliffwalk. I was slightly disappointed that... More 

Thank Inperfecttaste
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing the Cliffside Inn. Bill tightened up that bed the day you left. I wish we had known sooner so that we could've rectified the issue immediately. We do try to stay in the rooms on a rotating basis so that we can try to catch those issues ourselves, but that's not easy to do... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cliffside Inn for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. Debbie immediately asked us our dinner plans for our stay, offering suggestions if needed, and showing us on a map where we had already reserved. She personally walked us to the Cliff Suite... More 

Thank klk523
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you chose the Cliffside Inn for your anniversary get away. It was great to have you here and we are so happy that you enjoyed the Cliff Suite. It was also great to get to know you during the wine hour. We do hope that you will plan a return trip soon. Warmly, Nancy and Bill More 

Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent a two nights break at Cliffside Inn and we confirm all positive reports. Nancy and Bill and the entire staff took care of us: Bill helped me to take a very heavy luggage up to the top of the stairs. We stayed in St. George's suite and our room was perfect with a remarkable marble bathroom. For sure... More 

Thank paolo b
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Paolo - it was so lovely to have you and Claudia stay with us. We really love having overseas visitors and you two were so delightful. I hope that you will return to Newport to stay with us again soon. Best, Nancy and Bill More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the cliffside inn was perfect. The location is excellent with a neighborhood feel and just steps to the cliff walk. The breakfasts are amazing. We stayed in the Sun Room and it was perfect. The steam shower with aromatherapy was to die for. Bill made some great recommendations for exploring Newport. We will definitely stay here again... More 

Thank Alee514
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

We are always thrilled to hear that we've exceeded our reputation. We truly enjoyed having you with us. People often wonder about the steam shower in the summer, but I think it is great any time of year. That aroma therapy is just so dang relaxing. We look forward to a future visit. Best, Nancy and Bill More 

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (452)
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Room/Suite (106)
Bathroom (22)
Dining (35)
View from Room (6)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Videos (1)
Other (181)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Dining (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,760 reviews
0.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.5 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM947 - RM2,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffside Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
over a year ago
Norwalk, Connecticut

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites were nicer, more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles averykrein, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Atlantic Room in the cottage”
 of 5 bubbles jonmanch, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Tower Room, two story with seperate access.”
 of 5 bubbles randyjacks0n, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I suspect all rooms are exquisitely appointed. Ours was.”
 of 5 bubbles Robroyce, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the 3rd floor suite because of the beautiful view, but be aware that there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles katw646, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay