We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Newport Onshore

Show Prices
#15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Newport Onshore
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Start your review of Wyndham Newport Onshore
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Newport Onshore is right on the water with fantastic views of harbor. Elevators in all buildings and luggage carts in each lobby. The room was very clean and master bedroom bed was comfortable. Three televisions in the two bedrooms but in the second bedroom was an old style tv. Kitchen was excellent with everything you need. The only issue was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Heather W, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Wyndham's Newport Onshore. We are delighted you enjoyed the fantastic views of the harbor and comfort of the unit. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the indoor pool, and we hope to see you again. Best regards.

Oklahoma City, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best part was we were convenient to the wharf area and restaurants. All within walking distance. We also had an unobstructed west-facing patio with beautiful sunset views. The beds were good, and the furnishings were okay. Not new, but nothing was broken.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl I
Karen G, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hi Darryl, W're happy that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, and that you were able to see the sunsets from your unit! We hope you come back to visit us soon. Warm regards,

Needham, MA USA
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Two couples stayed in 2 bedroom unit. There are large pillars under the building and you have to maneuver getting two cars into one long space. It was impossible to deal with. Luckily, because it's winter, we were able to park in Marina spaces in a typical lined parking lot. We would never stay here in the summertime. We couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean293
Sara C, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is helpful in identifying our areas of opportunity. Please let our staff know during any future visits if we may be of assistance in making your stay more enjoyable.

Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We usually plan a get away to Newport the weekend after Thanksgiving last several years using timeshare points. Stayed here from Friday to Monday. First visit to this resort. Great location for walking to restaurants and shopping and the waterfront activities. While no where as busy as during the summer, it's surprisingly busy between Thanksgiving and end of year, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David M
Karen G, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello David, Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed the views from your unit, and were able to take in some of sites in town. We hope you come back to visit us soon. Warm regards,

Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We reserved our long weekend months before and called the front desk to conform our reservation on the way. Rude woman at desk said we didn't have a reservation and suggested we call their other property. We called other property and that woman confirmed address on our printed reservation was the first we had called. We called rude woman back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William W
Karen G, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello William, I'm sorry to hear that your interaction with our resort staff didn't meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in at Wyndham. It is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue...

Holland, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Location is perfect and units are very large with great amenities like full kitchen plus washer/dryer. Lobby and elevators need a refresh, it was nice to see one of the buildings was being heavily worked on. Parking is included with ability to come and go, but parking angle makes it a little hard to back out and turn in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryw678
ColbyTH, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello Terry, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our Newport Onshore location, we appreciate you submitting this feedback! It is great to hear that your overall experience was enjoyable and we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience. We are hopeful that you will come see us again and we look forward...

Sherrard, Illinois
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This resort is in a great location within easy walking distance of the Newport wharves and harbors. We spent a week in a top floor timeshare unit and found it to be great for our needs. The unit was a bit dated, but furnishings were in good working order. Parking area is a bit tight for a medium sized SUV....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
Sara C, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Rick! We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your visit. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it helps to identify areas of opportunity. We look forward to being of assistance during your next visit to make it even more enjoyable.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 November 2016

First time visit to the Northeast. Was given a room on the 4th floor right over the marina with an excellent view of the whole bay and bridge. Did have an elevator which made access easy, Room was very nice and well maintained. Kitchen was a little small but made excellent use of available space. Beds were very nice with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank md2wards4u
Elisabeth_EAE, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Newport Onshore for your first visit to the area. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Maplewood, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The location is central with a nice view of the harbor, but it still requires a vehicle for touring. Perhaps younger folks might do better with the walking on the rough streets. Our unit was two bedrooms and baths with a small kitchen which served four people quite well. The elevator was welcomed, but the parking does not accommodate a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
Elisabeth_EAE, Owner Care at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Newport, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Wow, what a place So much to see and do. First 2 days cloudy,rain,fog, typical New England I guess. Rest of the week was pretty nice day and nite. Wyndham was dissapointed though. Have stayed at many and usually look for them when searching for places because they are normally really nicely done,comfortable and deserve their crown rating. This time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eagle1highlander

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
540 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
549 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Wyndham Newport Onshore

Address: 405 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6603 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM669 - RM2,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Newport Onshore 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Newport Onshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Newport Onshore Hotel Newport
Newport Onshore
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Newport Onshore staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Holland, Massachusetts
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
7 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Newport Onshore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two bedrooms have two decks”
 of 5 bubbles 453paulg, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with parking in an open space not between pillars”
 of 5 bubbles Jean293, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try for an upper floor corner room for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WayneR516, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can get wifi free for up to 4 devices, after that you have to pay.”
 of 5 bubbles bdevine29, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all units have a great view of the harbor, easy access to all restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles derynoski, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5