We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newport Blues Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Newport Blues Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Newport Blues Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for a wedding Fourth of July weekend. We had two rooms, one in the Newport Blues Inn and one at the Blue Jewel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, as were all common areas. Both houses were very charming and breakfast was delicious and made to order. I would highly recommend staying here!

Thank Shannon M
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, and we hope to see you again soon, call directly and ask for our best rate.

Portola Valley, California
Reviewed 2 July 2015

We stayed three nights here, loved it. We had an upstairs room in the back, spacious and quiet. We enjoyed the living room on the ground floor, especially the home-made cookies. We didn't use the garden, but it was inviting. The breakfast was ample (great fruit and muffins) and the breakfast room light and fun. They had different chefs on...

Thank Carl C
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and you will be happy to hear that the work happening in the neighborhood is almost complete. Glad that you liked your room. If you ever come back to the east coast please look us up and we may be able to offer you even more special accommodations! Ask for Susan

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night here (6/27/15) at newport blues Inn. The inn is located right in pelham Avenue (a 5 minute walk to all of the resturants and shops along the harbour). Everything was in walking distance which was great because traffic was heavy. When we first checked in, we were welcomed by Susan, who was extremely...

Thank Lekupis
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back and if you call us directly we can offer you our best rates and inform you of any specials we may be offering. Best wishes and take care, Susan

Westport, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Walking distance to the wharf and famed Bellevue. There is a park right up the street. Accommodations were clean and comfortable; rooms were fairly large. Booking was difficult as I had a Groupon and space was very limited. Breakfast was excellent. There was some construction going on next door, but it was easy to tune out. They provided a parking...

Thank AmeliaM91782
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Inn for your stay! We hope to see you again. Call us directly anytime to find out which specials we are currently featuring.

Reviewed 24 June 2015

We just spent two nights at the Newport Blues Inn. We were pleased with the room as it was clean and bright with a large bay window on the second floor. The four poster bed was very comfortable although rather high off the ground which could be a problem for very short or elderly people. The bathroom was equipped with...

1Thank Rockport4
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon, keep an eye out for our e-mail blasts offering specials to our repeat guests. The Newport Blues Inn

new york
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay when in Newport. Centrally located. Near the wharf and shops. B&B is very clean and well maintained. It was very quiet even though it was near a busy street. Loved the free parking and breakfast. Walkable to everything.

1Thank kgee19
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely post. We look forward to seeing you again!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 May 2015

My husband and I stayed here in 2014 and used a livingsocial. I will not bore you with the details of the awful customer service we received, from the time of making reservations until after checking out. I have sent the Newport Blues Inn four emails providing feedback and asking for a response and I have yet to hear from...

Thank travelinnelly
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are under new management and would like the opportunity to change your mind. If you would like to have a complimentary stay allow us to make it up to you, please call us and ask for Susan. Our inn has been painted and the rooms all have new beds, and we have some new...

Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We stayed two nights a week ago from a Living Social deal, which was a very good value for the price. Positives: Friendly staff, excellent location (within walking distance to waterfront, but on a quiet street - a major plus!), two comfortable queen beds, satisfactory breakfast. Negatives: On-street parking (Could be a major problem in high season), tiny bathroom, lukewarm...

Thank Dick264
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewed 19 April 2015

B&B in an older house - spent two nights recently. Breakfasts were very good (greeted promptly & served with hot dish; plus many other items). Wifi worked well. Comfortable and convenient - close to harbor. One complaint - greeted by maid (metal in face) right after return from breakfast; not a convenient time so we declined. Weather was quite good...

1Thank PandL86
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have reviewed our policy in regards to body jewelry and all have agreed that it is inappropriate in the workplace. Should you visit in the future all will be in compliance.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 April 2015

We purchased a Living Social deal to stay for two nights; we wound up with a room at the Newport Blues Inn. Several weeks in advance, we had requested a couple times (via phone and email) to have a room with two beds; our requests were ignored, and we wound up with one queen bed. We completely understood that not...

2Thank Lauren R
blues966029, Manager at Newport Blues Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry this happened to you. We are making positive changes under our new management and we'd like to invite you back with a complementary stay. Please contact Susan and we will make sure that your next stay is a more pleasurable experience.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (29)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Room/Suite (10)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (13)


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newport Blues Inn, one of Newport RI's finest Inns, offers our guests an experience of classic RI charm with a modern day style and appeal. Located a walking distance from the center of town, the beach, and the Bellevue Mansions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newport Blues Inn

Address: 96 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3130
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM1,079 - RM1,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Blues Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Blues Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Blues Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newport Blues Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Blues Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor if you don't want to climb stairs.”
tigermb98, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The beach is pretty close by car.”
Rasel11, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for slightly larger room”
alann568, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Harbor room is roomy and has a really comfortable king bed.”
738anneh, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“This is an Inn so there isn't an elevator . Third level is the highest also there is parking about a block away.”
ErikaH1, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5