We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marshall Slocum Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Marshall Slocum Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marshall Slocum Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 405: English reviews
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The hotel has a lot of character and is a delight to visit. Stayed for two nights in Sept. Nice greeting from Mark and very helpful with the various sights to see. Although, the room was a little tired, (only due to the age of the building), it did have a nice charm. It's a bit of a walk back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burtonram
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 October 2016

A last minute weekend getaway really exceeded our expectations. Beautiful inn, walking distance to everything yet tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. Very welcoming. Delicious breakfasts. The owner was always available to answer questions and give advice. Loved it! Hope to get back there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradcoup
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for great review and enjoying your anniversary getaway with us. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Loved it. Conveniently located, beautiful (and big) well-appointee rooms, and freshly prepared breakfast each morning. We will definitely come back the next time that we're in Newport and look forward to our trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliamcveigh24
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Julia for the wonderful review. We appreciate the compliments of the room and breakfast. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Newport.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Pleasant room with washbasin, separate shower and toilet, comfortable bed and very good for our 2 night stay in Newport. Excellent location within easy walking distance of restaurants. We drove to various mansions as we were fitting in five but we could have walked. Breakfast was good - pleased to be able to choose simple egg dishes as some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Judy, we look forward to seeing you again.

Bernardsville, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We spent one night in the apartment For a girls' weekend. PROS: extremely clean rooms and bathroom, comfortable king sized bed and sofa bed, delicious breakfast, on site parking in rear, friendly staff. The pictures posted on the website are accurate. CONS: the apartment was located next door to the B&B house which we did not know. Poor lighting leading...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjpteach
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Below is a description of the Apartment from our website: The Apartment $155-$349 Located next to the main Inn, the Great Little Apartment features a King bed, Day bed, Sofa Bed, Living Room w/ Flat Screen TV/DVD,Bath w/Shower, Deck, Private Entrance. Children are welcome. Additional $50/$35 per night for each additional adult/child. Maximum Occupancy: 4....

Tasmania
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Our stay was excellent and Mark an informative and genuine host. We would rate this inn as one of the best we stayed in during our one month visit to New England. We thoroughly recommend this inn. The room comfortable, the breakfast tasty and the company at breakfast enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassieTasmania
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, I enjoyed chatting with you about Tasmania and hope to make it there someday.

Norwich, Vermont
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My room (the "Library") was quite beautiful - well-appointed and nice bathroom with a spacious shower. It is on the first floor, so if heavy footsteps are a problem for you, consider an upstairs room. The grounds and dining area out back are lovely. The sitting room was cozy. There is a small refrigerator in the dining room for guests'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Judy.

Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights during the Wine and Food Festival this year. The room was so cute and the place was very clean. The staff was very friendly and Mark who runs the inn was super friendly and so helpful. You felt like you were staying at a friends place he made it so comfortable. The breakfast was AMAZING so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to having you back next year Kim.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Amazing guest house with great service! Mark and his staff couldn't be nicer. We have been staying here for years. Inn is in a great location, just far enough away from everything so you have quiet but close enough to walk to everything. Parking in the back is an added bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
marshallslocuminn, General Manager at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Julie, we always love seeing you and Sean.

Darien, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I went with two friends to tour Newport. We loved the rooms and had fab breakfasts - thank you, Mark. Sat out on the deck one night and enjoyed the company of other guests. Lovely spot and a very comfortable stay. The rooms were nice and the iPad was a nice touch. Close to everything. I would definitely stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
marshallslocuminn, Owner at Marshall Slocum Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review Patty.

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,762 reviews
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
482 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.1 km away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#2 of 102 in Newport
1,023 reviews
0.4 km away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Address: 29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM625 - RM1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marshall Slocum Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Astoria, New York, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Marshall Slocum Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no elevators, but our room was on the top floor and the clerk offered to carry our bags (which we didn't need)”
 of 5 bubbles hawkt1959, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Library Room. Loved it”
 of 5 bubbles JohnDi414, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“- Each room has an iPad for netflix! - DON'T miss breakfast! It's delicious.”
 of 5 bubbles M1025FSsarahk, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a nice standing shower. All rooms are quiet, with no street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffonthebeach, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor room is best”
 of 5 bubbles jeant0708, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay