We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Expedia.comUS$183*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$215*
US$183*
US$215*
US$215*
US$183*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,142: English reviews
Start your review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

All in all it was a great hotel. The Newport Harbor Hotel has very friendly and knowledgeable staff also great seating by the water. Take in the view as you sit back relax and retire to your room at the end of the night. I will say the elevator was very slow we ended up using the stares the majority...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
Mentor, Ohio
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and very clean rooms. Pool was great, heated and indoor. Wife and I were on a romantic getaway and the hotel was easy to access. Was a little disappointed about the cost of parking but to be expected. That was not something that was bad.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Love8149
Bellport, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Front desk personnel were horrible. Booked 2 rooms on Expedia 2 months ago and asked for rooms next to each other. Got two rooms two floors apart. Front desk personnel spent more time on their cell phones than helping us. 25 bucks a night parking was never disclosed on their website or Expedia. Rooms were clean. Continental breakfast was lousy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blpweb
Management response:

Dear blpweb, Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We acknowledge that there are many options for you to stay in the downtown area however you will find that being in downtown most locations do have a parking charge or resort fee. You will find this listed on...

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel was clean and centrally located, (except for the mansions). The pool and marina area was nice for the kids. The downside is the parking fee ($25.00) and no breakfast considering the price we paid was definitely a negative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia E
Management response:

Dear Cynthia E, We appreciate your business and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated saltwater pool and the views of our marina. With our hotel in downtown Newport and as you mentioned close to everything you will find that parking is at a cost. One of the wonderful things about our property is that we are a...

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This location is perfect for downtown Newport. Right on the water, easy parking, close to all the shops and restaurants. Rooms are always clean and comfortable. The water view from the guestroom is beautiful. People always complain about the parking fee, but you are in Newport. For $25 you can come in and out of the parking lot as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ETM06
Management response:

Dear ETM06, We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and agree with you for centrally located parking and access to everything the $25 charge is well worth it. Our views are top notch and our staff is always ready to provide you with excellent service. We do hope to see you again in...

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was great to be so close to the water with a waterfront view. It was the first day of the Winterfest so Newport offered many activities for people of all ages. Definitely worth consideration to stay in Newport during the annual Winterfest. Activities at the Newport Vineyard were great! Sunset at the hotel was amazing. Room was modestly decorated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patk960
Management response:

Dear Patk1960, Thank you for your recent review. Winterfest is a wonderful time here in Newport with so many activities going on and providing additional events right here in downtown it is definitely a wonderful time to visit. We are happy you had a comfortable stay. Our rooms are going through a beautification process so when you return you will...

Raynham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family stayed at this hotel for a Spring get-away. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The most attractive feature is that is right on the waterfront. The price we paid was reasonable (we negotiated the rate down). In-season rates (summer) would probably be much, much higher (beyond our budget).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
Management response:

Dear Alan A, We are so pleased you enjoyed a weekend getaway with your family and appreciate your feedback. Our hotel and marina being in the heart of downtown, close to all the sites with a beautiful view is definitely something we pride ourselves on. Thank you for your response and we do hope to see you again in the...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice indoor heated saltwater pool. Amazing location within walking distance from everything but the mansions. Only complaints would be that breakfast wasn't included and wifi was spotty, but otherwise we didn't have any issues at all. Parking is $25/day which is fine given the location (very understandable and worth it to us. Just factor it into the total cost and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated Saltwater pool. Kept at 85 degrees it is a great way to relax on your vacation away from home. In order to present full breakfast options to our guests we strive to serve the best quality breakfast in...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our annual get away weekend of college friends and chose to go Newport this year. We had breakfast in the hotel both days and will have to to say everything about it was outstanding, Danielle our waitress was excellent, very personable, and just full of energy. She remembered us the second day and even immediately brought the coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peg C
Management response:

Dear Peg C, Thank you for your recent visit with us here at The Newport. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful weekend with your college friends and that our staff was able to provide you with all your needs. Saltwater has been a great success over the past year since it has opened and our...

Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

The marina at the Newport is well kept. The docks are in good shape. All the slips have water, electricity and cable tv. You also get free wi/fi. You have access to the heated indoor pool. Heather and Chris are very friendly and attentive to the needs of all travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjmason1014
Management response:

Dear mjmason1014, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and our staff was accommodating. We do hope to see you again in the future. With Warmth in Hospitality, Heather H.

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,922 reviews
0.3 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
558 reviews
1.0 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.8 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
370 reviews
0.4 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Saltwater - Newport's new, hip, waterfront destination. Here you'll find a casual atmosphere paired with locally sourced cuisine, affluent libations, and signature table side service. Friends, food, and ambiance combine to create a dining experience begging to be savored. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, spring water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-3001
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM748 - RM2,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sUre you have breakfast at Saltwater Restaurant downstairs”
30dane, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wharf view was great”
Love8149, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wifi didn't work for us.”
CynthiaE66, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely get a room with a view of the waterfront. Parking is right in front of the hotel.”
patk960, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a waterview”
Kerryanne212, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$183* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$215
Orbitz.comUS$183
TripAdvisorUS$183
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates