We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,705: English reviews
Rochdale, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I’d read up on the Hotel Viking before staying there so I knew that we would pay a Resort Fee of $16, and $15 parking on top of that. There were a lot of residential streets around the hotel which looked like you could park there for free if you did not want to use the hotel’s car park, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank klee_baker
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel could be charming due to its location and historic building. The guys who park your car are very friendly and personable. The lobby is modern and doesn't fit the decor of the guest rooms. Temperature in the suite we stayed in was cold in the bedroom and nice in the living area. The room is beautifully decorated but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the friendly service provided by our valet team. However, we are disappointed that you were not impressed with all aspects of your stay. Your concerns will be shared with our housekeeping team so we can improve upon the quality of our... More 

Pomfret, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was spotless and quiet and comfortable. We were looking for an inexpensive, overnight that was not too far from home. The Viking offered a weeknight package that included breakfast- exactly what we were hoping for. We had dinner at the restaurant at the Inn and breakfast the following morning. The seafood bisque was amazing and the lobster crepe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie K
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfect getaway at The Hotel Viking! We are delighted that your stay was everything that you hoped for and that you were very relaxed in your accommodations. Your compliments mean a lot to us, and we will share your comments with our team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Groupon purchase...makes me wonder,does Viking sell its cheap ,cold, overused summer room on Groupon to make up for slump of season. Horrible cold room said°75, locked heat !!!! cell phone heat app said °61, rugs & floors cold and damp, not wimps camp all year round. Desk sent nice man with space heater ...remember in top 5 in Newport! Cold,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is disheartening to read comments like yours. We are disappointed to hear that you were not comfortable in your accommodations and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced at our pool. We take your concerns seriously and we will discuss your experience with our team. Our top priority is to provide the best customer service for our guests... More 

Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a great property! Staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. Sam at the front desk was awesome! Such a beautiful and clean hotel. Rooms were perfect and spacious. Ideal location to enjoy Newport with out being in the mix of everything. The restaurant was bright and well designed with great food. My sister joined us for a drink and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marini1971
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

The greatest compliment we can receive is when a guest mentions that they would return for a visit! It warms our hearts to learn that you had an amazing experience with us. We truly appreciate your high remarks about our beautiful property. It is wonderful to read about your recognition of the excellent service provided by Sam and we cannot... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just attended the Thanksgiving Grand Buffet which was great. Although a lovely setting, our room was loud to the adjacent rooms. The staff was courteous. They will take care of you. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

Helpful?
Thank Dean B
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is great that you chose to celebrate the holiday with us at our Thanksgiving Day Buffet. We are delighted to hear that our staff was very accommodating to you and we will share your high remarks with them. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel... More 

East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel on the historic sites list. Tastefully restored and decorated. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It was very crowded the weekend we were there. A great location in Newport in a quaint, historic area, not the touristy section. We were there for a banquet and stayed over - food was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a relaxing time at The Hotel Viking during your banquet. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location as we are a short distance away from many historical attractions in Newport. We appreciate your compliments about our hotel and our staff, and we will certainly share your comments with our... More 

Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a great romantic getaway. We felt like we were in the center of Newport, maybe a 15 minute walk from the Thames Street eateries, the shops on Bellevue, and funky bar scene on Broadway. The room was well appointed and comfortable. We were there over Thanksgiving and the lobby buzzed with energy. I'll bet the hotels bustles with... More 

Helpful?
Thank whycandi
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a perfect romantic getaway at our hotel! We are glad that you chose to celebrate Thanksgiving with us. Nothing pleases us more than hearing that everything went smoothly from check-in to check-out. As you mentioned, our hotel is centrally located near the best shops and restaurants in Newport and we are thrilled that you enjoyed... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Kids have been coming here for many years at Thanksgiving time. We join them periodically when sharing our time with our other kids. New owners and a recent renovation is causing me to knock now my rating of this once lovely hotel due to a poor attempt at making this classic New England Landmark hotel, chic/eclectic. They took the public... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective with us. It is disheartening to read that you were not thoroughly impressed by everything and that we missed the mark on ensuring you of a great stay. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy our renovations. Please know that complete details about our resort fee are on our website, and we regret... More 

Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice stay in a nice room. Nice staff. Strangely decorated lobby and bar? Lovely art deco hotel and rooms, but bad attempt to make a modern bar and lobby? No charm, lots of noice and more of a train station? Not a nice place for a cool drink when you get back from a day around town... go somewhere else!

Helpful?
2 Thank bo11
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is disappointing to read about experiences like yours. We never want a guest to leave our hotel feeling not satisfied with their stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered here. Please know that our staff is available to assist you if you ever needed anything. We will address your concerns with our staff to ensure that... More 

848 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (421)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
480 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM554 - RM2,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Groupon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
7 months ago
Clifton, New Jersey
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This was our first time staying at the Viking. Our room was absolutely fine. I'm sure there are better views (ours was of the parking lot).”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieK929, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are very nice. I think because of the age of the building, its just loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 605deanb, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We chose a larger room and felt comfortable hanging out in the room for the day.”
 of 5 bubbles whycandi, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“While public areas were recently (poorly) renovated, some of the rooms are getting "beat" (bathrooms, furniture etc.)”
 of 5 bubbles jeffreyk471, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King Suite is very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles TheMutt, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay