We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,797: English reviews
San Diego, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely old historic hotel right in town with great public and private rooms and a warm and professional staff. Don't hesitate to book. We were given tips for great restaurants within walking distance. The only regret is that we didn't have bathing suits with us to enjoy the beautiful pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerNC
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are glad that you loved our historic hotel! It is nice that you enjoyed the guest rooms that we offer along with our amazing staff. We are pleased to read that our staff provided you with helpful suggestions on finding the best restaurants in town. Our team truly cares about assisting our guests and it is great that you...

USA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visiting Newport in the winter is refreshing. We were there on a very cold night yet still were able to walk to nearby restaurants for dinner and also for breakfast. The valet young men were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. We used a Groupon for this Getaway and the value was great. We brought our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieoh
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is nice to read that you found great value in our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed exploring the variety of restaurants that are in town and that you loved the beautiful views. To learn that you were very relaxed in your accommodations is truly a wonderful compliment to us. We will certainly share all of your kind...

Chicopee, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second trip to the Viking and we were disappointed that our room accommodations were not what we expected. The bathroom was split on both sides of the entrance hall. The shower / toilet part of the room was so small I could barely use it ... never mind my husband! And our quiet weekend get-away was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim-and-Laurie923
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed dining at our restaurant and the friendly service provided by our staff. However, it is disappointing to hear that your stay was not as you anticipated. We do apologize for any disturbances you had and we regret that you were not impressed by...

Westerly, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to the Viking as an early Valentine's Day gift. The first day we arrived went relatively well, we were able to check in early which was a plus since we had to leave before checkout on our last day. Our room, an estate fireside room was beautiful, the problem came when we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kanasacuta
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your comments with us. It is very disappointing to read that you did not have a great time at our hotel and that we let you down when it mattered the most. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had as we understand your frustrations about moving to many rooms throughout your stay. Receiving excellent customer...

Block Island, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in Newport often and the Viking is the usual spot I hang my hat. The location is perfect, a short walk to everything. The rooms are comfortable - beds and bed linens particularly so. The staff is always welcoming and friendly. My personal staff favorite is Steve behind the bar. We have spent many evenings chatting, amicably sparring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillieMcGinnes
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are flattered that you consider our hotel your go-to place to stay in the area! It is nice to know that we consistently exceed your expectations every time you stay here. We agree that our hotel is in a central location and we are glad that you enjoyed exploring the town. Your compliments about Steve are truly appreciated. How...

New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a quick trip to Newport and chose the Viking for its central location and price. The staff were very nice and our valet Shawn was eager and helpful. The hotel is clean however the "coziness", as it was described by the front desk, could be an issue. The bathroom is VERY ,small. There is a half sink that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LInda m
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It is nice that you chose to stay at our property for our central location and we are flattered that you recommend our hotel for our friendly staff. However, it is disappointing that you were not very relaxed in your accommodations. We understand your frustrations in regards to not having enough room in your bathroom. Providing a relaxing atmosphere is...

East Hampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place to stay in every way - wonderful ambience (historic but with all the modern conveniences), comfortable and attractive rooms, good facilities on site (nice pool and workout area, terrific spa services, good bar and restaurant, super valet parking) and easy access to all Newport has to offer. But the staff, all of whom are genuinely friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PocotopaugJJ
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It makes us smile to read that we exceeded your expectations on every level! We are flattered that you loved the historic charm and modern touches of our property. At our hotel, we have a variety of amenities that our guests can enjoy such as dining at our One Bellevue restaurant and working out at our fitness center. It is...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's our second time staying in this beautiful hotel. From when you pull up to the time you leave you get 5 star service. The rooms are amazing and the service is great. Steve the bartender is awesome. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Valet parking etc. Amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertmcloughlin
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel! It is so flattering to learn that you were very impressed by our beautiful property and amazing rooms. It is our main goal to provide a welcoming atmosphere, and we are glad that you felt relaxed here. We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed the friendly service...

Marlborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

check in and out was a breeze, helpful and professional people at the front desk. I asked about a couple of dining options and was given good information. Room was small but comfortable and quiet. Hotel is in a great location, easy to walk to everything. I would stay there again but would skip the spa. Spa was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emcdadex2
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

To learn that you had a wonderful time at our hotel is very pleasing to us. We are delighted that check-in and check-out went smoothly for you and that our staff assisted you. We will let them know how much you appreciated their helpful suggestions about finding good dining options within the area. As you mentioned, our property is a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love staying at the Viking. Everyone there is so nice the second you arrive until you leave. We loved our room on the second floor. The room was so clean and fireplace was lit... The front desk associate Jackson, was very knowledgable and recommended a great restaurants in the area. The new lobby is beautiful and we loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lgpm
HotelVikingRI, General Manager at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

To learn that you consider our hotel to be the best in the area is truly flattering! We are delighted that you felt welcomed here when you first arrived. Our staff takes pride in providing the friendliest service and we are glad that you admired that quality. It is nice to hear that Jackson made helpful suggestions about some of...

860 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (434)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
521 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM508 - RM2,772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 month ago
Port Jefferson, New York

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Order a refrigerator while they last”
 of 5 bubbles Shart43, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to face the street for a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Jlturkington, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor, corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in an upper floor room”
 of 5 bubbles Jim-and-Laurie923, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Everything was great !”
 of 5 bubbles HeliaMar22, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5