We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Viking

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,811 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,758: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We stayed at the Viking two nights during the Christmas holidays. We booked a couple of King Guest rooms, which were spacious and comfortable. The staff at reception, the valet parking team and those in the restaurant were all very welcoming. The breakfast selection was very good. Overall - pleased with our stay. We will return when next in Newport.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IJK_London_20
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank for staying at the Hotel Viking. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our hotel and restaurant staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Newport!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Stayed with a wedding party. Great location to walk to shops and dining options. Staff was great and helpful. Reasonable fitness center and nice pool. Bathroom is small with updated sink which leaves no space for toiletries and the wife's makeup. Did not upgrade the shower though. Bed was comfortable. Parking was valet only @ $17.00 a night. A bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlcorcom
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Viking and we thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced due to the size of your bathroom. As we are an historic hotel, some rooms do have smaller bathrooms and sinks than others. We are however, happy that you were able to take advantage...

New York
Reviewed 2 January 2015

The Hotel Viking is perfectly located to enjoy all that Newport has to offer. Definitely try to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms. They are lovely. We have stayed many times, and while this time we were pretty far from the lobby, at least we walked off some of the yummy food we had there. The whole family...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovetoread2015
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you again to you and your family for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Newport and your guestroom in the lovely Newport Wing. We look forward to your next visit!

Farmingdale, New York
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Stayed at hotel on New Year's Eve and was not disappointed this was where we picked. All perfect. The valet staff was exceptional!! It was freezing cold and they were never slow!! They were courtous, polite and very kind. The hotel was decorated beaitufilly for the holdiay. It is in a great location to walk to Thames STreet and downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen w
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Viking for your New Year’s Eve getaway. Our hardworking valet staff is truly top notch and we appreciate your mentioning them. We are happy you were able to enjoy our festive holiday décor. Please come back again soon!

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Awesome! Just awesome in all respects! We had a wonderful stay. Excellent attention to every detail by all staff. Beautiful decor, spotlessly clean rooms. Thank you, Mr. Gervais and all the staff, for a most enjoyable visit to Newport!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friend2015
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy that your visit to Newport was so enjoyable. Our staff works hard to tend to every detail and we are pleased that your stay was wonderful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

We are a family of 4 and we just checked in today at Hotel Viking. Right off the bat, the building and lobby looked great: clean and welcoming. Our check-in was smooth and efficient. We received a warm welcome to "Newport's very first hotel" and the hotel rep was very friendly. She was courteous enough to change our reservation from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SoundG
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Viking. As we are a large hotel with two wings, the Viking wing and the Newport wing, some rooms are a bit far from the main lobby area. We can assure you that there is no effort to place all guests with children in a certain location. We sincerely apologize for...

Lexington ma
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Our room was beautifully decorated and clean. The staff at the hotel was delightful, they truly try their best to make us feel welcome! The hotel location is very good - away from the main shopping area but a very short walk to it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceci w
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Viking. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. They do their best to ensure all guests feel welcome and we are so happy that you did. We are indeed in an ideal location for enjoying Newport’s attractions. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope you will return soon!

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We question why they tack on a $28.00 per person recreation fee rather than add it to the room charge. Perhaps it makes the room rates appear lower. Our only complaint was some poor parenting on the part of an adolescent hockey team letting the boys run noisily run through the halls after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSV28
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We would like to sincerely apologize for any disturbances that you experienced during your stay. We do our best to resolve any noise issues should they arise, so as to ensure our guests are able to enjoy their time here. We are also sorry for your disappointment with the daily resort fee....

Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Stayed there for just one night in the winter on a recommendation and was very pleased with the experience. No need to valet park, there is plenty of street parking. Short walk to restaurants and the water. Very nice pool and fitness room. Room was small- just enough room for a queen bed- but it was overall very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni L
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Viking. Enjoying the pool and fitness room, and walking to town and the waterfront sounds like a lovely way to spend an overnight in Newport. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed 30 December 2014

My family loves Hotel Viking. It is very centrally located in Newport and you can walk to most everything. The rooms are very small but very nice. The hotel staff is always exceptional. The hotel has a lot of amenities compared to most Newport hotels. There is a good restaurant, bar, gym, pool, valet parking, and many private rooms available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Kate G, Executive Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They work very hard to treat all guests with hospitality and professionalism. We are very happy your family enjoys the Hotel Viking and we also look forward to your next visit to Newport!

857 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (431)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Estate King Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (PRE-RENOVATION) (22)
Viewed
Newport King Room (68)
Viewed
Newport Standard Queen Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (PRE-RENOVATION) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
503 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.3 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#4 of 21 in Newport
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: RM505 - RM2,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Viking staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Rindge, New Hampshire
over a year ago
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
19 days ago
Port Jefferson, New York
Charlotte, North Carolina
9 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Viking staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We went budget friendly, and opted for a room with a queen bed. The room was very small, but had all the basics.”
 of 5 bubbles telulla311, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is on old hotel all rooms are a little different . But well decorated”
 of 5 bubbles Dude197, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Advise a 2nd floor room to avoid overhead noise.”
 of 5 bubbles frogsleap18, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard view is Christmas festive.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnecticutDivegirl, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a long walk from the lobby, so you may want to let them know if you have problems with that.”
 of 5 bubbles serkkinen, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay