We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,824: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights last summer whilst on honeymoon. Firstly it is in a great location, just outside the city but lose enough to drive to. The hotel doesn't strike you as beautiful as you drive up but the inside is very different. Beautiful lobby & veranda. We stayed in a balcony room with full sea view, it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelseeker2014
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Travelseeker2014, Thank you for your loyalty and returning to celebrate one year later. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, but disappointed that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Your comments will be shared with our senior management team for review. We look forward to the opportunity to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stumbled across this resort while out driving early one morning...the road came to an end and we were greeted by a security guard asking where we were headed. When we told him we were looking for somewhere to have breakfast he pointed us towards the carpark explaining that if we had breakfast at The Kahala the parking was free....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 210Lori48
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha 210Lori48, Wow! How serendipitous for us that you found The Kahala upon your travels. We were delighted that you had a wonderful dining experience at the Plumeria Beach House and enjoyed the interactions with the staff. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you to The Kahala as our guests for your next Hawaii vacation. Thank you for...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Full disclosure...I've been visiting this hotel since I was a child. When my father would visit Oahu on business decades ago we would always stop by the Kahala to meet his clients and friends. As a regular visitor to Hawaii I never miss the chance to stop by for drinks or a meal. This time we were lucky enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank welovetravelsf
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha welovetravelsf, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for your loyalty to The Kahala Hotel & Resort through the years. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our hotel staff and the exceptional services you experienced first hand. In the heart of Waikiki, it is the staff, the iconic...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been visiting the Kahala Resort for over thirty years and have always had a fantastic stay. The hotel being 20 minutes drive away from busy Waikiki makes for a more relaxing vacation . The hotel is set on a private beach with the more expensive rooms overlooking the sea,we always book the mountain view rooms which are more...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Keith M
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Keith M, Thank you for your gracious compliments, we strive to provide our guests the very best and are glad to hear that you've enjoyed our hospitality for over 30 years. We here at The Kahala thank you for your continued loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island resort.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 June 2014

For the closest you can get to a perfectly wonderful, restful and satisfying luxury hotel experience on O'ahu, your top choice should be The Kahala Hotel. It's every bit as high-end and gracious as the Halekulani, but without subjecting guests to the frenetic Waikiki environment. The Kahala's food venues are wonderful (usually there will be as many local residents as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Windward_Oahu_Guy
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Windward_Oahu_Guy, Mahalo for taking the time to write a very thoughtful review and for your gracious compliments. It was with complete joy to read though your comments. When I read your review out loud at our morning managers’ meeting, all the managers in the room simultaneous lead out a long “Awwww” when I read the line, “Aloha" is more...

Orange County, California
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just returned from another stay at the Kahala. Perhaps the biggest indicator of the hotel is the fact that we keep coming back. At this point, we have lost count of how many times we have been - close to 10. And I will definitely be back again. Room: We booked the Ocean Front Suite on an advance booking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarahInSoCal
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha SarahInSoCal, Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review about The Kahala Hotel & Resort and for your continued loyalty. We truly appreciate that you chose to return to The Kahala and for taking the time to provide such a detailed account of your experience with us. We continue to be inspired by the all comments from our...

Metro Detroit, MI
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience. It is fairly expensive, but you really get what you pay for. Definitely recommended as a hotel, and then the location (away from Waikiki) is also recommended. The breakfast buffet, included with the room with our package, was excellent as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tenfootmc
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha tenfootmc, We were delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort during your recent visit to Hawaii. Mahalo for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the uncrowdedness of the resort’s location and were able to experience this first...

Auckland
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was expensive for the room but everything else represented better value for money than Waikiki. The rooms were pure luxury, the lobby sensational and the restaurants were excellent. Staff made you feel welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tanya T
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Tanya T, Mahalo for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort and enjoyed the gracious hospitality of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There was huge expectation with this resort, famous in everyway. Loved the fact it seemed quieter, less chaotic and more secluded than other resorts on the Island. Service was generally good, the only time we had an issue was around ants in our bathroom. Not much was done about it, and they were all over the floor both days. Decor...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank runsarahjrun
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha runsarahjrun, Thank you for selecting The Kahala Hotel & Resort during your recent visit to Hawaii. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the selections of gluten free items available in the resort and the exceptional service provided by the staff. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was anything less than flawless. We value your feedback...

Hawthorne, California
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As the gentleman who drove us from the airport* said, "There are a hundred great hotels on the east side of Diamond Head, but only one on the west side." Anyway, we had splurged on a reserve-way-early-and-pay-in-full offer to get a Presidential Suite, but upon arrival we were upgraded to the Imperial Suite. That's a once-in-a-lifetime experience (unless you happen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DickB707
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Aloha DickB707, Wow! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Imperial Suite. It has been a true pleasure reading your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and for submitting a very thoughtful review. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. Our uncrowded beach location and close proximity...

2,500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1704)
Viewed
View from Room (155)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (319)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (231)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (201)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (667)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (620)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (49)
Viewed
Beach Front Lanai (3)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Dolphin Lanai Room (3)
Viewed
Dolphin Quest (38)
Viewed
Fitness Centre (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Koko Head Ocean Front Lanai Room (9)
Viewed
Koko Head Suite (20)
Viewed
Mountain Lanai Room (120)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Spa (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (176)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,517 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
2,352 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Arancino at The Kahala
Arancino at The Kahala
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Plumeria Beach House
Plumeria Beach House
Cuisines: Hawaiian, American, Fusion
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: RM1,857 - RM3,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kahala Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from The Kahala Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room overlookomg golf course, although all rooms would be perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles suzannew537, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“did not sleep at hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Mavros66, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to an Oceanfront Room. It's so worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles TRstravels, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“-can't go wrong with any accommodation; This hotel is right ON the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles GerryMichael, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want to be able to look at the Dolphins as much as possible get a Dolphin room that looks right into the Dolphin pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Funtravel72014, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay