We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Sands Hotel

Save
Share
431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Site
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/05/22
Traveluro
US$106
View deal
Expedia.comUS$139
Hotels.comUS$139
Trip.comUS$204
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (50)
Pool & Beach (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 13/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Experience today's Waikiki with the tropical charm of a bygone era. With newly renovated guest rooms that are sure to knock your socks off, White Sands Hotel is a vintage walk-up hotel with the personality of urban island culture. Situated just two and a half blocks from Waikiki beach and a short walk to the International Market Place, the hotel is steps to world-class shopping, dining, and nightlife. When not out on the town, guests enjoy stellar on-site amenities like an outdoor pool and sundeck for chillin’ out, and WiFi internet to stay connected. White Sands Hotel - escape the norm and let the good times roll.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Public wifi
Pool
Poolside bar
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
76Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 15
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
1987trummy wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Loves the old Hawaii vibes the hotel has decided to maintain! Loved the music and loved the pool bar. Had a great time and so reasonable for the stay. Definitely recommend for a affordable accommodation in waikiki
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jwhiterose wrote a review Nov 2021
Martinez, California1 contribution
I had just spent a week in Ko'olina at a beautiful resort but this place was quite charming in its own way ..aside from a couple of hiccups. I would definitely recommend it. I like the pool, like the lounges, they're very comfortable although they're hard to get out of there so low, but nice to have food right in the vicinity and be able to eat there by the pool get drinks if you wish. Cute swings to sit on at the bar looks like a great big tiki hut and a beautiful waterfall by this hot tub in the back, behind the bar. Quite lovely altogether with nice palm trees and tropical plants. Oh, The issues I had were nicely compensated for with a generous generous credit for food
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha jwhiterose, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us your review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we have shared your comments with our management team. Glad to know that the area that we worked on hard on bringing retro-Hawaii back pleases you. We are glad that our staff were able to improve your experience and provide you with excellent service. We will pass on your comments to them. If you have time, please contact us to share your concerns directly with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
BrandonGreetingsMan wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
My girlfriend and I came for vacation for the first time to Waikiki. The hotel was a part of a deal so it was a great price for us, but I can't speak to normal prices since I didn't check. The location was great, very close to small shops and restaurants and within 15 minutes walk to most every place in Waikiki which was convenient. It isn't right on the main roads but it's quite close. The entrance, lobby, pool/hot tub, and bar were all awesome. It created a nice ambiance and was usually quite popular especially during the evening (mostly the bar and pool lounging area). I did not have a car but the parking lot is relatively small so that may be worth noting. The staff were all amazing, especially their bartender Chelsea (who was exceptionally awesome!). The room was relatively nice overall, with a table, sink,microwave, and fridge. The bathroom was less nice because the curtain was a thin material that didn't really prevent water from splashing out and often smelled of old sitting water due to the fact that there was no fan or air flow. The walls were also very thin especially in the bathroom (could hear the next door room's shower singing very clearly), but it wasn't really much of a problem. The towels were a little small, though the beach ones weren't too bad. Overall it was a great experience and I'd recommend it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha BrandonGreetingsMan, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us your review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced. Your feedback about the parking and bathroom is greatly appreciated and we have shared your comments with our management team. We are glad that our staff were able to improve your experience and provide you with excellent service. We will pass on your comments to them, especially Chelsea. If you have time, please contact us to share your concerns directly with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
Hing H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
All the staffs are very courtesy and friendly. Notify me a parking spot was available promptly and not charging me any fee when I lost one of the room card key. Their service are even better than some of the 5 star hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Hing H, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us a great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and delighted that you enjoy your stay. We constantly strive to provide guests with a wonderful experience, so please don’t hesitate to contact us if there is anything else that we can improve on. Your comments have been shared to our team and we hope to see you again soon! Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
Jessie wrote a review Nov 2021
San Francisco, California16 contributions2 helpful votes
White Sands was just what we needed for our trip. We wanted to stay in Oahu but didn't want to spend $400+ a night since we knew we wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel. Rooms were clean. Bed was decent, but the pillows were way too dense and large for our liking, which made sleeping a little uncomfortable. A/C worked well, and we appreciated the fridge (large mini fridge) and microwave. Our only issue was that upon check-in, we were given a room without a pool view even though we had paid for & reserved the pool view. We got to the room we were given, we quickly realized we weren't given the proper room type, and had to go back down and ask for them to switch it. They were only able to offer us a room with two doubles (as opposed to a king), or a room that was adjoined to another room, and warned us that noise may be an issue. It ended up being fine, but didn't love having to ask to be moved to the upgraded room we had already paid for. The pool & restaurant area is very cute. If you're in a pool view/side room, you can definitely hear people chatting, but quiet time starts at 10pm so wasn't an issue for sleeping. The front desk lets you rent out beach chairs, an umbrella, beach towels, and a GoPro, which was awesome! We used all of it almost every day. Location is great, close to the beach and lots of restaurants. The main road to get out of the heart of Waikiki is also very close which made it super easy for when we wanted to drive out of the area and explore the rest of the island. Lastly, our only real complaint, as mentioned in several other reviews, is parking. $35/day, and there aren't many on-site. We ended up parking down the street at a lot that was $25/day, but no in/out privileges.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at White Sands Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Jessie K, Mahalo for staying at the White Sands Hotel and giving us your nice review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced. Your feedback about the pillows and the issue during check in is greatly appreciated and we have shared your comments with our management team. We'll also send up your complaints about the parking upwards to management. We are glad that our staff were able to improve your experience and provide you with excellent service. If you have time, please contact us to share your concerns directly with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Mahalo nui loa, White Sands Hotel Guest Services
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Celebrity Resorts Waikiki
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Sands Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to White Sands Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Beach Walk (0.4 km), Rock-A-Hula (0.4 km), and Statue of Duke Kahanamoku (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at White Sands Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a poolside bar, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at White Sands Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at White Sands Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at White Sands Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Sands Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maguro Spot, Island Vintage Shave Ice, and Paia Fish Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Sands Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at White Sands Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to White Sands Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (4.0 km), Iolani Palace (4.5 km), and Shangri La (4.1 km).
Does White Sands Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.