We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra

Save
Share
410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
travelup.com
US$402
View deal
Priceline
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/12/22
Official HotelUS$314
Trip.comUS$279
AlgotelsUS$417
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1186)
Room & Suite (548)
Pool & Beach (61)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#62 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level

Honolulu’s landmark hotel is beside the world’s largest open-air shopping mall, and a short stroll to the inviting waters of the Pacific. Choose from over 1000 rooms, each with free WiFi and either mountain, city or ocean views. Some larger suites also include kitchen facilities. A host of dining options exist within the hotel, including a restaurant on the 36th floor. Ala Moana Hotel also offers nearly 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, up to nine meeting rooms and WiFi and satellite conference facilities.

Refurbishment Notice:

Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra will commence a refurbishment of our ground floor lobby, pool deck and landscaping starting February 25th, 2020. The project will be completed over three phases, with the main reception lobby due to be finished by the second week of April and the Starbucks lounge following in the first week of June. Unfortunately the swimming pool will be closed from the beginning of March 2020 until the beginning of June, as we transform this space. We thank you very much for your patience and understanding during this exciting project.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Video game console
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
5003Reviews85Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,506
  • 1,958
  • 938
  • 319
  • 282
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dee T wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Poor quality of room for the price I paid! Room lacked cleanliness! One of the fridges were broken and left 1/2 way into the walking area. When opened, it was so smelly! The working fridge smelled of old food and the dishwasher smelled like stagnant water. Only 2 sets of towels in the bathroom; there were 4 of us in the reservation! No bedding in room for the pullout. The most disgusting thing was when my daughter grabbed the remote to find the bottom of it covered in was seemed to be Vaseline!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Expect a long wait for elevators. 6 on property; only running 2! The line to get the elevator...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha Dee T, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience at the Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the quality of cleaning in your unit. Please feel free to connect with me directly to better understand the experience you had. As you may already be aware not all rooms at the Ala Moana hotel are managed by the hotel operator, there are some privately managed rooms. I am very sorry to hear the experience was not as you expected. We hope you return and you can be assured a room managed by Accor booking through Mahalo, matthew.mcguigan@alamoanahotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan G wrote a review Nov 2022
Rotorua District, New Zealand2 contributions
Waited nearly an hour to check in.... You only had two people at Check in.... Very Poor Management The "Locals Only" incentive programme... isn't true it does get applied There was no discount or savings in fact I could have received a better price through Trivago. Can you Explain this??? The room wasn't even clean (2802) it had items left from your pervious guests. The Fridge cut out and leaked all over the floor during the night which made me slip and fall.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha ryanregorash, My sincerest apologies that your arrival experience was so far from expectation. I can most certainly understand your sentiments when beyond the poor arrival you encountered a room that was clearly needing further work. I welcome the opportunity to discuss the locals only rate code and other room deficiencies. Please feel free to connect with me at matthew.mcguigan@alamoanahotel.com. Mahalo nui,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coastal691645 wrote a review Nov 2022
Sydney, Australia11 contributions3 helpful votes
Check in took an hour and a half, because there was an enormous queue, it took about 10 minutes to process each guest, and the room wasn't ready anyway. Have to wait 15 minutes for elevators, because of enormous queues. This was off-season. I can't imagine how bad it would be in peak season.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Coastal691645, Mahalo for your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies for the lengthy arrival experience. What you encountered is not what we have working for in creating a warm and welcoming arrival experience. We have a full understanding of the complications the group ahead of you were encountering and I sincerely regret that this was your first impression. I appreciate the time you took to provide a review and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Honolulu.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniele B wrote a review Nov 2022
Chiavari, Italy80 contributions37 helpful votes
Very strategic position close to the Ala Moana shopping center and Waikiki beach is really close. Very nice appearance and very clean as well. I wan on the 13th deck and the carpet looked a bit old but it was very clean as the rest of the structure. Front desk very helpful and sort me out in few minutes . So far a very pleasant experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha 195danieleb, Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially our terrific staff, the very comfortable rooms and an exploration of Honolulu. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to enjoy the other improvements we have on the horizon. Mahalo nui,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeongofMaui wrote a review Nov 2022
New Braunfels, Texas74 contributions43 helpful votes
I live on Maui. We usually stay at the Ala Moana Hotel when we go to O'ahu because we get the convenience of a central location in Honolulu without the crowds and traffic of Waikiki. However, lately the prices have been going up and the service down. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Kona Tower worse than Waikiki Tower.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha LeongofMaui, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and as well thank you for your continued loyalty. Your feedback is graciously accepted. We are always looking to improve our service delivery to exceed the expectations of our price points and appreciate hearing this. Your feedback is great motivation for us to continue to delivery truly memorable experiences. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cat2501 wrote a review Nov 2022
Seattle, Washington4 contributions6 helpful votes
we came to honolulu for a family reunion. the hotel is in a great location for my elderly parents. the ramp and proximity to the mall is key for them to be able to have some indepedence. my college age daughter enjoyed the pool and the proximity to waikiki and the fun night life. the staff is friendly and attentive. as always, we had a terrific stay at the Ala Moana Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Cat2501, Thank you for choosing the Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra and providing this valuable feedback on your experience. We look forward to another opportunity to exceed your expectations and welcome you back. Mahalo nui,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jer wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Extremely disappointed. I booked a room with 1 king bed and when I arrived to check in there were no king bed rooms available. They reception put me in what was an "upgrade" whihc was a 2 queen bed room. When I opened the door there was someone else's clothes and personal items strewn about. I returned to the front desk to let them know that the room was not clean. Again they re-assigned my room but the only one available in the whole hotel was a only available for one night and I would need to change it the next day ( my stay was for 3 days) This room was even smaller only 1 queen bed. The next day first thing around 7 am I returned to the front desk to check into the king room which I had reserved and they were charging me for. This new front desk person said that the king rooms were fully booked until after my stay and none were available even though I had a reservation for one. The "best" that they could do was put me in another room with 2 queen bed - however this one had the lanai door screwed shut. 3 hotel rooms in 12 hours, each one worse than the last. I would not recommend this hotel as they do not stand behind their own bookings - deeply disappointed and this is kapu for their business.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha jer4300, Thank you for the time and effort you took to provide this review of your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra experience. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered on your arrival. What you describe in the lack of availability in your room selection is concerning. I welcome the opportunity to hear more about your experience and how we could have better prepared for your arrival. Please feel free to connect with me at matthew.mcguigan@alamoanahotel.com. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiziana B wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Bad check in and changed room that was originally booked. Staff not helpful. Didn't know anything about shuttles, tours, and couldn't answer any questions we asked. Staff were working as if they hated their jobs staff temperaments.... ....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Tiziana B, Thanks for the feedback on your most experience here at the Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra. I sincerely apologize for the lack of assistance and service from our Front Desk team. We will indeed address this with our team members as what you describe is far below our standards. The voice of the guest goes so far to remind our teams how they can both positively and negatively impact an experience. I appreciate the time you took to provide a review and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Honolulu. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L W wrote a review Nov 2022
132 contributions55 helpful votes
This is my “go to” hotel when in Honolulu. It is great in terms of location, attached to Ala Moana mall and within walking distance to Waikiki. It also has conveniences such as in hotel restaurants, sundry store, self serve laundry, spa, gym, pool
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha L W, Thank you kindly for the time and effort provide this feedback on your recent stay at the Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra. We appreciate your comments on our outstanding location. We couldn't ask to be in a more central location to enjoy both business and leisure in Honolulu. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob W wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Overpriced and undercleaned! The bathroom floor is not cleaner than many public toilets that I have seen! Go to a Kelley hotel where the bathroom floor will be cleaner and the cost of the room will be much less! My dog’s sleeping area is a lot cleaner than the bathroom floor! GRUNGY!!!!! The t/paper in public restrooms are higher quality! Bath soap is almost as thick as a postage stamp! (I’m exaggerating, but I’ve never seen a soap that thin before in my life!) Kelley hotels are usually less expensive too!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew McGuigan, Other at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha bobwE7754MW, Sincerely apologize that you found the condition and cleanliness of your accommodations in such a poor state. I would love to discuss your experience in more detail as it comes so far below the standards we have set. Please feel free to email me direct at matthew.mcguigan@alamoanahotel.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$209 - US$300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ala moana hotel, hotel ala moana, ala moana honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonolulu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALA MOANA HONOLULU BY MANTRA: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,289 Photos (HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra
Which popular attractions are close to Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Nearby attractions include Ala Moana Center (0.4 km), Don Quijote (0.3 km), and Fabric Mart (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tanaka of Tokyo West, California Pizza Kitchen, and The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (3.5 km), Iolani Palace (2.7 km), and Shangri La (5.9 km).
Does Ala Moana Honolulu by Mantra have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.