We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,734 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,527: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Our family of four (2 adults, 2 children), stayed here for two weeks during March/April 2015. We stayed in a 1 bedroom/kitchenette room. We found the room to have adequate space and facilities for our stay. The room was perhaps a bit dated and well used but it was clean which is more important to me. We stayed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MistyMaze
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for the kind review. Apologies for any shortfalls in our service delivery at reception. The towels, well that is likely entirely my fault. I looked to redirect guests counterclockwise through the lobby during peak times to alleviate confusion but neglected the simple provision of towel exchange – I’m onto it now. Glad the location suited your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We have just returned from a 2week stay at the Ohana East (3rd stay for me & 2nd for my travelling companion). We stayed on 15th floor in a City View room (loved having access to the express lift (available for rooms on 15th floor and up) - we had a slight ocean view when standing on or near the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacqui221
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Would we stay again - yes! G’day and Aloha. Thank you Jacqui, what a wonderful post on this public forum. I have forwarded your comments directly to staff identified with a very public thank you across all hosts for their distinctive hospitality. I’m also thrilled to advise that at our Host of the Quarter Celebration today Joshua was announced as...

Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Good location to all amenities, room was a little small as we were in a corner suite and the balcony was to small to enjoy. wifi never did work in our room ( Rm 405 ) was a common complaint through out with the guests. Room was cleaned daily over all good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenoCalgary
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you and pleased you enjoyed your time with us here in Waikiki. It has been wonderfully busy here and unsure if our other room categories were available to offer an upgrade; I hope the limited space was not a major inconvenience to your stay with us. If you were not aware (through us or your booking channel)...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Location was great, rooms basic but clean. We had city view and ocean glimpses but balcony was too small to sit outside. Friends had pool view room and balcony was double ours. Reception staff not friendly at all. We waited an hour for our turn to get help at tour desk. The girl sitting there told us we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sue b
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sue, Thank you for comments on this forum. Your statement “If you're usually out all day and just need somewhere clean and comfy to sleep like us, then this place is great, but if you want a fancy resort and great service go elsewhere” may well be blunt and to the point but it is appreciated and does indeed...

Renee40
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel located in a great location as previous reviewers has stated. Nick at check in desk was helpful. The beds were comfortable and the water was hot in the shower. Keonie not sure if spelling but have very inexpensive breakfast next to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renee40
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Renee Thank you. Proudly a three star budget property but unsure if your three point rating on this forum is what you meant? This suggests an average stay where your comments suggest a positive experience. I would welcome your contact directly if we have fallen short of your expectations. We use this forum to challenge ourselves with service...

Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2015

The location is perfect close to the beach, shops and restaurants for a fraction of the price of the hotels on the beach. Price is great and service was great. We got an upgrade of $10 per night for beach views - well worth money waking up to that every morning. Loved it so much we are staying here again...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank michellejw89
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Michelle Thank you and a huge shout out to all the folks on the Gold Coast. Thrilled you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back later in the year. Glad the ozzie dollar not deterring your travel plans – Waikiki remains a great shopping and dining holiday experience (and Waikiki beach...

Great Plains
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We stayed here on a recent trip to Hawaii and found it to be an excellent location without all the noise and traffic of the beach front hotels. You could easily walk to everything on the 'strip', and the price is much more reasonable. Althought the hotel is a bit 'worn' in spots, it is still a good 3 star...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank dreamtraveler4
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. Proudly we offer an accommodation product at the mid-level tier in Waikiki complemented by staff who provide service levels that give the five star Beachfront’s a little healthy competition. We are thrilled to receive such positive feedback. Your recommendation to other travelers on this forum is greatly appreciated. Mahalo Niel Mason

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Excellent hotel friendly staff great rooms and clean. Very friendly and very nice would stay there again. lots of eating places in the area as well as the hotel itself towel supplied for the beach and the beach is only 2 blocks away.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jbluxton
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations! We are thrilled to have been part of your 48th wedding anniversary (and can’t wait to celebrate your 50th here in Hawaii) Thank you so much for the five point rating, this is so much appreciated. I am so proud of the service provided, genuinely provided, by the staff here at Ohana Waikiki East. As host, they truly add...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2015

The Ohana East is a recently renovated mid price range three star hotel located two blocks from the beach in Waikiki, shopping and other tourist attractions. We went there with YMT Vacations and this hotel met all our expectations, clean, well situated with friendly and helpful staff. Amenities include a 2nd floor pool, travel desk, 3 restaurants with discounted breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank craigsearle
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

YMT Vacations are an outstanding operator, I’m sure you were in good hands throughout. Thank you for penning this wonderful review; you highlight our point of difference against the many wonderful accommodation options here in Waikiki – none more so than our amazing location in the heart of Waikiki, clean rooms and wonderful friendly staff. So pleased your time here...

Melbourne
Reviewed 30 March 2015

This was a great hotel for the price. It was a clean hotel, all staff friendly and helpful. We booked a City View room for around $8 a night extra - well worth it. We could see the ocean from our room in between the two towers from another hotel. The balconies were fairly small, but we only used them...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank whereismeg
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for this amazing five point review. What a treat. For others reviewing this forum, OHANA Waikiki East is located in central Waikiki at Kuhio and Kaiulani Avenues, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach and one block from Kalakaua Avenue’s shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well...

779 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (574)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
View from Room (107)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (197)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,431 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: RM660 - RM1,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from OHANA Waikiki East Hotel staff and other travellers.
64 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (64)

Questions? Get answers from OHANA Waikiki East Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed twice in the same room, our choice. Room 1814 it has a great size balcony and spectacular views. Rooms are quiet”
  • Night view of Waikiki from balcony
  • Beach view from our balcony.
  • Night view of mountains from balcony
  • Night view of the beach from balcony
  • Diamond Head visible from balcony.
Chris_0f_Sydney, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms will have less street noise, x10 rooms are in the corner”
DrewC28, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The 1 bedroom apartment is the best.”
536valb, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a higher floor with a quiet room”
TeresaP384, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor room away from elevators on diamond head side”
speedy14, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5