We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Westin.comUS$295*
View Deal
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,736: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel has it all - service, location, views and appearance. Upon arrival you are greeted with a flower lei and friendly staff. The hotel itself is breath taking and right on the beach! The rooms are large, immaculate and offer the best views. The banyon tree in the back is gorgeous and offers a great bar. The pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Kristen, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Moana. We hope that your signature experiences, such as lounging under the shade of the iconic Banyan Tree and sipping on an elegant cocktail at bin1901, created wonderful Moana Memories of your holiday in Hawaii. On your next visit, we...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My favorite place to stay in all of Waikiki. The location is excellent right on the beach. Their service is fantastic. I love the quaintness and the romantic feel of the rooms in the Banyan tower. The afternoon tea service under the veranda is a great and relaxing way to spend time and reconnect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drn4
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the Moana’s unique location and historical ambiance. We take great pride in maintaining the original structure and features of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” so it is great to hear that you were pleased with your guestroom in the historic Banyan Wing....

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Well what a fantastic place and fabulous service too! This is the place to stay it is right on Waikiki beach and right in among all the shops. The quality of the rooms is second to none with all the facilities you need and more. Everyone could not be more helpful and there is a fantastic serice after you check...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank glassyartist
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your kind review. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations during your recent stay with us. The Moana’s unique location – right on Waikiki Beach and amidst world-class shopping and dining venues – is one of the features our guests love most about the “First Lady of Waikiki.” It is also nice to hear that you...

Seattle
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. One of the oldest in Honolulu. Right on the beach. We got an ocean view room (not in the tower but main building) cute couple of rocking chairs to enjoy the view. Room is clean and comfortable but the bathroom is awfully small. No counter at all so you can not put anything down. Makeup mirror over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l3tsg01
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience. The two white rocking chairs in our Diamond Wing guestrooms are a feature of days gone by – we are so glad that you enjoyed the view of Waikiki Beach while gently rocking to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. It is also great to hear that you were pleased with the...

Bronte, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A stunning hotel (though at times somewhat over run with Japanese weddings which blocked access to the Diamond Wing Terrace) We recently stayed 3 nights in a Diamond Wing Front room which I would highly recommend. At check-in we were given an upgrade to what we were told was an Ocean view room in the Tower Wing - the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brooke1000
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Brooke, Mahalo for your review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the accommodations and ocean views from your guestroom in the Diamond Wing. We are delighted that you enjoyed the unique feature of this room, the two white rocking chairs that look out to the shores of Waikiki Beach – gently rocking to the soothing...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at the beachfront hotel. The quality of the rooms and the grounds are stunning. We had a terrible experience at the Sheraton across the street and were pleased as this Westin was what we expected. I was disappointed as there was never room at the pool. It seemed that no one was in the pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deborah N
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Deborah, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations and enjoyed the historical ambiance of the “First Lady of Waikiki.” However, it is unfortunate that you and your family were not able to enjoy the Moana Pool during your stay with us. In addition to the...

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just left the MSR and loved the room we stayed in. (Ocean front suite) Paid over $1K Aus per night, staying 5 nights. Expensive vacation stay. Were roped into the whole "suite with club room access" sell they had on there hotel internet site. We loved the room, hated the club lounge. We have travelled the world, staying...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 1travel24
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you were pleased with your room accommodations, but it is unfortunate to hear that that you did not find the offerings of the Beach Club lounge to be of value to you. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our management team so that we can...

Northern Territtory
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for five nights. Beautiful hotel..........nice rooms, too many weddings. We stayed in an ocean front room in the Diamond Wing, they were lovely. But compared to other Westin hotels there were no amenities in the rooms other than shampoo, conditioner and body wash. In all other hotels there are cotton buds, shower caps etc....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 09carly09
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Carly, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your oceanfront guestroom in the Diamond Wing, but are disappointed to hear that the amenities provided in the guestroom did not exceed your expectations. Guests may request additional amenities through the housekeeping department, which can be reached through the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Moana Surfrider is without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Literally the queen of Waikiki, this beautifully designed an immaculately clean hotel exceed my expectations. You couldn't pick a better location, the staff are super friendly and the amenities are abundant. The bar under the beautiful tree is just paradise and you are a stones throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgiess
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Georgiess, Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations on your last visit to the Moana and are eager to welcome you back in May. On your upcoming stay, we highly recommend a visit to the Moana Lani Spa for a restorative spa treatment. A transforming experience awaits you at this place where massage...

Cut and Shoot, Texas
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Moana numerous times through the years. Sadly each time we arrive we discover they have discontinued many of the amenities and now have become more aware of the bottom line. I was shocked a few years ago when they started charging 35.00 to sit on the beach. I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mrblahblah1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your comments. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. Our beach and pool attendants do their best to accommodate guests throughout the day and may collect belongings unattended for more than one hour to allow additional guests to enjoy the popular chairs around Moana Pool. Personal...

4,005 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3443)
Viewed
Dining (124)
Viewed
View from Room (315)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (788)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (295)
Viewed
Room/Suite (453)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1364)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
3,834 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: RM1,449 - RM2,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
90 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (90)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms overlooking the dumpster pick up area -- early morning noise.”
203jaynes, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Beach club access. SPG shuttle from HNL is convenient and exclusive to the 4 SPG properties on Waikiki.”
yucanuck, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“upgrade for an ocean view”
judithl117, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“We preferred the historical wing”
Iccash, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Views of the Honolulu shoreline are the best.”
chrisbaer2017, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Westin.com
US$295* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$309
TravelocityUS$295
Booking.comUS$295
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates