We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Westin.comUS$295*
View Deal
#23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,736: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I'd been to Waikiki 3 times before, and every time, I would dream of staying at this hotel. So when I was planning my 4th trip here, for my birthday, I knew I wanted to stay here. And I am so glad that I did. We got a double room on the 2nd floor of the the main [original] building...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VictorATX
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review and for choosing to celebrate your birthday with the "First Lady of Waikiki". We are happy to hear you had the opportunity to experience our dining venues. With each venue offering a different menu and experience, guests can decide to dine at our iconic beachhouse restaurant or enjoy a few cocktails at the Beach...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a wonderful place! We checked in at 7AM (after long flights from the mainland) and they had our room ready. Our room was in the main building, the room was small but very nice, clean and well kept. Since we checked in so early we had breakfast on the terrace. Well worth the price, the food was outstanding....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmunger
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear your room was ready for you after your long flight. The veranda is a guest favorite when it comes to enjoying breakfast. Not only do they offer a variety in menu selections from eggs benedict to made-to-order pancakes/french toasts, guest can also...

carson city nev
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have stayed at the Moana Surfrider many many times and have stayed both in the historical rooms and the new tower but not the Diamond Wing which I have had never wanted to stay in them or even looked at them. I love the historical rooms, although most are kind of small due to when they were built back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank princessxxx
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are excited to announce that the Diamond Wing guestrooms have just been fully renovated. The new guestroom design features the heavenly shower, in-door lanai with rocking chairs and ocean-inspired designs. Although the Banyan Wing was built in 1901, the Diamond Wing also has a bit of history to it. The Diamond Wing, originally...

NY
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It's a pretty location but full of tourists and others, many of which aren't paying guests. Too bad the hallways smell so bad - very funky, like a frat house. It's the kind of place that visiting college football and basketball teams stay at, and the quarterback gets sent home for allegedly relieving himself over the balcony. Can you believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Linda, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the challenges you had faced with your stay. We value our guests and appreciate the honest feedback so we can improve our services. We have forwarded your review to our management team who are currently investigating the concerns mentioned. We hope you will reconsider staying at the Moana...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2013

great location great staff very helpful, i would stay here again. booked at last minute, for one night , then realised with the holiday period best place to stay price wise and location - so went down to see if i could stay longer - the staff were great and accommodated concierge are very helpful, as is the pool staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PJS777
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. So happy to hear you had extended your stay with us. Our location is ideal for many of our guests who enjoy shopping and swimming at Waikiki beach. We hope you had a chance to enjoy all that the Moana Surfrider has to offer during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place has a beautiful lobby but don't be fooled because that's about it. It's crowded and full of weddings so you feel like common spaces are smaller than they are, rooms are not well insulated for noise from everywhere, some staff unfriendly/rude, rooms no cleaned well, valet slow, un impressive.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James60898
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha James, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations. The concerns you have mentioned are not representative of our standards and for that we sincerely apologize.Your feedback is very important and will be shared with those departments mentioned so that we can continue to improve...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here May 2012 for my birthday. We had an amazing experience at this hotel - it is just beautiful and in a prime location. We would definitely return. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. It is quite low key in Waikiki and I think Dukes bar (which was next to the Westin) was about the only lively place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahannspain
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your kind review. We feel so honored to have been a part of your birthday. We hope the moana memories created during your stay with us will last you a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you back to the "First Lady of Waikiki" soon. Mahalo!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

15 of us travelled to Hawaii for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary. The Moana Surfrider is one of the most welcoming,friendly hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. It's a really large hotel but you would never know it as everything is so well mapped out and easy to get to. We stayed on the 14th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank funkyfamilyof5
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We'd first like to thank you and your family for choosing to celebrate your in-laws 50th wedding anniversary at the Moana Surfrider. The central location allows guests to enjoy shopping outlets, restaurants and popular attractions all within a short walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana soon....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the Moana Surfrider, Westin in Waikiki Hawaii and it was great once again. We stayed in the Diamond Wing facing the water and the views and access are excellent. With 2 interconnecting it was a great way to stay and relax. The rooms were a good size and recently renovated, although there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichaelG959
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Michael, Thank you for choosing to stay with the "First Lady of Waikiki". We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed our newly renovated Diamond Deluxe Ocean guestrooms which offer both sweeping views of Waikiki and modernized amenities. An additional feature of these rooms also include two rocking chairs to enjoy the pristine ocean views. Also, we are happy...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The first time, we were upgraded to ocean view room that was spacious and I could hear the sound of waves. This time, we booked last minute, so the room was small, with absolutely no view. But, the furniture in the room looked clean and impeccably arranged. The bathroom was tidy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkim3
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to dine at our beachhouse restaurant and the Beach Bar. Being able to enjoy island-inspired cuisine under the canopy of the Banyan Tree while overlooking Waikiki Beach is an experience many of our guests have come to love. We look forward to welcoming you back...

4,005 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3443)
Viewed
Dining (124)
Viewed
View from Room (315)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (788)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (295)
Viewed
Room/Suite (453)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (93)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1364)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
3,837 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: RM1,449 - RM2,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
90 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (90)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms overlooking the dumpster pick up area -- early morning noise.”
203jaynes, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Beach club access. SPG shuttle from HNL is convenient and exclusive to the 4 SPG properties on Waikiki.”
yucanuck, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“upgrade for an ocean view”
judithl117, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“We preferred the historical wing”
Iccash, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Views of the Honolulu shoreline are the best.”
chrisbaer2017, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Westin.com
US$295* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$295
CancelonUS$338
Expedia.comUS$295
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates