We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,705 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,512: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 20 June 2013

You have to EXPERIENCE the smells, the sights, the architecture, the helpful staff, the refurbished flooring, the lanai, Moana Lani Spa (ask for Kauhi for a Lomi Lomi massage), the banyan tree, The Veranda, The Beach Bar, the beach, the best Mai Tai in the world, the rocking chairs out front, the beautiful beach front rooms, and that's just Day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysEatDessert
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed nearly everything “The First Lady of Waikiki” has to offer, including Mai Tais underneath the Moana’s iconic banyan tree and a Lomi Lomi massage at Waikiki’s only beachfront spa, the Moana Lani Spa. We try to create a relaxing haven in...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for 3 nights and it was amazing. It is a beautiful historic hotel in the best location on Waikiki. There are some small maintenance issues if you choose to look for them, but the overall ambiance, service and location win it over. Pay the extra $15 for the valet parking - it is an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LovetoTravel154933
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are pleased to hear you had an amazing 3 night stay with us here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over 112 years ago. As you mentioned, we offer daily rentals of...

Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 16 June 2013

As soon as you walk into the Moana Surfrider, you feel like you've been transported back 100 years to a different place and time. Hotel has TONS of character, from the columns to the wood floors to the open courtyard. If you're looking for a modern, just built last year, look and feel, this is not the place for you....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSux
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the historical qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you mentioned we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and subsequently rich in Hawaiian history. We offer a complimentary historical tour every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am,...

Middletown
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Moana Surfrider is by far in the best location. Walk out the back door and you are on the beautiful Waikiki beach. Walk out the front door and cross the street to the Market Place for plenty of shopping. Walk in either direction down the street for an abundance of food or shopping. We arrived early and our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdNJ
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are simply breathtaking and not to be missed. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki,...

Prosper, Texas
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As a million miler business traveller, I've come to develop high expectations; hence the reason I'm SPG Platinum. This is my first trip to Oahu and while for business, I brought my wife along as well. The check in staff was very courteous. I had booked a Banyan City View room and was told he was upgrading me to the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank McKinney_Couple
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being a loyal member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. While many of our guests prefer our intimately sized Banyan Wing guestrooms for they are charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear,...

Northern California
Reviewed 11 June 2013

As experienced travelers, we were disappointed with the amenities in the room. We upgraded our room just for the larger bathroom, but it was tiny. The counter space was minimal for even two people. The room with a king-sized bed was large, but there was only one chair in the room, and no table with chairs to dine in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank letmebeme
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. As you mentioned, one of the elevators in our Tower Wing is under renovation and will be ready for use by the end of June. Our WIFI is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our experience of this hotel did not start well, our check in day was the day of an annual event on the main street of Waikiki and all roads surrounding the hotel were closed. We had driven down from the North Shore and had no idea this was happening, after countless diversions we had to ring the hotel and ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yallingupkk
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you encountered traffic on your way to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, as a result of an event being held on Kalakaua Avenue. We apologize for not informing you of the event in advance. We are pleased to know you...

Sydney
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We travelled with 3 other couples to celebrate a special occasion. Every single one of us had great diffuclty and frustration at check-in; from the room not being ready (even by guaranteed 3pm), to be moved from original checked in room, to the front desk having no information of us travelling together (despite email evidence to the hotel which they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madkat16
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulties while checking in and for that we sincerely apologize. However, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your partial ocean view guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach from our Tower Wing are breathtaking and not to be missed! We are...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! You will spot allot of weddings come through for photos it's that beautiful. The beach is very nice and the water has such a nice blue color. The night life is great on this street and tons of great resturants close. We had two rooms, one in the old section which was really nice and then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krtnz
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” and we are happy to know you were able to experience guestrooms in both the historical Banyan Wing and our newly renovated Tower Wing. Many of our guests prefer our intimately sized...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Location The location of this hotel is beachfront and very central. Everything you need is a stone's throw away but this has a disadvantage. The lobby and beach areas are always crowded and full of people. If you want some quiet time, this is not the hotel for you. Bus stop is also a little far from the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redrose1001
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. As you mentioned, we are centrally located on the beach in Waikiki, providing our guests with easy access to all that Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. We aim to provide a relaxing haven in the heart of Waikiki remind our guests of a simpler time with services like...

3,792 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (728)
Viewed
Room/Suite (439)
Viewed
View from Room (297)
Viewed
Dining (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (267)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1279)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
3,585 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
3,991 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: RM1,535 - RM2,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
77 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (77)

Questions? Get answers from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tower rooms all have balconies”
 of 5 bubbles SJL369, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great views of the ocean on the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles Bellies, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If available I would get a ocean view with views of diamond head, that way you would see all the way up the coast”
 of 5 bubbles Y8109RLvanessaa, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for high tower room”
 of 5 bubbles CEDSydney, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the ocean are beautiful and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles X3998CYjuliec, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay